Vapor

Most people I've spoken to have had at least 1 near-death experience in their life, what about you guys?

I nearly drowned when I was about 6 years old, was on a family picnic and my parents let me play in a waist deep slow-moving river. Next thing I know, I stepped into a head-high part of the river and went under, couldn't swim yet either. My parents had both turned away for some reason, and after about 10 seconds of struggling with only my hands above water my Dad rushed in and rescued me. Had a big fear of putting my head underwater for a few years after that.

Friend of mine was hit by a car while crossing the road drunk last year. As we were all waiting to cross the road, he decided to try run across in front of an oncoming car. The car jammed the brakes but couldn't stop hard enough. The guy basically smashed his head on the windshield, leaving a major dent in it, and was flipped over onto the road a few metres away. We all honestly thought he was dead, he was just lying cold on the road. After a few minutes he actually started to move a little, and by the time the ambulances came he was just about conscious. Amazingly no concussion or broken bones, but one side of his head was hugely swollen for months after, and parts of his face were green and purple. He reckons he's learnt his lesson on crossing the road now

was chased by wild dogs through the indonesian jungle... not sure if near death but sure felt like it.

Was going to be at Port Arthur when the massacre happened but family member took to long getting ready so went to the zoo instead.

Once attended a game at Etihad and sat 20m from the Essendon cheer squad.

So I'm rappelling down Mount Vesuvius when suddenly I slip, and I start to fall. Just falling, ahh ahh, I'll never forget the terror. When suddenly I realize "Holy shit, Gus, haven't you been smoking Peyote for six straight days, and couldn't some of this maybe be in your head?" .. And?.. And it was. I was totally fine. I've never even been to Mount Vesuvius..."

My uncle was scheduled to be in the world trade centre when the shit hit the fan. Luckily his flight was cancelled and he arrived in New York the next day.

I envy your life. Always wanted to run away from something like that or cops.

not cool at the time.

i would draw one of my elaborate paint drawings to illustrate why i was in the jungle but i think ill tell the story in a literary format.

basically we decided to get the slow boat to gili t, saved ourselves about $90 but the boat trip was 5 hours instead of one and a half... so we decided to get the 1am ferry in order to sleep on it then get up and treck on in the morning...

we first went to the beach at padang bai in the afternoon, then on the way back we had a beer with some local farmer guy and his family, were awesome people...

went back into the town had dinner and chilled for a bit before deciding to go back for a night swim, stopping for some midnight chicken with a bunch of balinese taxi drivers, was the spiciest food i have ever had...

we trecked on mouths on fire and went down the path towards the beach, which was about 800 meters walk from the town center. when we went earlier in the day we went down the end, then turned left and walked about 500 meters then turned right to get to the beach.

as you can tell by those directions there seemed to be an obvious way to cut out the middle man and walked straight into the jungle bit thinking the beach would be straight ahead... about 100 meters in we hear this barking slowly edging closer, terrifying, i have never run so fast in my life.

we managed to maintain enough distance until we got to the edge of the jungle bit, but the beach didnt just appear, there was a good 1 and a half meter drop into water of unknown depth,and the barking was getting closer, the beach was 25 meters down but there was a tree in the way so we would have had to go back into the jungle bit to get onto the beach and the dogs sounded like they were 10 meters away.

we still had our packs on so we decided to drop the packs behind us and pin drop down... about 20 seconds later these dogs come tearing up to the bags, going absolutely nuts, just stood there frozen for a minute until they went away (luckily the water was only waist deep).

eventually the dogs ran off and i got a leg up to grab the bags and we waded the 25 meters to were the beach actually started bags being held above our heads. As we began walking along the beach we heard the barking again (not this shit again) dropped our bags and ran into the water... dogs came tearing up to the bags again, they eventually left after what felt like an hour and we grabbed our bags and sprinted down the beach where we saw some lights that turned out to be fisherman.

was an interesting experience but i wouldnt go off the beaten track in the dark again.

as a side note the whole experience only took about half an hour, it felt like it took 5.

King hit from behind while walking from a house party to a pub in my hometown.

Mate and I were walking down this street in a residential area. Guys pull up in a car, one starts on my mate. As I tried to break it up I got hit by the other guy. Remember hitting the ground pretty hard, and being drunk, was down for a while.

