New Footy game

• Thread starter Thread starter Ad76

Are you that stupid, maybe you should read the post before you reply, he clearly pointed out that he wants it to be ready for the Start of the 08 season.

i didnt ask when it was coming out did i, i asked how long it would take.

You are obviously putting a lot of work into this. Will you be selling it for money or allow it to be downloaded for free. If it's good as it sounds like it will be, people will be prepared to pay for it

Its not hard to figure out...Start of 08 season....about a year from now:D

Yeah but he said how long it would take.

It could take a until the end of the season to make, but they will just wait till about this time next year to bring it out.

Players should be able to have different positions and their ability in each noted, possibly with some positions whilst being the same are different eg. Running half-back flanker vs Defensive Half-Back Flanker.

That would be a good idea, define the players position and style of play.

For instance Joel Bowden would be a Running Backmen where as Darren Glass would be a Defensive backmen, it would be good to use for midfielders too, you could do something like Kane Cornes is an Inside Midfielder where as Shaun Burgoyne would be a Outside Midfielder.

Affiliate clubs?

i.e FM has like Chelsea and PSV, in this game you can make VFL/AFL affiliate clubs i.e Carlton-Nothern Bullants, or Hawthorn-Box Hill, Bulldogs-Werribee...

Some great ideas here guys - I appreciate your thoughts.

The release plan for the beginning of 2008 is based on how long i think it will take - not holding off until the timing is right. The back-end will be done long before that, but i plan to use XAML for the UI which is pretty new, so will take a while to put together.

I'm doing this more for the love of the game (and for a game that I can actually play myself) than a money making venture. It wont be free, but anything that I do make from it will struggle to cover the time that will go into it.

Keep the ideas coming, and thanks again for your thoughts so far.

Ad, have you decided whether this will be free or not?

Sorry mate, it wont be free (see above post). I havent given any thought to the financial side of things. What I can tell you though, is that whatever it costs, it'll be worth it. ;)

Are u planning on making a demo

I'd be happy to pay for a game like this if you can make it as well as it sounds.:D Probably would be worth giving people a demo first, just so they know where their money is going towards.

newspaper in TAR is almost useless except for the votes.

the best example of newspaper i personally think is the Madden 06/07 newspaper. Not only visual eye candy, but also give a little bit of a rundown too.

The game does look like a winner, as long as it could go through and you could keep your promise. We all know how well Mr Bretag can keep his promises:rolleyes:

Mate you outright champion, if there is anything I can help you with, i.e player rating etc let me know!!

I reckon an Option of a creation draft at a start of a career would be awesome as well

I'm off work now so I'll come up with some more ideas and post them later

Mate you outright champion, if there is anything I can help you with, i.e player rating etc let me know!!

I reckon an Option of a creation draft at a start of a career would be awesome as well

I'm off work now so I'll come up with some more ideas and post them later
Do you mean a "Fantasy" Draft, which is where every player is available to select, you get a draft pick and you pick until you get a full team.

fantasy draft would be awesome! even more reason to have it multiplayer.

I don't know if its been suggested but there should be a random generator for clubs with poor finances to move interstate or merge with another poor club.

The go-home factor is an awesome idea.

stats should include 1%'s so you know who your team players are... i'll know becuase if judd has any your progam is broken :P

but one thing i think needs adressing is captiancy.
Could you make sure that as the coach you get to nominate your leadership group, and if you select players with poor leadership or poor discipline then it affects the team on the field.

also with disciplne there should be 'on-field' and 'off-field' so while on the track a player can be good when his at the pub it ends up in the papers.. should be funny.

players should be categorised by what type of player they are, not just position. Paul Medhurt and Jeff Farmer will not function well in the same forward line because they are both selfish small forwards compared to a selfish player working with a team player or something like that

another factor for trading is the 'brother' issue. Say Joel Selwood wants to go to get traded (god lets hope not) his more likely to agree to a club where his brothers are.

one last thing i cna think of atm is relationships/personalities of the players. This adds more to the realism if players with a certian personality react different to guys with different personalies. I got this off a wrestling game where friendships are created (friendships/loyalty/best friends/dislike/hate) at random due to personalities. Just makes it more real like if two guys are great mates they play well together but if they hate each other then they don't.

fantasy draft would be awesome! even more reason to have it multiplayer.

I don't know if its been suggested but there should be a random generator for clubs with poor finances to move interstate or merge with another poor club.

The go-home factor is an awesome idea.

stats should include 1%'s so you know who your team players are... i'll know becuase if judd has any your progam is broken :P

but one thing i think needs adressing is captiancy.
Could you make sure that as the coach you get to nominate your leadership group, and if you select players with poor leadership or poor discipline then it affects the team on the field.

also with disciplne there should be 'on-field' and 'off-field' so while on the track a player can be good when his at the pub it ends up in the papers.. should be funny.

players should be categorised by what type of player they are, not just position. Paul Medhurt and Jeff Farmer will not function well in the same forward line because they are both selfish small forwards compared to a selfish player working with a team player or something like that

another factor for trading is the 'brother' issue. Say Joel Selwood wants to go to get traded (god lets hope not) his more likely to agree to a club where his brothers are.

one last thing i cna think of atm is relationships/personalities of the players. This adds more to the realism if players with a certian personality react different to guys with different personalies. I got this off a wrestling game where friendships are created (friendships/loyalty/best friends/dislike/hate) at random due to personalities. Just makes it more real like if two guys are great mates they play well together but if they hate each other then they don't.

Some good thoughts there, thanks mate. to answer a couple specifically:

Go-home factor is in.

At the moment I actually have 3 discipline types: On/off field, and training.

Leadership as a player attribute is in, and you will be able to select a leadership group.

You mentioned players being categorised by position. One of the things that I like least about the existing games is exactly that. Players wont have "a position". They'll have a set of skills & attributes, which will improve over time (or decrease due to injury) depending on where they play - and who they play against. You as the coach will be able to develop players in certain positions. Of course, naturally some players are better suited to certain positions, as in the real AFL.

I have a whole lot of stats being tracked throughout the game. 1%'s is an interesting one. They'll be there in some way, but might be broken down further (Smother, shepherd etc) - not sure on that one yet.

The brothers/trading idea is an interesting one. I hadnt thought of it, but I like the idea.

I like the player personality idea too. Time permitting I'll try to work it in.

Clubs moving/merging is doubtful at this stage. If something happens in the AFL down the track I'll change things to fit, but other than that I'm going to look to follow reality.

As always, thanks for the input :thumbsu: