NEAFL- 2014

"this seasons restructure of the NEAFL, is a joke with a fixture/ draw that will result in a very uneven finals series and players that end up playing for 2 and in some cases 3 clubs during the season.!!! Come on , get real, what a debacle for these players and their clubs.. including the QAFL clubs."

"I say again, this restructure has weakened the comp , not improved it. shame shame shame."

"Southport belted Ainslie by some 11 goals. Was always going to be the result. Was never going to be a close game.As Ive said a hundred times, the comp is a joke now."

"... goes to show the whole restructured comp is just a basket case."

"Thunder won the game by only 20 odd goals.... Uni could only manage 1 goal for the game.... geez, the comp is a laughing stock
."

Stuyd1, Your obviously no fan of NEAFL - with all your negativity, it sounds like you'd be better off following the QAFL ??

Anyone go to the Gabba . A big turnaround from last time they met . Lions smashed aspley around the stoppages. Same personal at aspley as last time but completely different performance .

"this seasons restructure of the NEAFL, is a joke with a fixture/ draw that will result in a very uneven finals series and players that end up playing for 2 and in some cases 3 clubs during the season.!!! Come on , get real, what a debacle for these players and their clubs.. including the QAFL clubs."

"I say again, this restructure has weakened the comp , not improved it. shame shame shame."

"Southport belted Ainslie by some 11 goals. Was always going to be the result. Was never going to be a close game.As Ive said a hundred times, the comp is a joke now."

"... goes to show the whole restructured comp is just a basket case."

"Thunder won the game by only 20 odd goals.... Uni could only manage 1 goal for the game.... geez, the comp is a laughing stock
."

Stuyd1, Your obviously no fan of NEAFL - with all your negativity, it sounds like you'd be better off following the QAFL ??
Justa,
Wrong, Im a big fan of the NEAFL, and my negativity is because I see a comp that is just not right in its structure.As a Broadbeach supporter, I have watched them play 5 or 6 games at QAFL level this season, and have watched the same number of games in the NEAFL, be it Southport, Aspley, Redlands, Lions and the Suns.Obviously I prefer to watch the NEAFL games .
Justa, come on, you for one must agree the current structure of the comp is not good !!

Anyone go to the Gabba . A big turnaround from last time they met . Lions smashed aspley around the stoppages. Same personal at aspley as last time but completely different performance .

VICMAN - One I prepared earlier.

As for the 2 AFL Reserve sides here in Qld - They are terrible this year and are both well below par compared to these other 2 Sydney AFL Reserve and the 3 QLD NEAFL sides - Too many kids and that includes Qld kids (excluding the top ups) that can't play footy yet at this new current NEAFL level - These young listed and rookie players may have been stand outs in the Junior ranks (U/18 Championships and TAC Cup etc) to get a gig, but up against the bigger bodies and far better skilled players, they just can't compete. Also there are a lot of guys IMO who look over it, therfore keeping a spot closed for some mature aged free agents, draftees or rookies that the Lions especially are surely missing. The Hornets looked like the professional side yesterday with their run and carry, had they kicked straight in the first Qrt the game would have been all over by then.

It is a bit sad for these 2 AFL clubs currently due to poor football performances and therefore recruiting IMO (and I know this will change in time), as due to this, there is not much pressure from below to keep the players in their senior sides to perform at their best!!!!!!

The Lions academy lads played in the Qld U/18 Side, which had most been playing this may have had a bearing on the score line but not enough IMO to reverse it - The Hornets just played great structured footy from the first bounce and never gave the Lions a sniff, it was like they owed them one for their poor performance the last time they played, they were first to the ball and tackled with ferocity and purpose - Their only down side was their kicking for goal - something I am sure that John Blair will expect some big improvement on - the lights may be burning bright and on overtime for Neiliss, Stanley and Sandsbury down at Hornet land through the week, as this weakness could be a big factor in winning and loosing the tight ones at the sharp end of the season.

A Bit High,
correct, and I will keep saying it.Do you want to tell me the comps in good shape?????. If you do,( which I very much doubt), well time for you to get real!!

Everyone knows the sky is blue but they don't tell all and sundry at every opportunity.

Think we get the message and hopefully you get mine that it's becoming painful

Everyone knows the sky is blue but they don't tell all and sundry at every opportunity.

Think we get the message and hopefully you get mine that it's becoming painful
Yeah, correct, its fact,,,I cant deny this. Apologizes for my continual bashing, but I for one and no doubt all of us want to see a good structured comp which will result in a growth of standard of the NEAFL comp.

