Player Watch Nick (AFL MVP) Daicos

Moving away from contested marks (as important as they may be...), I was pleased to hear Fly talk about trying to do more for Nick as a collective insofar as breaking tags.

I've felt that we have left him to the wolves sometimes, with the logic being that it will open things up for others. As true as that may be, I would like our best player to get the footy as much as possible

Pretty sure Darcy Cameron took his first bounce ever this season. About as meaningful as how many contested marks a rover takes
Why the hell would we want our line breaking midfielder backing into packs just to please moron Carlton and Geelong supporters that are more insecure than Anthony Hudson at a bodybuilding competition

Since the heavy have tags started, his ruck work has really dropped off!

If he doesn't start winning more hit outs we might need to make an example of him.

;)
I’d play him one out against Xerri all game this week and if we lose because it’s stupid it’s a good learning experience for him

He clearly doesn't need to feature in this stat, he's whole game is centred around see ball, get ball, mesmerise the opposition and create an illusion that opponents might be able to tackle him 🤣🤣 and give off to set up scoring opportunities.

I, for one, am very concerned about Nick's lack of contested marks. As a stand alone stat, it may not mean much, but when you couple it with the fact that he has never produced a best selling novel, he's never produced a record in the the top ten, and the only thing he has ever produced is a load of amasing footy stats, it is definately time to worry.
C'mon Nick, lift your game mate.

Unfortunately, the opposition has already worked our midfield out, Ned is trying to get the ball to Nick, they prefer the ball in Neds hands instead of Nicks because Ned can't use the ball. So, they go to school on Nick, tag him, rough him up, try an prevent Nick at all cost from getting the ball, and that's how you limit our current midfield.

Opposition coaches want the ball in Ned's hands.
Ned's 150m territory gain doesn't hurt anybody, no opposition coach is laying awake at night trying to prevent Ned from getting the ball. Nick's 500 m territory on the other hand is lethal!

Unfortunately, the opposition has already worked our midfield out, Ned is trying to get the ball to Nick, they prefer the ball in Neds hands instead of Nicks because Ned can't use the ball. So, they go to school on Nick, tag him, rough him up, try an prevent Nick at all cost from getting the ball, and that's how you limit our current midfield.

Ned's 150m territory gain doesn't hurt anybody, no opposition coach is laying awake at night trying to prevent Ned from getting the ball. Nick's 500 m territory on the other hand is lethal!
You really need to stop the attack on Ned. It’s stupid.

Yet we're winning... 🥴 So whatever you think the oppo are doing or have worked out.. it's not working for them.

I think you're underselling Ned - his disposal is better than some people think.

3rd game in a row playing under par
Criticising a 28 disposal, 7 clearance, 4 score involvement game is ****ing ludicrous. Go outside and touch some grass or something.

WTF is going on with some on here. He's the heaviest tagged player I can remember for a long time. Still had a huge impact in the game.

Sorry Jmac, to me it looks like there are three options, ignore button, live with it or Ned learns how to kick and I won't need to comment..... Hopefully, the later!
There’s a fourth option.
You recognise the contribution Long is making to our midfield.

I, for one, am very concerned about Nick's lack of contested marks. As a stand alone stat, it may not mean much, but when you couple it with the fact that he has never produced a best selling novel, he's never produced a record in the the top ten, and the only thing he has ever produced is a load of amasing footy stats, it is definately time to worry.
C'mon Nick, lift your game mate.
Anychance you'd like to join the whipping boy thread? I am talent spotting, you fit the bill. Not that you would have much competition.

We have the privilege of watching what is growing to be one of the best AFL careers ever. Like many before, including his father, Nick is and will continue to find a way to perform regardless of injuries, jumping holding, tags, etc. Watching the attention he receives every CB I am blown away how often he comes up with the ball.

Anychance you'd like to join the whipping boy thread? I am talent spotting, you fit the bill. Not that you would have much competition.

We have the privilege of watching what is growing to be one of the best AFL careers ever. Like many before, including his father, Nick is and will continue to find a way to perform regardless of injuries, jumping holding, tags, etc. Watching the attention he receives every CB I am blown away how often he comes up with the ball.
Gabbo is playing along with the joke, read his post again in full

There’s a fourth option.
You recognise the contribution Long is making to our midfield.

The wheel turns ever so quickly in football supporter land. We have been crying out for a bull in the middle , a youthful one at that. Then they pick him to bits about what he in their eyes supposedly cant do.

Goes to show people will complain about anything if its possible

Sorry Jmac, to me it looks like there are three options, ignore button, live with it or Ned learns how to kick and I won't need to comment..... Hopefully, the later!
Is it worth the effort though? The club won't be dropping ned because of his kicking anyway. I honestly didn't even notice how supposedly bad his kicking is. I can't recall one of his kicks and then think to myself, this bloke is a terrible kick. I still reckon you're just having fun at others expense.

Player Watch Nick (AFL MVP) Daicos