List Mgmt. Nick Daicos

• Thread starter Thread starter TradeDraft

You’re in denial mate. Clubs have been tracking Nick since he was 12 and won the player of the carnival at the u13 national champs. We’re talking about a player who was standing out as an under ager in school footy in a team that contained Matt Rowell and Noah Anderson. A player who anyone who’s actually seen him is raving over him. I’m not sure what you’re trying to achieve comparing him to Ben Ken, who wasn’t even a top draft pick in a weak draft year, but he’s not even in the same galaxy as that guy.
Im pretty confident that Nick would still be regarded as a top prospect even without the Daicos name. Recruiters would have seen plenty of him while scouting Anderson and Rowell playing APS.
I think you are looking for something I am not saying. I am not comparing him to Ben ken just saying VFL form isn't a great measure like SANFL etc because kids who are not that great at AFL level like Ben Ken star at that level

Simple point is the idea that Nick is close to guarateed top 3 as many are seeing him is a bit premature. Especially this year as there may be a few kids who have come on hugely in the last 12 months we dont yet know about. The Pendles, Bonts and that type who rose up the ranks late have not been revealed if they are there.

I think you are looking for something I am not saying. I am not comparing him to Ben ken just saying VFL form isn't a great measure like SANFL etc because kids who are not that great at AFL level like Ben Ken star at that level

Simple point is the idea that Nick is close to guarateed top 3 as many are seeing him is a bit premature. Especially this year as there may be a few kids who have come on hugely in the last 12 months we dont yet know about. The Pendles, Bonts and that type who rose up the ranks late have not been revealed if they are there.

There are some outstanding prospects in this years draft and it wouldn't surprise if a few knocked Nick out of the top 5, but as you said, it is way too premature to have Nick locked in as a top 3 prospect. Not saying he won't be because he has so much going for him, but this year's draft is stacked with talent

You’re the only person in 9 years that I’ve ever heard say BK ‘starred’ at SANFL level, so I’ll have to assume you’re putting mayo on that. When he was drafted the most I heard was that he’d performed well in the SANFL. The kids who genuinely star at that sort of level are taken early on. We’re talking the likes of Scharenberg, Aish, Rankine, Rozee and Lukosious. Now Aish is no star but he’ll play 150+ games. We’ll never know how good Beth could have been. The other 3 are out and our guns.
I don’t think it’s premature at all tbh. If the club didn’t regard him in that absolute top echelon then they wouldn’t have gone all in on him in our drafting strategy last year.
That aside, the idea that you can’t get a gauge of where a kid is at by how he performs against AFL listed players, and only vs other juniors, is complete nonsense.

You’re the only person in 9 years that I’ve ever heard say BK ‘starred’ at SANFL level, so I’ll have to assume you’re putting mayo on that.

He played 15 games in the SANFL 2 years before being drafted,2010, was named Glenelgs best player twice in those 15 games. The year before he was drafted, 2011, he played less dues to groin reasons but still starred in the U18 champs. In the match against Sturt he has 26 disposals, five marks and 4 goals as a 17 year old. I would classify that as starring. See the wiki description of his 17 yo season below. Was also named in SA U18 team of the decade. Have I put mayo on it?

Junior career
Kennedy played his junior career with the Brighton Bombers before moving to the Glenelg Football Club in the South Australian National Football League (SANFL);[2] he attended Sacred Heart College.[3] He received state honours by representing South Australia in the 2010 under 16 championships and he was their leading goalkicker with ten goals from three matches.[4] He made his SANFL debut for Glenelg at seventeen years of age in the opening round match in 2011 against the Sturt Football Club at Glenelg Oval.[5] He played fifteen matches for Glenelg in his debut season, kicking twelve goals[6] and he was named Glenelg's best player in round eight and twenty-two against Sturt and Port Adelaide respectively.[7][8] He was named as the round eight Star Search nominee, which "recognises the talented youngsters making their mark in league ranks", where he recorded twenty-six disposals, five marks and four goals.[9] He received mid-year state honours through selection for South Australia in the 2011 AFL Under 18 Championships as a bottom-aged player[10] and his performances in the championships saw him rewarded with being named in the All-Australian team in the forward pocket.[11]

Throughout 2011, speculation arose as to whether Kennedy would be one of the two players selected in the 2011 mini-draft with the Adelaide Football Club and Port Adelaide Football Club potentially bidding for him.[3] Then Port Adelaide football operations manager, Peter Rohde praised his skills by indicating "there is no doubt he will be a good AFL player...he's an outstanding kick and clever around goal, and clearly we have an interest in him."[3] AFL national talent manager, Kevin Sheehan noted he is a "powerful small forward with a penetrating left foot. He is a goal kicker with pace and ability to compete well in the air for his size."[12] He ultimately was not bid on for the 2011 mini-draft after the concession requested by Greater Western Sydney was too high.[13] He received a scholarship within the prestigious AIS-AFL Academy with their level two, thirty-one man squad for 2012.[14]

He can be a game breaker – with three or four really good possessions he can hurt the opposition pretty quickly. He's got a pretty good engine and if given the opportunity in the midfield he can get high numbers.
Ken Applegarth, Glenelg football manager[15]
[20]

I don’t think it’s premature at all tbh. If the club didn’t regard him in that absolute top echelon then they wouldn’t have gone all in on him in our drafting strategy last year.
That aside, the idea that you can’t get a gauge of where a kid is at by how he performs against AFL listed players, and only vs other juniors, is complete nonsense.
Premature in the sense that the information that has the strongest say in draft position is U18 form and particularly form in the U18 championships. Nick has yet to play against virtually all the kids he is going to be compared against in the top 10 of 2021 draft. You can say it's virtually called already but to me that's premature until that information is known.

Thats no knock on Nick who at this stage trends to be fanstastic, its just wanting to see the full picture

What about Logan McDonald last year with being the Leading Goal Kicker in the WAfL at 18

He played 15 games in the SANFL 2 years before being drafted,2010, was named Glenelgs best player twice in those 15 games. The year before he was drafted, 2011, he played less dues to groin reasons but still starred in the U18 champs. In the match against Sturt he has 26 disposals, five marks and 4 goals as a 17 year old. I would classify that as starring. See the wiki description of his 17 yo season below. Was also named in SA U18 team of the decade. Have I put mayo on it?

Junior career
Kennedy played his junior career with the Brighton Bombers before moving to the Glenelg Football Club in the South Australian National Football League (SANFL);[2] he attended Sacred Heart College.[3] He received state honours by representing South Australia in the 2010 under 16 championships and he was their leading goalkicker with ten goals from three matches.[4] He made his SANFL debut for Glenelg at seventeen years of age in the opening round match in 2011 against the Sturt Football Club at Glenelg Oval.[5] He played fifteen matches for Glenelg in his debut season, kicking twelve goals[6] and he was named Glenelg's best player in round eight and twenty-two against Sturt and Port Adelaide respectively.[7][8] He was named as the round eight Star Search nominee, which "recognises the talented youngsters making their mark in league ranks", where he recorded twenty-six disposals, five marks and four goals.[9] He received mid-year state honours through selection for South Australia in the 2011 AFL Under 18 Championships as a bottom-aged player[10] and his performances in the championships saw him rewarded with being named in the All-Australian team in the forward pocket.[11]

Throughout 2011, speculation arose as to whether Kennedy would be one of the two players selected in the 2011 mini-draft with the Adelaide Football Club and Port Adelaide Football Club potentially bidding for him.[3] Then Port Adelaide football operations manager, Peter Rohde praised his skills by indicating "there is no doubt he will be a good AFL player...he's an outstanding kick and clever around goal, and clearly we have an interest in him."[3] AFL national talent manager, Kevin Sheehan noted he is a "powerful small forward with a penetrating left foot. He is a goal kicker with pace and ability to compete well in the air for his size."[12] He ultimately was not bid on for the 2011 mini-draft after the concession requested by Greater Western Sydney was too high.[13] He received a scholarship within the prestigious AIS-AFL Academy with their level two, thirty-one man squad for 2012.[14]

He can be a game breaker – with three or four really good possessions he can hurt the opposition pretty quickly. He's got a pretty good engine and if given the opportunity in the midfield he can get high numbers.
Ken Applegarth, Glenelg football manager[15]
[20]
I feel like I’m drowning in mayo

I think you are drowning but its not in mayo.

Dont say thats not an impressive bio for a 17 yo in his underage U18 year.

I think you are drowning but its not in mayo.