Geez, Southport cant take a trick on the major injury side of things,...... Like they have lost Keil, Brewer, Collinson, Screech, for the season, Shreeve has been out for 3 or 4 weeks, and now they loose Baxter for maybe 5 or 6 weeks. Now these are not fringe players, these are 6 players that would be in their top 10 players.Thats huge damage to the quality of side fielded on game day.
Coach Angus must feel he has had a black cat run across his path. Last year when he was coaching Broady, similar circumstances occurred, with season ending injuries to 4 or 5 top players as well as long term injuries to another 2 or 3 good players.!!!!

The Suns lack of success in the NEAFL seems to be having bugger all impact on their senior side?? I would suggest they couldn't give a flying fat rats if the 2's don't win a gam for the rest of the year, as long as they have a handful capable of filling in when someone goes down in the A grade side. Same with the Lions. Can't believe ppl on here are making that big a deal of it. Wow, GWS have a great 2's side - so what, their AFL team is very average. THEY ARE 2NDS SIDES. NOONE INVOLVED WITH THEIR CLUBS GIVE STUFF ABOUT THE RESULTS!! Who cares if they play against sides that do. As Aussie Jones said this week in response to a question re coaching Bendigo Gold diggers - "it was refreshing to be coaching where results mean nothing, its all about development" quote!
If you want a legitimate competition go and watch the QAFL footy. Has been my argument from day dot on here, even with last years and beyond NEAFL / Premier League comps. As soon as the AFL clubs are involved the comp is a little bit of a farce but so what, no one forces you to play in it.

Geez, Southport cant take a trick on the major injury side of things,...... Like they have lost Keil, Brewer, Collinson, Screech, for the season, Shreeve has been out for 3 or 4 weeks, and now they loose Baxter for maybe 5 or 6 weeks. Now these are not fringe players, these are 6 players that would be in their top 10 players.Thats huge damage to the quality of side fielded on game day.
Coach Angus must feel he has had a black cat run across his path. Last year when he was coaching Broady, similar circumstances occurred, with season ending injuries to 4 or 5 top players as well as long term injuries to another 2 or 3 good players.!!!!

So why is this fitness guru considered a fitness guru?? Are they soft tissue injuries??

SMY,
no, the season ending injuries to players have been a majority of ACL injuries at both Broady last season and Southport this season.Colinson coped a broken cheekbone in the rep game against Tassie last week and some are ankle injuries. Certainly not soft tissue injuries such as hamstrings etc.Although Baxter apparently has a calf injury that will keep him sidelined for a few weeks they say .The fitness guru ( Foxy) cant control these injuries occurring.

The Suns lack of success in the NEAFL seems to be having bugger all impact on their senior side?? I would suggest they couldn't give a flying fat rats if the 2's don't win a gam for the rest of the year, as long as they have a handful capable of filling in when someone goes down in the A grade side. Same with the Lions. Can't believe ppl on here are making that big a deal of it. Wow, GWS have a great 2's side - so what, their AFL team is very average. THEY ARE 2NDS SIDES. NOONE INVOLVED WITH THEIR CLUBS GIVE STUFF ABOUT THE RESULTS!! Who cares if they play against sides that do. As Aussie Jones said this week in response to a question re coaching Bendigo Gold diggers - "it was refreshing to be coaching where results mean nothing, its all about development" quote!
If you want a legitimate competition go and watch the QAFL footy. Has been my argument from day dot on here, even with last years and beyond NEAFL / Premier League comps. As soon as the AFL clubs are involved the comp is a little bit of a farce but so what, no one forces you to play in it.

What has that got to do with the scheme of things, If you don't play to win then you might as well just run circle work at training every time you train, surely the new recruits Listed and Rookie's should at least be able to play at the NEAFL level? At the Suns and now this year it seems at the Lions this is not the case - Why spend your/our money on players that can't cut the mustard and compete in our (according to some) basket case League - How can you develop players who can't play - To be on an AFL List should be an honor and earned not a right of passage for some because they played good footy against their peers at an U/18 Level. Development is building all of these these kids up to play senior footy - good luck with that one!!!!! Along with the turnovers these blokes make in games it is time to turnover those tried each week and who have failed with some players who can play - Tinker is just one example of how protected this recruiting system is - no accountability to get it right.

Easy to say this year BB - but think you are assuming that all AFL 2's lists are full of bona fide guns. They aren't. Many blokes who get drafted / listed aren't ready to play AFL footy the following year.
And they don't play to win - its as simple as that. In fact the coaches will persist with a losing match up if they feel it teaches their player a couple of things. That's life at development level. You might not agree but if its good enough at VFL level then I reckon its good enough at NEAFL level. Aspley might be stoked to win games bc that would be a benchmark that Blair and others are judged by. But Frankston for example have finished near the bottom for the past few years at VFL level yet have had more mature age players drafted than any other VFL club - I know they are more than happy with that stat.

