Player Watch Ned Long

Long’s TOG is skewed because of his sub appearances though.
But he is doing less TOG than our other midfielders i.e. he only had 70% on Saturday.

He’s nearly always doing less than our other mids, but I suspect that’s just because of inexperience and the low number of senior games played. It takes a few years for most kids to be able to handle the usual 80-85% TOG.

But he is doing less TOG than our other midfielders i.e. he only had 70% on Saturday.

He’s nearly always doing less than our other mids, but I suspect that’s just because of inexperience and the low number of senior games played. It takes a few years for most kids to be able to handle the usual 80-85% TOG.
Yep. Steady Neddy this year. You're All ****ed Neddy next year and beyond

Off the back of his 2018 finals series, he looked like he was going to be the absolute business.
He had a fantastic final series. I still can’t tell if he truely was a great player that didn’t live up to his potential, or if he was just a bog standard player who just had a really good purple patch.

Either way I’m confident that Longy will have a long career with us :)

If we can nut them at the clearances it's likely we won't lose our shape.
I wonder why you hate a legend of our club so much. Your mockery of him makes you look like a fool.

Ned’s here and now, and wants to play for us. It’s obvious on the field and in his demeanour.

Sier is gone. He threw away the opportunity to play AFL. Not much more to be said, although Phil Inn provided a brief diversion.

Go Ned.

I wonder why you hate a legend of our club so much. Your mockery of him makes you look like a fool.
EFA
Poking a bit of fun at a couple of silly phrases = hate??

There's some over reaction around here

Not all of your posts meet the gold standard of "good taste"

I will poke fun at stupid language - eg commentators who ask "can he make the trip" when a player is having a set shot or "he's run out of tarmac" when the ball is out of bounds.

EFA
Poking a bit of fun at a couple of silly phrases = hate??

There's some over reaction around here

Not all of your posts meet the gold standard of "good taste"

I will poke fun at stupid language - eg commentators who ask "can he make the trip" when a player is having a set shot or "he's run out of tarmac" when the ball is out of bounds.
Yes, ‘hate’ is too strong a word and an overreaction from me. Sorry.

I just find it annoying that Bucks is consistently trashed by some people. If he does coach Tassie, I think he will do an excellent job, regardless of any phrases he might use in his speech.

If he gets that gig I'll wish him well - he's an extremely decent person with a great knowledge of the game

'I thought he was enormous': McRae
https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/vi...s-mcrae?videoId=1783504&modal=true&type=video

Yes, Fly did answer a question about Long’s pressure by saying, “I thought he was enormous.”

Doesn’t strike me as a coach looking to replace him.

Yep, 2 more coaches votes takes him past Cripps for 2025. Tracking beautifully.

Trusting Long in centre bounce says more than a presser.

Only 18 players Under 24 average more than 10 CBAs a game (Min 5 games). Half of those are top 10 picks.

Only 7 of those players average more centre clearances than Ned in 2025 (Top 4 draft picks - Daicos, Ashcroft, JHF, Callaghan. Plus Cam Mackenzie (#7), Holmes & Soligo).

Plus he's generating scores.

Only 6 of those (centre mids U24) average more score involvements - the same names, stars.

The only ones averaging more goals + goal assists are Daicos, JHF + Bailey Humphrey.

His massive kicking seems a weapon even if not precise - he can clear zones, and hitting grass with Bobby and Beau around causes mayhem.

Just our good fortune that Hawthorn were pretty stacked with Ward and Mackenzie (both #7 draft picks).

Of course he will. He was always behind the 8 ball his first few years with us coaching with "Micks boys" so a fresh start with young eyes fully committing to him will be an interesting watch. Tactically Bucks is brilliant, and i think as hes mellowed with age his man management will be much better so i hope he gets the gig, they sign him for 5 years minimum and he wins a bloody flag finally. If anyone deserves one for persistence, heartbreak and commitment to the game its him

Clear blocking free not paid to Maynard and an errant kick across goal by (public naming spared) cost NB a flag as coach

Ned needs a new contract, 4-5 years should do it.
ASAP.

I say sign Ned up to a Buddy Franklin like contract. Lol. In all seriousness, I just hope he gets better and better.

Clear blocking free not paid to Maynard and an errant kick across goal by (public naming spared) cost NB a flag as coach
He's an astute pick for tassie. I love hanging it on Bucks but he's an absolute legend.

Remember reading that he was expected to go late first early second round in the draft, but slipped down due to his inability to get from contest to contest and was ultimately rookied. It was a similar knock that Cripps had on him. Similar types, so hopefully he follows a similar path, except for the lack of premierships:)

Needs to work on his defensive running. Has shown he’s capable of doing it, but can also get caught ball watching a bit. Inexperience I’d assume, but could also be about building that endurance base for senior footy.

I'm not sure I can take you seriously or if you're watching ANY of our games in 2025, but Long is our LEADING TACKLER, even though he hasn't started every game.

Against Adelaide, he ran down Sam Berry as he was running towards goal, which resulted in a turnover.

He also ran down James Peatling, after Peatling brushed off Sidebottom's tackle and pulverised him on the boundary line Shane Warne stand end.

Here's a reminder;

Screenshot 2025-05-21 at 5.08.25 pm.png Screenshot 2025-05-21 at 5.08.53 pm.png

Having a few beers with an NRL following mate watching the Pies the other week and he asked who was that bloke bogging in taking the packs in all day. I said our man Ned Long, tough ****er otherwise known and Lead Nong.
Not in the Grave Danger class of nicknames but apt.

I'm pretty sure the coaches know Ned's strengths and areas to be worked on - Ned will too

Pretty sure you and some mates of yours like posting without much observation or research....

PAST DRAFT PROFILE

POSITION:
Inside Midfielder

SNAPSHOT: “A strong-bodied midfielder with great endurance who also loves a goal, Long was one of the most damaging players in the NAB League before injury cut his season short.” - Ed Pascoe

....Long’s
endurance is at a very high level, highlighted with his 2km time of 6:05 and a 21.6 Yo-Yo test score back in 2020. His endurance helps the 192cm and 88kg player get around the ground better than most players of his build....

....Endurance has become a big factor in modern football, so this should be a strong consideration in Long's draft hopes....

SUMMARY:

....plenty of AFL level traits with his endurance, size and smarts....
....A team that needs more depth for taller midfielders could do with a player like Long and with his frame and endurance....

STRENGTHS:

+ Scoreboard Impact
+ Endurance....

Pretty sure you like posting without much thinking or research....

PAST DRAFT PROFILE

POSITION:
Inside Midfielder

SNAPSHOT: “A strong-bodied midfielder with great endurance who also loves a goal, Long was one of the most damaging players in the NAB League before injury cut his season short.” - Ed Pascoe

Long’s
endurance is at a very high level, highlighted with his 2km time of 6:05 and a 21.6 Yo-Yo test score back in 2020. His endurance helps the 192cm and 88kg player get around the ground better than most players of his build...
Seems you've replied to my (short) post without understanding what I said (a bit sarcastically)