Dont say thats not an impressive bio for a 17 yo in his underage U18 year.
You could bring up similar bio’s for a number of middle of the road picks. Fact is that if he’d been a genuine star at SANFL level then he would have been a top 10 pick, not a pick that under normal circumstances, would have been in the second round. A Wikipedia entry and some quotes from guys who are paid to talk up their AFL prospects doesn’t change that.

What stopped him going top 10 was he was undersized and clubs dont like spending top 10 picks on short people, based on output alone he shouldve gone top 10.

True if he had had as good a year as he did at 17 when he was 18 and in his draft year he would have gone higher. He was projecting higher as a 17 yo than what he went as an 18 yo which is kinda my point.

Must say if you can find a few bio's of kids that played 15 games in the SANFL as a 17 yo like he did I would be interested to see them. If Nick has a VFL game this year where he gets 26 possies and kicks 4 will we say that's not starring?

Ok so don’t get angry but what if Carlscum end up on the bottom of the ladder and have 1st draft pick? For a kid to play at the team he barracks for or go fs. I know it’s not something we want to do but we need the scum to win a few games this year.

It’s been covered off so apologies for going over it, but he’s already at the club. Played and trained with the group. Built relationships with players and coaches. Players from a young age quickly shift from supporters to casual observers once they become draft relevant. The chance of him going to Carlton if they finished last is actually zero. The broader question is whether he’s the best talent in the draft?

You could bring up similar bio’s for a number of middle of the road picks. Fact is that if he’d been a genuine star at SANFL level then he would have been a top 10 pick.
Most think he would have been if they drafted them at 17. He didn't show progress and slipped considerably in his final year. For some reason his development stopped in its tracks. Gibbs is the only one who genuinely starred in the SANFL before the draft. Kennedys pre-draft SANFL footy was up there with everyone else you listed.

Not really relevant yet, as Daics is yet to play VFL.

The jungle drums are definitely suggesting that Daics will go very very early, but school boy footy and one preseason practice game in the VFL is too early to ink it.

If Nick goes at pick one then it will consume most of the points of Collingwood's draft picks and require Collingwood to delist at least to 5 players due to the new AFL rules regarding the use of multiple draft picks.

They could trade a player off to boost one of those lower picks to gain extra points.

If Nick goes at pick one then it will consume most of the points of Collingwood's draft picks and require Collingwood to delist at least to 5 players due to the new AFL rules regarding the use of multiple draft picks.

They could trade a player off to boost one of those lower picks to gain extra points.
Eh?

I'm pretty sure they're talking about the rule that you can only take draft picks into the draft that you have a list spot for. So if we need to use 5 draft picks to match a bid we'd need to have 5 list spots available. Which isn't even that many given you are required to turnover 3 players every year under AFL rules and teams usually don't have a full list of senior players anyway (preferring to have flexibility going into the rookie draft and the summer supplementation player period)

Its not something to be worried about given every year there are at least 1-2 retirements, 3-4 obvious delistings, 1-3 players requesting trades. And if you're desperate you can move someone onto the rookie list.

I'm pretty sure they're talking about the rule that you can only take draft picks into the draft that you have a list spot for. So if we need to use 5 draft picks to match a bid we'd need to have 5 list spots available. Which isn't even that many given you are required to turnover 3 players every year under AFL rules and teams usually don't have a full list of senior players anyway (preferring to have flexibility going into the rookie draft and the summer supplementation player period)

Its not something to be worried about given every year there are at least 1-2 retirements, 3-4 obvious delistings, 1-3 players requesting trades. And if you're desperate you can move someone onto the rookie list.
Ah. Well given that we have 2 free list spots already, and Mayne + Greenwood are likely to retire, I’m sure it won’t be an issue.

Just curious, would Nick be the only player in this draft, who missed a season of footy last year but gained time training with an AFL club? Or better question, are there any players with a similar leg up?

Probably. Or at least there wouldn't be very many. Maybe just the other NGA/FS prospects.

Yeah that's sort of what I was thinking but haven't heard of any specifically. Which of the other states played footy last year? Probably none, right?

WA and SA both had footy, as did tassie.

WA, QLD, SA, Tassie. NSW played a little then stopped. Pretty much everywhere but Vic.

Don`t concern yourself with that , 5 players will be de~listed at seasons end....Lynch, Mayne, C Brown, Greenwood, Thomas,will be off the books, welcome too Collingwood Nick

They all should be delisted but I reckon Callum and Thomas will remain, unless we get a new coach or something