Newman

Righto, this is not a troll, but, a gauge on opinion.
If Newman didn't make the round one team in 2014:
a: how would you take it?
b: would it be a negative?
c: is he a lock for 22 games next season?

I reckon Newy is going to be fighting for his spot next season.

He will start the year. Not sure he will finish it though. Having said that someone has to step up and take the spot off him, which can only be a good thing for the side. King is in the same boat. Neither will make it easy for someone to take though.

I rate Newman as being in the 15-30 player range at the moment with him sitting roughly around 18-22 atm
End of the year he could drop to 25-30 range

With the Type of players we have brought to the club this year tells me both Jake King (30) & Chris Newman (32)could be onto their last years and wouldn't suprise me to be seeing them do a lap of honour at our last game at the 'G'

But the great thing is that Neither player will really be missed on the field as of 2015 but surely will be missed off the field and would love for both to be kept at the club in some role for the development of the youngsters at the club

Fully expect Newman to be fighting for his spot and I wouldn't be at all surprised to see him play less than half the games for the season.

That's how I see it as well. It also means we're progressing if a young player makes it. Veterans get eased out, kids lock down a spot that's how it should be.

With the Type of players we have brought to the club this year tells me both Jake King (30) & Chris Newman (32)could be onto their last years and wouldn't suprise me to be seeing them do a lap of honour at our last game at the 'G'
That'll be heartbreaking, doing a lap of honour at the Grand Final before your team plays :P

Is now officially borderline.... main reason being that he has been replaced off half back and we have better options across the middle and half-forward.

Unless he gets injured, watch for the drama when he get's "dropped"!

Right thing for the team but...

dont care either way as long as we win i dont care who plays

I think this is a good point. As we do, we debate the merits of selection which is healthy, but a lot of the times lines get crossed when difference of opinion can get heated. Just because we do argue sometimes doesn't mean we want the worst for a player but essentially it means we want the best for the tigers.

In the Newman context, I for 1 have thought for a while that for a pretty damn good player(or can be), he doesn't influence games enough for my liking. That isn't main stream thinking but that's the way I look at it. But what it does mean, if he is replaced, it means our talent levels have grown a fair way in just a few years.

I see a champion bloke, a coach in waiting, who very nearly missed his first final in front of 94,000.
But he made it, and that stupid record is dusted. Give it to the next guy.
He has been a beacon throughout what must be in the top 3 most miserable periods of our existence.
He may not be remembered as a Premiership player, but he'll be remembered.
Newy.

He got his final, its now time for him to be phased out. He had 13 games last season with mid teen possessions or less and only 2 games with more then 20. Compare that with 2012 where he had 8, but he still had had 11 games of mid teens or less including 4 under 10 (although i can't remember if he was taken off injured).

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-richmond-tigers--chris-newman?year=2013

I see a champion bloke, a coach in waiting, who very nearly missed his first final in front of 94,000.
But he made it, and that stupid record is dusted. Give it to the next guy.
He has been a beacon throughout what must be in the top 3 most miserable periods of our existence.
He may not be remembered as a Premiership player, but he'll be remembered.
Newy.
Amen Turka.

reckon your probably right however with the inevitable 3-7 injuries over the season would play him most weeks but give him a couple of breathers here and there, actually i would apply the same to king.

He got his final, its now time for him to be phased out. He had 13 games last season with mid teen possessions or less and only 2 games with more then 20. Compare that with 2012 where he had 8, but he still had had 11 games of mid teens or less including 4 under 10 (although i can't remember if he was taken off injured).

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-richmond-tigers--chris-newman?year=2013

stats like this can be crap, if newman plays on say.... enright and restricts/beats him with low possessions but snags 2 from 55 in a low scoreing tiger win..... its GOLD... STATS SMATTS... NEWIE knows hes now not in our best 18, but is for sure in our best 25 who when required can play back, forward, stopper or sub. if blokes like dea, hellbig, arnot, o'h and co force him out.. so be it.

Chris Newman is getting older and pressure will certainly be put on his position in the team. I wouldn't rule out Newman having a very good 2014 season though and leaving on his own terms. Players like Matt Dea, Jake Batchelor and Todd Elton will be in line for his position but Newman isn't going to lie down and let them overtake him. They will have to be in better form than a former Richmond captain and current Tiger veteran who has just had his first taste of Finals in 232 AFL games and will be more hungry for more.

I am saddened at the news we aren't playing finals next season. :(

stats like this can be crap, if newman plays on say.... enright and restricts/beats him with low possessions but snags 2 from 55 in a low scoreing tiger win..... its GOLD... STATS SMATTS... NEWIE knows hes now not in our best 18, but is for sure in our best 25 who when required can play back, forward, stopper or sub. if blokes like dea, hellbig, arnot, o'h and co force him out.. so be it.

I'm more using it show his influence on games is waning. And Newy has never been a great one on one defender like Enright.

Simple fact is he shouldn't of been playing much last year. Dea, Helbig (apart from Injuries) and Arnot have shown they are too good for VFL level, if Newman wasn't Newman i'd suggest they would have already forced him out but he gets a good run from the coaches.

I'm more using it show his influence on games is waning. And Newy has never been a great one on one defender like Enright.

Simple fact is he shouldn't of been playing much last year. Dea, Helbig (apart from Injuries) and Arnot have shown they are too good for VFL level, if Newman wasn't Newman i'd suggest they would have already forced him out but he gets a good run from the coaches.

CM, you shouldn't let sentiment get in the way... :footy: