NCFL Central discussion 2025

You cant have spent anytime in the old Birchip rooms. Could not swing a cat and like Watchem you took your life into your own hands if you touched a tap in the showers which were always cold.
I did forget to say that Birchip rooms were small. But the showers are good from what I have heard. If anyone well else wants to do a ranking feel free

I’ll do canteen and bar seperate

Bar
Nully- great area, very close to ground
Birchip- on a bit of hill. And there is the balcony. Good place
Wyche- the big shed that runs along the wing is a great place
Donald- the hill is good and also has the balcony. Bit far from the ground though
Sea lake- pretty good as well, has the hill for good viewing
St arnaud- good set up next to the rooms. But a long long way from the ground. Can’t see very well
Boort- have the set up on the trotting track but isn’t very big
Wedderburn- long way from the ground.
Charlton- terrible in all honesty. So far from the ground and u are looking at the pocket

Canteen

Birchip- not bad. Long walk for the hockey but good for the rest. Good place to have it. Plenty of room. Plus u can watch the footy at the same time.
Donald- can watch the footy at the same time. Limited space in times like finals. Good food.
Nully- close to the footy. Gets pretty crowded
Wyche. Again close to the oval so u can watch the footy whilst getting food. Not much space for the line and a lot of people walking through
Wedderburn- pretty good. Can watch the footy. Not much space to line up
Sea lake- not a great spot for it. Pretty good food but u can’t really watch the footy at the same time.
Charlton- good food but again a bit off the footy ground. Not too far off all codes
St arnaud- terrible spot. Right in front of the home rooms. Not much room for the line. Can’t really watch the footy whilst getting food
Boort- terrible. Never has food cooked and always runs out. Massive lines in the normal season let alone finals. Can’t watch the footy while getting food

Overall for spectators
Birchip
Nully
Wyche
Donald
Sea Lake
Wedderburn
St Arnaud
Charlton
Boort

For players
Birchip- good oval good rooms
St arnaud- pretty good oval, fairly good rooms
Donald- pretty good oval, small rooms, alright showers
Charlton- not great ground, big rooms, good showers
Wedderburn- bad ground, small rooms, good showers
Nully- pretty good oval, bad showers, small rooms
Sea lake- pretty good oval, bad showers, small rooms
Boort- alright oval, small rooms, bad showers
Wyche- big rooms, pretty decent oval, terrible showers

Overall for finals
Birchip
Donald
Wyche
Sea lake
St arnaud
Wedderburn
Nully
Boort
Charlton
Great summary.... Would change Donald to about the worst though. Shocking oval facing east-west, so sun in your eyes half the game. And showering together is laughable. Club rooms are too far from the oval. As for Charlton... Have to run about 1km to make the oval and has a cricket pitch in the middle, no shelter at all to watch if it's wet either....

Tips for this week
Sea lake beat Donald 265pts
Calder beat Charlton 203 pts
Birchip beat st arnaud 215 pts
Wedderburn beat Boort 13 pts

Sea lake will give Donald another flogging. They will have at least 10 multiple goal kickers.
Calder will flog charlton. Exell to kick 12 and Humphreys for 6+
Birchip to demolish saints. Edwards to kick his 200th 😂. But seriously I think he will kick his 100th early in the 3rd quarter. They will be looking for him with every entry. Even if the saints put 3 on him I don’t think they will stop him.
The game of the week. The burn to show boort they should’ve been in fourth. Jensen for 7 goals

Tips for this week
Sea lake beat Donald 265pts
Calder beat Charlton 203 pts
Birchip beat st arnaud 215 pts
Wedderburn beat Boort 13 pts

Sea lake will give Donald another flogging. They will have at least 10 multiple goal kickers.
Calder will flog charlton. Exell to kick 12 and Humphreys for 6+
Birchip to demolish saints. Edwards to kick his 200th 😂. But seriously I think he will kick his 100th early in the 3rd quarter. They will be looking for him with every entry. Even if the saints put 3 on him I don’t think they will stop him.
The game of the week. The burn to show boort they should’ve been in fourth. Jensen for 7 goals
Some really big blowouts brewing.
Sealake will be eyeing off 2nd spot and I to think they’ll win 220 - 1

Calder lions resting a lot of talent , farmer to kick 8 and bish to be best on

Wedddeburn to make a late charge for 4th with a nice 29 point win over the magpies

And we’ll birchip . Lord help st Arnaurd.
Edwards with 15. And 27 goal victory to bulls

Some really big blowouts brewing.
Sealake will be eyeing off 2nd spot and I to think they’ll win 220 - 1

Calder lions resting a lot of talent , farmer to kick 8 and bish to be best on

Wedddeburn to make a late charge for 4th with a nice 29 point win over the magpies

And we’ll birchip . Lord help st Arnaurd.
Edwards with 15. And 27 goal victory to bulls
Can't see Sealake getting 2nd spot, I expect the burn to put up a decent fight next week, particularly if they beat Boort this week. Tigers would need give the Lions a serious touch up in the last round considering the Lions have both Charlton and Donald for percentage boosting.

Should be a cracker up at Sea lake next week, would like to see the burners sneak in.

Calder twos would beat bottom three senior sides. Some very accomplished footballers in the team. Would hardly be a player who hasnt played 150 games. Hardly a weak link in the side.
No they wouldn't. I don’t think you realise the difference from seniors to reserves

The Burns odds of making finals are slim but aren’t none. They need either Charlton or St Arnaud to beat Boort and they need to win against sea lake and St Arnaud given that they maintain their percentage advantage. Obviously they will beat the saints. But they will be hoping that the navies or the saints will play a miracle game against Boort.
Previous scores do make their odds slimmer.
First matchup
Vs Saints 69pts
Vs Charlton 188pts

Second matchup
Vs Saints 37pts
Vs Charlton 92pts

So obviously improvement from game to game but I think boort will come out firing in hopes of retaining their finals position

The Burns odds of making finals are slim but aren’t none. They need either Charlton or St Arnaud to beat Boort and they need to win at least one against sea lake and St Arnaud given that they maintain their percentage advantage. Obviously they will beat the saints. But they will be hoping that the navies or the saints will play a miracle game against Boort.
Previous scores do make their odds slimmer.
First matchup
Vs Saints 69pts
Vs Charlton 188pts

Second matchup
Vs Saints 37pts
Vs Charlton 92pts

So obviously improvement from game to game but I think boort will come out firing in hopes of retaining their finals position
Did Collins play in the early games v Boort? I think Charlton are a shot of beating Boort

I still don’t reckon they would. Donald aren’t strong obviously but could you imagine Ross young playing twos. He would dominate. They still have some solid players just not enough of them to compete in the ones.
Ross Young has played 4 games this season. Donald have perhaps 3 players who would get a senior game in the league. Truck would know better but I reckon 7+ players at Calder 2nds would have senior premiership medals. Reckon they would handle Donald and give Saints and Navies a run for their money.

Ross is also 42 isn't he?

All the ressies top 4, at full strength seniors/ressies, would probably just handle Donald with their current squad, but wouldn't beat St Arnaud and Charlton. Huge gap in quality between 1st and 2nds. It all comes down to the bottom 6-7 players, who are more interested in the social aspect and appearing on "ultimate ressies", than taking it seriously. Nothing wrong with that too. They're not getting paid and just out there more for the club and enjoyment. This shows up even more when a few injuries come into play.

Calder has got some hand players in their twos don’t get me wrong but they only beat the saints 58-37 last week. Does that mean saints seconds would beat their ones. I don’t think so

Just remember Calder had 5 automatic selections miss in the ones

Has Collins resigned for Charlton. I feel like he has done enough with what he has had. With a few more quality players he could lift them up the ladder