Nick Maxwell, respect

RRRooocccaaa

On Footy Classified tonight, he's had a few beauties quote-wise.

"If you're not part of Collingwood, your opinion doesn't matter to me" - in response to Hutchie and his leadership role at Collingwood.

There were a few more but my slightly sleep-addled brain can't remember them word-for-word. But he gave Caro a veiled serve about Harry O's father's passing (i.e. don't f**cking report it when Harry himself hadn't had the chance to let his team-mates know)... about the MRP (not doing anything that wasn't covered by the rules) and essentially telling Caro to F**k off about being 'too aggressive' for his captainship.

My estimation of him as a captain has risen enormously. Keep defying them Nick. Be true to yerself and yer teammates will follow :thumbsu:

How good was he, anyone who doubts whether we chose the right captain, watch that interview.

He was tough, honest, forthright and stood up for the whole Club, from President to supporters, in the way we want a captain to.

Gratz Maxy, great effort, and we made the right choice.:D

You could see he was pretty riled, too, with the neck-rash. I must imagine it was all he could do to not lean over the bench and remove Hutchy's teeth with one swift movement.

Was very impressed.

I already knew he was quite an accomplished speaker but i thought he was terrific again tonight. Totally agree with his thoughts on the umpires and the certain media articles (Harry O, James Clement and co)

Yup was waiting for somebody to start this thread..

I was part of the few who backed him from the beginning and tonight he showed the entire AFL community why he was chosen as Captain and Im sure everybody would agree that he presented himself perfectly..

Correct choice for captain, his presence and leadership is evident everywhere. He spoke with confidence and passion which are critical characteristics when appointing a captain.

Definitely in our best 22..

All the best for the rest of the season :thumbsu:

You are a Champ

Very self assured and well spoken my respect level has definately gone up for him as our Captain, seems almost in the Buckley mould as far as focus goes.
However some still see his playing ability as an issue, i beleive he is in our best 22 at the moment and so long as the playing group follow Nicks approach to football on and off the ground then i reckon we are in good shape for the future.

He was excellent. Aside from his forthright responses, I especially enjoyed it when Caro spoke directly over Hutchy as he was asking Maxy a question. Nick did a sort of confused double take between the two of them, as if to say: "Who do you want me to listen to?".

Embarassed, Caro actually apologised.

Very self assured and well spoken my respect level has definately gone up for him as our Captain, seems almost in the Buckley mould as far as focus goes.
However some still see his playing ability as an issue, i beleive he is in our best 22 at the moment and so long as the playing group follow Nicks approach to football on and off the ground then i reckon we are in good shape for the future.

You know what, I reckon if he gets the fellas 'up' on game day then his football ability is secondary - 18 players become 19 just because he garners respect.

He was excellent. Aside from his forthright responses, I especially enjoyed it when Caro spoke directly over Hutchy as he was asking Maxy a question. Nick did a sort of confused double take between the two of them, as if to say: "Who do you want me to listen to?".

Embarassed, Caro actually apologised.

**** i hate caro, i hope he owned her

Living in Newcastle we dont get footy classified up here. Anyone tape it??? Would kill for a copy. Is there a link anywhere to view it.

Well done Maxy

Dont worry, it will be on youtube soon, and DTM will then post it here, no doubt.

You know what, I reckon if he gets the fellas 'up' on game day then his football ability is secondary - 18 players become 19 just because he garners respect.
Ease up mate, make no mistake football ability is never secondary, ever.
Maxy still has to more than contribute on the ground captain or not, I sill think hes in our best as i stated before and i do rate him but players dont grow an exta leg for the captain, individual respect and responsibilty for your own actions in a game should be what drives every player in the team.

Definitely impressed me. Spoke very well and was more interesting than most.

Yer right Mr Blues.

Tom Harley was on 'One week at a time' tonight and was as bland as a cheese sauce.

Maxy, however, took a media battering and still came out on top. He seems a little unfettered by 'media speak' and is more ready to translate back to 'real' english (i.e. non-bullshit). There's a distinct lack of it in the media these days, and - to be honest - I'd rather Maxy was on the Footy Show than Daisy because he provides a much better representation of our great club.

Ease up mate, make no mistake football ability is never secondary, ever.
Maxy still has to more than contribute on the ground captain or not, I sill think hes in our best as i stated before and i do rate him but players dont grow an exta leg for the captain, individual respect and responsibilty for your own actions in a game should be what drives every player in the team.

True, but I reckon the players don't grow an extra leg for him - he makes them grow an extra leg for the club. Which, in the end, is much more important.