Opinion New AFC HQ (Part 2): Dale dug a hole

To think we weren’t originally going to have a licence before Olsen, this has to be another tick.

Once SANFL and AFLW games start it will get decent patronage. Plus there will be some hardcore supporters that use it and I’m on the road a bit for work, would be good to stop in have a bite to eat and a drink and watch a bit of training.

Definitely don’t need a pub.

I'd be surprised if we operated it, reckon we'll just rent out the space.

We should do what benefits us, if it also helps West or the SANFL, then no worries. But I wouldn't be cutting off my nose just to spite my face. But you're nothing if not partisan. You'd turn down a million dollar gift if it came with the condition that 10% had to be passed on the the SANFL.

🤣🤣🤣🤣

While this post made me laugh, it's not actually true though.

I'm all about what benefits us, the problem is that whenever the SANFL is involved it's normally to our detriment.

Just read that the west then by pub is closing due to the south road expansion. That would open the door for the crows to have a fully licensed bar and food without competing with locals. Could be great for the club

Sad to see West thebby go though

Transfer the liquor licence to the Crows before it closes.

Just read that the west then by pub is closing due to the south road expansion. That would open the door for the crows to have a fully licensed bar and food without competing with locals. Could be great for the club

Sad to see West thebby go though

The West Thebby. Nice pre match drinking hole in the 80's. I recall Maggie selling tickets in the chook raffle in the bar.

Went there about 12 months ago. Was all but empty then, so not surprised.
No customers will do that. ;)

The West Thebarton Hotel closed on Monday, March 10, 2025. This was its final day of trading, ahead of its scheduled demolition to make way for the North-South Corridor upgrade in Adelaide. Although the publicans were given until mid-July 2025 to cease operations, they chose to shut down earlier on that date.

No customers will do that. ;)

The West Thebarton Hotel closed on Monday, March 10, 2025. This was its final day of trading, ahead of its scheduled demolition to make way for the North-South Corridor upgrade in Adelaide. Although the publicans were given until mid-July 2025 to cease operations, they chose to shut down earlier on that date.
oh wow, I didn't realise it was being knocked down.
Yeh no customers will do that.
Interesting that the Hilton hotel made them build a tunnel rather than a bridge through the South Rd-Bradman intersection so it didn't ruin their business, but the Thebby gets knocked down.
People in high places I guess...

oh wow, I didn't realise it was being knocked down.
Yeh no customers will do that.
Interesting that the Hilton hotel made them build a tunnel rather than a bridge through the South Rd-Bradman intersection so it didn't ruin their business, but the Thebby gets knocked down.
I'm surprised there are not more tunnels. Cost I suppose. I was amazed in cities like Munich, Vienna and London the number of underground tunnels under major buildings.

or not reading the plans would make people think this

The Aswhin Parade corner is where the tunnel emerges and enters

The Thebarton Town Hall and the Hilton are on the same alignment and both are being saved

or not reading the plans would make people think this

The Aswhin Parade corner is where the tunnel emerges and enters

The Thebarton Town Hall and the Hilton are on the same alignment and both are being saved
Yes, but I live in the area of the hilton hotel. The original plan was to build a bridge there. The Hilton hotel kicked up a huge stink about it. Now there is a tunnel...

I'm surprised there are not more tunnels. Cost I suppose. I was amazed in cities like Munich, Vienna and London the number of underground tunnels under major buildings.
Tunnels a lot more expensive, drainage, relocation of services etc

Yes, but I live in the area of the hilton hotel. The original plan was to build a bridge there. The Hilton hotel kicked up a huge stink about it. Now there is a tunnel...
Not sure why there was ever a bridge planned for that area?

To allow South road to continue with no stops. Bradman would run over the bridge.
This was before they decided to make the tunnels though.
That’s moons ago, the hiltons opinion would’ve had zero influence in deciding on tunnels

Opinion New AFC HQ (Part 2): Dale dug a hole