NBA Live 2005

Nah nah nah nah..people, go buy 2K5, TOP STUFF! I play 12min QTRs. I am the Mavericks and this is my team

C S.Bradley
PF D.Nowitzki
SF R.Jefferson
SG A.Houston
PG J.Terry

M.Sante (Made player) Rated 89 :D
L.Jamison (Made player) Rated 85 or something :p
C.Booth
Podolzkin
D.Dickau
S.Marbury (injured)
T.Abdul Wahad
M.Finley
A.Henderson
Eschmeyer

Think that's it...Hmm

Was challened by the cpu for the first time in a while. Was in a new Lakers dyansty, finished 20-9 and had quite a struggle against the Nuggets in the first round. Almost made a miracle comeback when I simmed 3 quarters and was down 58-79 at 3/4 in game 6, brought it to 88-91 but denver hit a few three pointers on the way to a 104-93 win. In game 7 was down 35-59 at 1/2, made a run but the cpu answered the challenge and had a 87-73 lead after 3/4. Somehow I hit all these shots in the 4th quarter and outscored the cpu 54-27 for a 127-114 win to close out the series.

Easily accounted for the kings in games 1 and 2 (118-88 after I led 74-55 at half)(119-89 in game 2) lost game 3 by about 14, won game 4 easily 115-87 and won game 5 86-79.

Currently trailing the wolves 2-0 in the western final. Keeps the hunger there ;)

I've found another reason to love this game.

In my Memphis Grizzlies franchise (third season, on "Superstar" difficulty level), I was approximately 16-0 and cruising.

However Gasol went down with a hand injury meaning we had to come up against Phoenix (in Memphis) without our superstar centre.

Appropriately, our team rating dropped from 98 down to 90 without Gasol, whilst Phoenix are rated about 95 from memory.

So, the best part about it - was that we were blown out of the water by about 30 points. I couldn't be happier! All of a sudden, I have a real challenge on my hands. :)

In my defense, I probably didn't play my best game - I just didn't know how to play without everything going through Gasol in the centre. Okafor provided a solid game (approaching triple-double figures) but we lacked support in almost every other position.

I just thought it was great that the game realised how important a player like Gasol is to my line-up and team structure. :) Can't wait for the return match-up in Phoenix with a healthy Gasol...

I just finished one of the best games I have experienced. It was the decide for the frist round of playoffs, I was Toronto up against Washington at the end of the game the scores were 99 a piece, into OT it finished up 115 each then in second OT i ran away with the game to win 126-133, Ray Allen (who i traded for) was a star with 55 points ans 12 rebounds. :)

Well I'm in my 3rd season in my dynasty with sacramento.

In the first season we bombed out in the western conference semifinals 3-4 to seattle.
In the second season we lost in the western confernce finals to memphis (who went on to win it ) 3-4 again.
Just started the third season. First game of the season won a 2OT thriller agains Toronto 94-97. It was a ripper game Bibby hit a huge three to send it into first over time. Then hit two huge threes to send it into double overtime.

My lineup is as follows;

C- Darko Milicic
PF- Kevin Garnett
SF- Peja Stojakovic
Sg- Rip Hamilton
Pg- Mike Bibby
6: Antonio McDysee
7: Brian Skinner
8: Darius Songailia
And a couple good rookies i picked up late in the round

First season: Peja Stojakovic MVP
Second Season: Kevin Garnett MVP.

However I have a MVP curse in both my playoffs the MVP Peja and then in the following year Garnett. Have gone down with big injuries

how long are you are your seasons going for and how many of your home and away games to you simulate??

Knowledge said:
Well I'm in my 3rd season in my dynasty with sacramento.
Are you on the hardest difficutly level?

Played my second game without the injured Gasol last night, and it was another loss. This time, against a team ranked in the mid 80's. We just can't get it done without him at the moment, which is a problem.

About to begin the NBA Finals in the third season of my dynasty with the Memphis Grizzlies.

I won the Championship in each of my first two seasons on the easiest skill setting (Starter) in my first season, then the middle skill level in the second season - now I'm on 'Superstar' level, and finished the regular season with a win/loss of 45-13. I'm yet to lose a game in the playoffs, facing Detroit in the big one - a team I've had difficulty with this season on a couple of occassions.

