- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
- Other Teams
- Boston Celtics, Liverpool
Nick Daicos = Goku?It's not a wrap, it's a 20kg weight to give the other kids a chance...

Yeah how good would it have been to use it to match a bid on Daicos? A player we are getting anyway.
I dunno man, I mean, he can accumulate, and he can kick, and he kicks goals, but does he have Cal’s ability to, ummm..........
What were we talking about again?
Both are neck and neck, the champs might help seperate them if they can be separatedOut of interest edps why do they have Horne above Daicos on the phantoms atm (which from what I have read is at odds with actual recruiters thoughts who many have Daicos at 1)?
Both are neck and neck, the champs might help seperate them if they can be separated
Seasons not over yet mate. North may not finish bottom.Even IF they are Close I reckon N Daicos will get a Bid at Pick 1 as North will know we will match it
If we didn’t trade out our 1st Round pick & eventually finish bottom, we could have had Horne & Daicos in this years draft.Seasons not over yet mate. North may not finish bottom.
We're not finishing bottom. We have too much pride to bottom out, and our experience players wont let that happen.If we didn’t trade out our 1st Round pick & eventually finish bottom, we could have had Horne & Daicos in this years draft.
And what about if we finished in the 8 which is probably what they were expecting?The point of keeping it and waiting to trade this year is knowing what the pick is. It didn’t HAVE to be traded last year,
If we end up with pick 5 we could get two 1st rd picks, a mid 2021 pick to cover the Daicos points and a 2022 1st.
So two first rd picks instead of the magic beans we got last year with two 2nd rd picks.
Based on skill alone he certainly is and if we pick up Daicos and Dib next year I will be more than satisfied, you are right about Dib TD he is starting to look promising.He is better then some of our AFL Players now
I’m thinking it’s a waste of time him playing at this level. Needs to be playing in our VFL team.
He’s taking the piss.
Imagine having the second pick in the draft just gone
I can guarantee you that in trade and draft period every club would have valued North's future higher than any other future first. Its a futures market where you would be mad to not factor in likely future ladder position.The concept of “ we shouldn’t trade next years pick because we are going to be sh*t next year and will be guaranteed to finish bottom four and we can get better value if we trade it at the end of the season” is a terribly flawed and negative way of looking at things.
I can guarantee you that in trade and draft period every club would have valued North's future higher than any other future first. Its a futures market where you would be mad to not factor in likely future ladder position.
Still a guestimate. Sure North finishing 17th and not looking to have a list to bounce back to finals anytime soon is a safer guess than a team that finished in the 8, but still just a guess.
I can guarantee you that in trade and draft period every club would have valued North's future higher than any other future first. Its a futures market where you would be mad to not factor in likely future ladder position.
The entire draft is guesstimates. If we're not willing to make guesstimates, we really should give up on recruiting.
It is, but guesstimating about what will transpire 12 months from now is far riskier than guesstimating this year with all the available evidence in front of you.
I meant picking players based on a projection of what they'll offer over the decade is the biggest guesstimate of all. And those guesstimates are what underpins the value of a particular draft pick. Successful guesstimating plays a big factor in a club's success or failure. We can't shy away from guesstimation - including future ladder positions - we have to strive to get as good at it as we can.
I understood what you were saying but the players we drafted last year were also all taken on projection. Even though they missed a lot of footy in 2020, they're still a less risky option than god knows what will be available this year.
Not necessarily. Risk is sometimes a thing to embrace. What you’re proposing is the counter to your previous position on trading out our first round pick; that it was taking $1.10 on an even money chance.If you take that attitude, you'd never have a first round pick as you'd always trade them out.
Not necessarily. Risk is sometimes a thing to embrace. What you’re proposing is the counter to your previous position on trading out our first round pick; that it was taking $1.10 on an even money chance.
If you take that attitude, you'd never have a first round pick as you'd always trade them out.
I don't think risk is the right term. I think opportunity is the right term. I was interpreting Jackcass as suggesting that it was a good thing that we traded out because the future opportunity is unknown and needs to be guessed at, whilst the current opportunity is known.
My position hasn't changed, I think we minimised our opportunity and if we had have held on to pick we would have had better opportunities. The only way that it was a good trade would be if 2020 was a much stronger draft than the next 2. However, other clubs were fleeing that draft.
But hopefully it worked - Poulter and McMahon succeed, and we can cheaply find extra points for Daicos.