Thankfully another mate had heard the commotion from nearby where he was walking home and backed us up, the other guys just pissed off.

King hit from behind while walking from a house party to a pub in my hometown.

Mate and I were walking down this street in a residential area. Guys pull up in a car, one starts on my mate. As I tried to break it up I got hit by the other guy. Remember hitting the ground pretty hard, and being drunk, was down for a while.

Thankfully another mate had heard the commotion from nearby where he was walking home and backed us up, the other guys just pissed off.

people are ****ed

i dont understand the fun in fighting

So I'm rappelling down Mount Vesuvius when suddenly I slip, and I start to fall. Just falling, ahh ahh, I'll never forget the terror. When suddenly I realize "Holy shit, Gus, haven't you been smoking Peyote for six straight days, and couldn't some of this maybe be in your head?" .. And?.. And it was. I was totally fine. I've never even been to Mount Vesuvius..."

Cool story Hansel

people are ****ed

i dont understand the fun in fighting

I don't fight either, apart from the odd school fight when I was younger, so had no ****ing idea what made these two jump us.

Probably nothing. It's happened to me a couple of times, but neither were too serious (one of which probably would've been had one of the mates I had with me at the time not known one of the derros who tried to jump us in the first place, so they backed off). Both times the (usually drug-****ed) group make up some absolute bullshit story and then just start swinging.

When i was little i was at a family friends place and it was a hot day and we were having a bbq, the beach ball was in the water and as a little kid you would try and reach for it from the edge, so i'm touching it by he finger tips whilst on my knees and i lean over too far and lose my balance and i fall in, took about 4 seconds till my dad and family friend jumped in and rescued me, my small life flashed before me and i swallowed heaps of water...

About 3 years ago i was getting ready for school and thought i'd might use my sisters hair straightener (:o) as i put the straightener down on the bench i notice a little puddle of water on the bench and this is as soon as i drop the end of the straightener in the water as soon as i let go of the straightener i see a bolt of electricity coming from the straightener and i shit my dacks (not literally) and unplug it from the wall, ****ing scary that i was a millisecond away from perhaps death.

Simply put, because there are ****heads on this planet that would do sick things for their own enjoyment.

Was at a beach about 4 years ago swimming along when a kyacker flipped on a wave right near me. Luckily I just got under the kyack enough to avoid serious damage walked out of it with a small cut on the top of my head where it grazed me.

Also there are numerous dipshits out there just trying to pick fights. Must be a good life

I envy your life. Always wanted to run away from something like that or cops.

I ran from cops one time... Was 15 - drinking in the park haha :p

Cops rocked up because neighbours complained about noise or something so we decided to leg it. Didnt think the cops would chase us but this big mother ****er, about 6 foot 5 was bolting after us with a flashlight on us. If we hadn't of known the area a lot better than he did we would've been caught and who knows what would've happened haha
I dont think I've ever run faster than that.

Not really a near death experience but scary to reflect on none the less.

Apart from meningococcal, once when i was about 10 I was walking along the top of a cliff with my mum, brother and sister. I was holding on to the fence that was along it, when the ground below me collapsed. I was hanging on to the fence by a piece of wire, dangling over a cliff about 75 high. Then my brother pulled me up and it was all good.

Stock standard car crash story. Late for a footy game, country road I don't know well, wet & an inexperienced 17 year old driver.

Going about 100, suddenly a near 90 degree reccomended 45km turn comes up. I see it too late, try to go around it staying on my side but start spinning out. Go from one side of the road to the other, JUST managing to not go off into the trees. End up spinning around 180 degrees & stopping on the road. I drove myself off onto the side about 5 seconds before a ute that was coming the other way burned past me.

I remember sitting in the car just laughing for a few minutes at my good fortune to be unhurt/alive.

I nearly choked to death when I was three. Parents were out in the garden, and it was only my 10 year old brother and I inside. I was quietly going about my business, playing Thomas the Tanks. Next thing I know, i'm trying to eat one of the wooden trees that came with my set. Got halfway down my throat before I realised that this wasn't really working.

So as I was moments away from death, my brother, who was in the other room, heard the commotion and ran outside to alert my parents. Mum arrived in the nick of time to reach down my throat and pull it out.

Good times. I don't think i've ever thanked my brother. Shit bloke by me.