Anyway else managed to go through your first three seasons winning the title each season, including at least one on the highest difficulty level? :confused:

I might seriously consider changing franchises if I'm offered a head coaching job elsewhere after this season (was offered the Bulls last season). Depends who I'm offered, I suppose.

sad thing is I used to own NBA Live 95.

I've been a nerd for a decade at least now.

Update: I took game 1 in a blowout by almost 40 points. :eek:

Game 2 will be a different story I'm sure, back in Detroit.

F**k I used to love live 95 to live 02.
No one could beat me at it, I went 6 years without losing a game to the computer or friend even when handicapped. I once gave a friend a 40 pt head start before I was allowed to play, deep into the 1st, I came out and wiped the floor with him beating him by 25pts.
I haven't played the last 3 but I'll be buying 06 when it comes out.

luke2177 said:
Game 2 will be a different story I'm sure, back in Detroit.
Well I was wrong, I won game two pretty easily in the end - becoming three-time NBA Champions!

I have since let James Posey go and test the free agency market. I signed up Lebron James on a big deal, but subsequently traded him to the Kings for Peja, as we had a huge hole at the SF position.

Our starting line-up will now look like this:

J.Williams (low 70's), J.Childress (low 70's), Peja (low 80's), Okafor (mid 70's), Gasol (93).

We haven't got a lot coming off the bench but I reckon our starting line-up will hold us in pretty good stead for a possible 4th consecutive title. :)

I hope the draft feature in NBA Live 2006 is a lot better. It needs a whole new interface, and needs to be more in-depth.

Ive owned every copy of NBA Live from 95-2003

Gave 2004 a miss

Now im itching to buy 2005 after I saw a demo...dunk comp? classic! Also wouldn't mind giving Dwayne Wade a test drive for the first time...

Any idea where I can pick up a copy cheap?

Lockyer24 said:
Ive owned every copy of NBA Live from 95-2003

Gave 2004 a miss

Now im itching to buy 2005 after I saw a demo...dunk comp? classic! Also wouldn't mind giving Dwayne Wade a test drive for the first time...

Any idea where I can pick up a copy cheap?

Just wait for NBA Live 2006. It's going to be the best Basketball game ever and heres why...

At Electronic Arts' summer press event, we got an opportunity to play an early version of NBA Live 06 on the Xbox and PlayStation 2. The major new feature being added to the game is freestyle superstar, which is a special set of controls that are available exclusively to the top NBA players in the game. The idea is to make the unique athletic abilities of these players stand out more from regular players, in both a visual and a functional sense. So instead of having power players like Shaquille O’Neal and Amare Stoudamire having their open dunks thwarted by puny guards that are standing in the way, the freestyle superstar controls will let these stars physically dominate and throw down, just like in real life. Instead of crafty playmakers like Jason Kidd and Steve Nash throwing the same basic chest and overhead passes all the time, like your average point guard, Kidd and Nash will be able to execute special moves, like wraparound passes and no-look passes, when you use the freestyle superstar controls.

There are eight different classes of freestyle superstars in the game, six on offense and two on defense. They are: playmakers, power players, high fliers, shooters, and inside or outside scorers. Defensively, the game classifies inside and outside stoppers. Two-way players, like Kobe Bryant, will have both offensive and defensive superstar capabilities. But each player can only have one type of superstar controls on each side of the ball. Using Bryant again as an example, he's classified as an outside scorer on offense, though many would say he also has the characteristics of a high flyer. If you prefer to classify Bryant as a high flyer, you can do that in the settings, since his stats reflect that ability. However, you can't take a superstar (but one-dimensional) shooter like Kyle Korver and turn him into a playmaker, because he doesn’t have the offensive awareness or the handles for that role.

So how will the freestyle superstar controls work? First of all, you'll need to spot your superstars. Different icons appear under each star while he's on the court, depending on what type of superstar he is. Scorers have a ball underneath them, while shooters have a crosshair as their insignia. And defensive stoppers have an open palm as their icon. While controlling a superstar, you simply hold down the L trigger (L1 on the PS2) and the face buttons become remapped. Pressing L and a face button will execute one of your special moves. For a power player, you can uncork powerful spin moves leading into strong two-handed dunks that will almost always work if you have position on a physically overmatched defender. Moves for outside scorers include double-clutch moves, floating shots in traffic, and up-and-under scoops when going baseline underneath the basket. Shooters can execute set shots, which are very accurate, or they can fake a pass and then put up a shot. Playmaker moves include different types of passes, like bounce passes through traffic or no-look dishes. High fliers will get way high in the air and can dunk on defenders that don't get up to challenge the drive. Defensive superstar moves include quick steals, powerful shot blocks, and the ability to wrap around behind a driving ball handler to poke the ball away. In all, there are up to eight different freestyle superstar moves, as you can tap or hold down each of the four face buttons for a different move.