Justa,
Justa, come on, you for one must agree the current structure of the comp is not good !!
I agree that the current structure is not perfect. Someone came on here and called it a "Frankenstein" and that just about sums it up.
The handicapper obviously made some errors in seedings when setting the draw for this year but, hey, we're all Nostradamus when we've got the benefit of hindsight.
They'll go away at season' s end and I'm sure that there will be tweakings for next year.

But I say again that this now is the best quality local footy that we've ever had and it's up close and personal. I'm loving it.

I have watched them play 5 or 6 games at QAFL level this season, and have watched the same number of games in the NEAFL !
I'm just glad I wasn't a footy fan standing in your group while you bagged out our footy as "a debacle", "a joke", "laughing stock" or "basket case"....did you find that they drifted away from you like you had B.O. ? Well, I think I know why. Or did they all stand around watching the footy and agreeing with you ? Well, if so then I'm even more glad I'm not in your group
It's like when we log on here and read you bagging out our footy on this forum.

Like ABH said, it's boring to all on here.

I'm just glad I wasn't a footy fan standing in your group while you bagged out our footy as "a debacle", "a joke", "laughing stock" or "basket case"....did you find that they drifted away from you like you had B.O. ? Well, I think I know why. Or did they all stand around watching the footy and agreeing with you ? Well, if so then I'm even more glad I'm not in your group

Justa,
ok, here what you are saying. Im a passionate supporter of QLD footy, and are very frustrated at the current structure of the comp from NEAFL down to QAFL . Anyway, I will back off from my bagging . ok. Sorry to offend you guys,

TBH Stuy my question would be how would you improve it? Go back to last year when only a couple of sides + the AFL teams if they wanted to, could win the comp? And no one is looked at to be drafted again bc no one who mattered rated the comp? Something had to give to improve the outcome from Qld footy - the AFL wasn't going to continue throwing millions of $$ at the state for no return as far as AFL players were concerned. We all know there is talent in Qld - its a case of having it discovered.
IMO this current set up is as good a crack as what they could have done 1st year - next year it will be refined and no doubt better again. Haven't seen much but it stands to reason that the standard is significantly better than last year. The benchmark isn't the AFL sides btw.

Main reason I don't post on here as much as the old Eastern thread.

Congratulation to hunter on rising star nomination.interesting to read coaches appraisal of his round 13 game but he didn't even get in the best 6 players on match centre. Does that mean those entries are considered trivial by some club secretaries .

Justa,
Wrong, Im a big fan of the NEAFL, and my negativity is because I see a comp that is just not right in its structure.As a Broadbeach supporter, I have watched them play 5 or 6 games at QAFL level this season, and have watched the same number of games in the NEAFL, be it Southport, Aspley, Redlands, Lions and the Suns.Obviously I prefer to watch the NEAFL games .

Im getting the feeling you are still a bit dirty that your club is no longer still in the NEAFL so take a swipe at the comp everytime there is a blow out on the scoreboard with the motive to suggest Broadbeach would beat an Ainslie or a Syd Hill Eagles . As I have mentioned before, all the clubs from NSW/ACT are fully aware that they are off the pace as are the power brokers at AFL level.
The 2014 fixture is an obvious attempt to assess where all the clubs sit from a long term viability perspective ( financially & football wise) but the draw also keep clubs in the mix from a competetiveness aspect & provide them motivation to grow and develop in the comp. Along with controlling cost and managing logistics to something clubs can handle
Whilst this is not ideal in its present format you cannot build Rome in a day
The Qld clubs have merged into 'regional' clubs with an elite list of 35 approach whereas the NSW/ACT clubs are still suburban clubs managing up to 6 senior grades through to community football level.
Im certain over time that the NSW/ACT clubs that remain in the NEAFL will evolve into elite list managed 'regional' clubs with a sole focus on the NEAFL which will no doubt lift the standard across the board and give us all some parity on the scoreboard and on the premiership ladder.
You Queensland folk just need to be a little patient and deflate the chests a bit.
Our club has gone through massive changes on and off the field and some dont like it here either but if the game is serious about having a quality pathway for kids to play AFL and remain motivated , focused and challenged at 2nd tier level in NSW/Qld/NT & ACT then we need to back this competition.
One thing that is very obvious & needs to be improved on to us is a disconnect from NEAFL comp to the local community club games
We go and play in Qld or in Canberra sometimes and there are no curtain raiser games or no matches after our game, so you don't get that day at the footy feel ?!! Gone are the days for us where you have your Colts/Reserves and seniors all play on one day at the same ground and all go back to the club to celebrate or drown your sorrows. This is what the NEAFL administrators need to get better at & almost make NEAFL games the pinnacle of a Carnival of footy at our grounds every weekend.
Whilst we have our hurdles currently to get an even and competetive comp we do have a very unique competition we should be quite proud of & with the right strategy and support it will grow into a very viable, exciting comp over the next 3-5 years

Go Eagles