Nick Davis..

• Thread starter Thread starter Syd

It was either trade him at his request or be like Port and lose a player and gain nothing, in the end I don't think we gained anything. I would of loved him to have stayed at Collingwood, but sadly he didn't. That's life, no use bringing up the past.

How much does it hurt to watch a former collingwood player tear it up like that..

CarnthePies said:
N Davis was never any good here anyway...

Yes he was. He was a gun at Collingwood and was always going to get better. We gave him away cheap but thems the breaks. He only wanted to go to one club so we had no negotiating power. Something is better than nothing.

The fact we wasted another draft pick (Bo Nixon) is irrrelevant.

I always liked Nick Davis, one of my favorite players. I'll always remeber the times (and there were several) where he walked the boundary line 90 min before a gmae chatting to people and signing autographs for half an hour. His skills were always sublime, was always a great kick, just couldnt put it together all the time (no-one can anyway) I was very sorry to see him go...and even though he is now with the enemy, its nice to see him do well. As long as he doesnt do that against us in a final in the future :o

We got Pebbles Rocca pretty cheap and he's taken us within a couple of goals as a flag (Davis won't).

Swings and roundabouts.

The Swanettes will lose hard this week, so Boofta will disappear into obscurity again.

We still shouldn't have let him go so easily.... We should have played hard ball and let him go to the PSD. I am sure another team like Carlton would have taken him before Sydney's turn.

Nick Davis

A Favourite, and despite what team he plays for now days, he still is a favourite of mine. Congrats on a great match last night. If only he was still playing in Black and White!!!!

FIGJAM said:
We got Pebbles Rocca pretty cheap and he's taken us within a couple of goals as a flag (Davis won't).

We gave up four players for him.

Mark Orchard, Ben Wilson a first rounder (Brett O'Farrell) and a second rounder (Will Sangster).

Like it matters if they all turned out ********, that's four players.

We got one dud for Davis.

Enjoy him sydney good luck.. But you guys play the worst brand of football i have ever seen, slow, boring and just plain weak.. how about playing some decent footy next week.

Jimbeam said:
Enjoy him sydney good luck.. But you guys play the worst brand of football i have ever seen, slow, boring and just plain weak.. how about playing some decent footy next week.

FFS, What is with the lack of football knowledge from our new Collingwood members. It's good to have more of a supporter base on bigfooty, but argghh.

You called there footy slow and boring - strongly agree

Plain weak - strongly disagree

If Sydney play weak footy week in week out, Collingwood will win the flag this year!!!

remind me how many seasons he's been there in Sydney now?

1 great games in about 60 odd doesn't say much for consistency.

this time last year Roos was shopping him around and nobody wanted him coz he is a basketcase.

Enjoy your win as this was your grandfinal as of next week you're run will be over.

do the numbers 1-9-3-3 mean anything?

Bucks5 said:
We still shouldn't have let him go so easily.... We should have played hard ball and let him go to the PSD. I am sure another team like Carlton would have taken him before Sydney's turn.

good call

If you thought he was worth more then pick 21, say pick a top 8 pick, you should have demanded it from Sydney or said "fu<k yas, he can try his luck in the PSD", exactly like Port did with Stevens.

You might have lost him for nothing, but there is always the chance Sydney would have buckled and given you more. If not, you make a stand as a club like Port did, which helps you in the future.

Lonie_from_50 said:
FFS, What is with the lack of football knowledge from our new Collingwood members. It's good to have more of a supporter base on bigfooty, but argghh.

You called there footy slow and boring - strongly agree

Plain weak - strongly disagree

If Sydney play weak footy week in week out, Collingwood will win the flag this year!!!

it was a weak effort, soft whatever 100 points in a game off football is WEAK.. you know weak :D .. blah blah get of your horse..

Lajon said:
You might have lost him for nothing, but there is always the chance Sydney would have buckled and given you more. If not, you make a stand as a club like Port did, which helps you in the future.

Ports stand did them no good at all. They still lost Carr the next season, and got a pittance for him. You take what you can at trade time and do your best with your side of the deal.

Lajon said:
good call

If you thought he was worth more then pick 21, say pick a top 8 pick, you should have demanded it from Sydney or said "fu<k yas, he can try his luck in the PSD", exactly like Port did with Stevens.

The deal went through 5 minutes before the dead line.
South Melbourne were not going to buckle

Michael Moore said:
remind me how many seasons he's been there in Sydney now?

1 great games in about 60 odd doesn't say much for consistency.
?

get a clue mate, he's practically been their best for the last month straight and kicked a heap of goals. been injured a lot up untill now so thats why he has failed to blossom at the swans.

was a favourite of mine in his pies days, i was shattered to see him go, was barracking for the swans last night just because of him.

pocketrocket#24 said:
was a favourite of mine in his pies days, i was shattered to see him go, was barracking for the swans last night just because of him.

Exactly how I was feeling...been saying to my mrs for the last couple of months, look at that freak go, he's a sensation, jeez I wish we still had the guy. I cant wish failure upon him, dont care if the parting with the pies was acrimonious or not. When we let Sav go, I was devastated as he was and had been a favorite for years. Do I hate Collingwood for it? of course not. when North play, I barrack for him like crazy.

rychenroller said:
Exactly how I was feeling...been saying to my mrs for the last couple of months, look at that freak go, he's a sensation, jeez I wish we still had the guy. I cant wish failure upon him, dont care if the parting with the pies was acrimonious or not. When we let Sav go, I was devastated as he was and had been a favorite for years. Do I hate Collingwood for it? of course not. when North play, I barrack for him like crazy.

this is typical of the culture of some of our so-called supporters and why we'll go nowhere as long as we don't have a ruthless, mongrel attitude.

why don't some of you just go out and buy Swans, North and other jumpers and put Davis, Rocca, etc. on the back and support them.

fair dinkum, seems he's not the only basket case if this is what some are advocating here........ :thumbsd:

pocketrocket#24 said:
get a clue mate, he's practically been their best for the last month straight and kicked a heap of goals. been injured a lot up untill now so thats why he has failed to blossom at the swans.

bet you were cheering him off after the end of the 2002 GF when he did SFA?

he stitched the Pies up and clowns like you still respect him and treat him like a demi-god.

making excuse for him now l see, you sound more like his manager that a Pies fan?

Michael Moore said:
this is typical of the culture of some of our so-called supporters and why we'll go nowhere as long as we don't have a ruthless, mongrel attitude.

why don't some of you just go out and buy Swans, North and other jumpers and put Davis, Rocca, etc. on the back and support them.

fair dinkum, seems he's not the only basket case if this is what some are advocating here........ :thumbsd:

why dont you ******** off and hate somewhere else? I'll like who I like, I love footy in general and I have players I like and who I dont like. I go to the footy, I barrack and support my team...dont need some village idiot like you offering a worthless opinion to me.

Who are you to question culture issues with a post like this hater? you'd hold a grudge against a guy like Sav who we delisted? Davis obviously had some personal issues and wanted to play somewhere else. Bucks was traded to us after 1 year under the pretense of some half ass excuse? Tunnel vision? you got it in spades dude