On paper, it can sound like these superstar moves are extremely overpowering, and you can just use them at any time to dominate the game. In practice, this isn't the case. While playing at rookie difficulty will let you do your special moves at will, we tested by playing against the Detroit Pistons at all-star difficulty. We found that the superstar moves aren't just a free path to the basket. Perfoming no-look passes or wraparound passes while being closely defended often resulted in turnovers. We tried using power moves in the paint while guarded closely by Ben Wallace, and we found ourselves getting rejected or losing the ball. The developer is keenly aware of the possible balance issues introduced by having freestyle superstar controls, and it's taking steps to ensure the game remains balanced. From what we played, things are off to a pretty good start in that area. The idea is that the freestyle superstar moves are meant to accentuate your advantage when you find yourself in space or have gotten a step on the defender. They're not meant to be completely overpowering.

Now, if that's not the coolest thing ever, i don't know what is!

MadRyan said:
Just wait for NBA Live 2006. It's going to be the best Basketball game ever and heres why...

At Electronic Arts' summer press event, we got an opportunity to play an early version of NBA Live 06 on the Xbox and PlayStation 2. The major new feature being added to the game is freestyle superstar, which is a special set of controls that are available exclusively to the top NBA players in the game. The idea is to make the unique athletic abilities of these players stand out more from regular players, in both a visual and a functional sense. So instead of having power players like Shaquille O’Neal and Amare Stoudamire having their open dunks thwarted by puny guards that are standing in the way, the freestyle superstar controls will let these stars physically dominate and throw down, just like in real life. Instead of crafty playmakers like Jason Kidd and Steve Nash throwing the same basic chest and overhead passes all the time, like your average point guard, Kidd and Nash will be able to execute special moves, like wraparound passes and no-look passes, when you use the freestyle superstar controls.

There are eight different classes of freestyle superstars in the game, six on offense and two on defense. They are: playmakers, power players, high fliers, shooters, and inside or outside scorers. Defensively, the game classifies inside and outside stoppers. Two-way players, like Kobe Bryant, will have both offensive and defensive superstar capabilities. But each player can only have one type of superstar controls on each side of the ball. Using Bryant again as an example, he's classified as an outside scorer on offense, though many would say he also has the characteristics of a high flyer. If you prefer to classify Bryant as a high flyer, you can do that in the settings, since his stats reflect that ability. However, you can't take a superstar (but one-dimensional) shooter like Kyle Korver and turn him into a playmaker, because he doesn’t have the offensive awareness or the handles for that role.

So how will the freestyle superstar controls work? First of all, you'll need to spot your superstars. Different icons appear under each star while he's on the court, depending on what type of superstar he is. Scorers have a ball underneath them, while shooters have a crosshair as their insignia. And defensive stoppers have an open palm as their icon. While controlling a superstar, you simply hold down the L trigger (L1 on the PS2) and the face buttons become remapped. Pressing L and a face button will execute one of your special moves. For a power player, you can uncork powerful spin moves leading into strong two-handed dunks that will almost always work if you have position on a physically overmatched defender. Moves for outside scorers include double-clutch moves, floating shots in traffic, and up-and-under scoops when going baseline underneath the basket. Shooters can execute set shots, which are very accurate, or they can fake a pass and then put up a shot. Playmaker moves include different types of passes, like bounce passes through traffic or no-look dishes. High fliers will get way high in the air and can dunk on defenders that don't get up to challenge the drive. Defensive superstar moves include quick steals, powerful shot blocks, and the ability to wrap around behind a driving ball handler to poke the ball away. In all, there are up to eight different freestyle superstar moves, as you can tap or hold down each of the four face buttons for a different move.

On paper, it can sound like these superstar moves are extremely overpowering, and you can just use them at any time to dominate the game. In practice, this isn't the case. While playing at rookie difficulty will let you do your special moves at will, we tested by playing against the Detroit Pistons at all-star difficulty. We found that the superstar moves aren't just a free path to the basket. Perfoming no-look passes or wraparound passes while being closely defended often resulted in turnovers. We tried using power moves in the paint while guarded closely by Ben Wallace, and we found ourselves getting rejected or losing the ball. The developer is keenly aware of the possible balance issues introduced by having freestyle superstar controls, and it's taking steps to ensure the game remains balanced. From what we played, things are off to a pretty good start in that area. The idea is that the freestyle superstar moves are meant to accentuate your advantage when you find yourself in space or have gotten a step on the defender. They're not meant to be completely overpowering.

Oh man that looks awesome. no nba2k6 for me this year

MadRyan said:
Yeah, it reads pretty well huh? But I'd still like a much deeper franchise mode - haven't read much about the improvements to that area (if any) they're planning for NBA Live 06... anyone know any details?

I really want the players themselves to have more depth to their emotions, and I'd like to see coaches rewarded for managing players well off the bench.

Also as I've mentioned I think the draft needs a massive overhaul - it wouldnt take much to improve it ten fold. i.e. at the moment you cant even sort the draft pool into position, height, or by their ratings in any way when it's your turn to make a selection. This has to get better.

I know somebody has already asked this question, but it didn't get answered.
How many games do you lads simulate each season? Or do you play each and every one of them?

I'm playing a bit of NHL 2K5 at the moment, picked it up pretty cheap. I don't know bugger all about hockey though, I only like the PS2 games.

RoosterLad said:
I know somebody has already asked this question, but it didn't get answered. How many games do you lads simulate each season? Or do you play each and every one of them?
Hi mate,

I've had NBA Live 2005 since it came out on PS2 last year (Oct?), and I started a dynasty almost immediately with Memphis. I'm into my fourth season now, 58 game seasons (best of 3 in playoffs), and I've played each one. Up with SSX as the best game ever released on PS2 in my books, I love it.

I'm sure others might simulate a lot of matches, but I prefer the "realism" of playing each and every game.

Can't wait for Live 2006. :D

RoosterLad said:
I know somebody has already asked this question, but it didn't get answered.
How many games do you lads simulate each season? Or do you play each and every one of them?

I'm playing a bit of NHL 2K5 at the moment, picked it up pretty cheap. I don't know bugger all about hockey though, I only like the PS2 games.

I simulate until the last quarter. This provides realisic scores while playing every game!

I started again with my beloved Miami Heat and i just finished season two today.

05' Champions - Detroit Pistons
06' Champions - Detroit Pistons

I've made the eastern finals both times but lost to Detroit. The two western finalists for the respective years have been San Antonio and Denver.

MadRyan said:
I simulate until the last quarter. This provides realisic scores while playing every game!

I started again with my beloved Miami Heat and i just finished season two today.

05' Champions - Detroit Pistons
06' Champions - Detroit Pistons

I've made the eastern finals both times but lost to Detroit. The two western finalists for the respective years have been San Antonio and Denver.
Are you on the hardest difficulty setting mate?

Luke, I just started a new D mode with updated rosters and the results thus far haven’t exactly been all that convincing!

I'm playing on Superstar mode, 12 minute sim quarters and five minute action quarters. I sim the first three and then play the last, no matter the score. I have updated most main things concerning rosters with Carter at New Jersey, Jones at Memphis, JWill/Posey and Walker to Miami, etc, etc!

I'm currently 5 - 5 and sitting 2nd in the SE below Charlotte, believe it or not! Two of the five losses have been on the buzzer to New Jersey (90-93) and Timberwolves (82-79) which have really annoyed and I had a blow out loss against Dallas (103-74)

I'm going to update every so often until the Championship is decided!

RoosterLad said:
why do you only play one quarter?? seems a bit pointless to me

Personally, I don't have the time to play 12 minute quarters. I want a good score base to keep up with other statistics along with being able to actually play the game, instead of just going the sim for the entire season until the play offs! When you play five or under minute quarters, you don't get realistic scores either.

A way to conquer this problem is to sim the first three quarters which will give you around a 60 - 90 point score and then playing out the remaining last term. You'll sometimes have a five or six point head start and once, I had a sixteen point gap against the T - Wolves and somehow managed to lose by three points. I'm playing on superstar level, it's a tough gig!

There is also times where your opponents are given a head start. Which makes the game even better, you have X amount of time to post enough points or you don't win.