Nick Stevens Considers Future

REALLY hope this is a rumour - I still have him in our best 22 even with McLean in the team. He is still too good to simply delist, not sure who would be interested though. Essendon perhaps as they are short a sikly outside midfielder, also possibly Brisbane and Sydney.

I just heard on SEN that he will be told tommorow that his services next won't be required next year at Carlton ..

That's a pretty shitty way to treat a loyal club servant and good player for the club over several years IMHO, but still I can sorta understand the logic after getting Mclean, but geez, I just am going to throw up at all the vultures here who will celebrate Stevo's demise ..

Thank you for everything Stevo, and I do hope you can find another club next year and if not, good luck with ur landscaping business (which is thriving)

I'll miss the no.24 I have to admit.

You just dont get it do you CP?? The only thing he has been loyal at is taking our money... He's never given us close to 100%... Ever..

who the hell wants a player that doesn't tackle and doesn't spoil anything overhead.
I am glad McLean will be here to replace Stevens position.

You just dont get it do you CP?? The only thing he has been loyal at is taking our money... He's never given us close to 100%... Ever..

He missed his brother's wedding to go and play in a night series Grand Final ...

That's a pretty piss poor comment IMHO, for a few years, him and Fev were the only shining lights in a very bleak era for the Carlton footy club.

You have no right to accuse him of not putting in 100 percent for the club, sure he wasn't the player he was in the past couple of years, but he gave the club great service ..

He missed his brother's wedding to go and play in a night series Grand Final ...

That's a pretty piss poor comment IMHO, for a few years, him and Fev were the only shining lights in a very bleak era for the Carlton footy club.

You have no right to accuse him of not putting in 100 percent for the club, sure he wasn't the player he was in the past couple of years, but he gave the club great service ..

No, he gave his local bar great service and the local maccas.. But not once did he bother to turn up to pre season training in any reasonable form.. He loved to party too much.. He said so himself.... He missed his brothers wedding because Collo made him.. If he had the choice he would have been at the wedding p1ssing it up..

Can anyone actually confirm this? I'm pretty sure he is contracted until the end of 2010.

No, he gave his local bar great service and the local maccas.. But not once did he bother to turn up to pre season training in any reasonable form.. He loved to party too much.. He said so himself.... He missed his brothers wedding because Collo made him.. If he had the choice he would have been at the wedding p1ssing it up..

What do you think of Fevola, Scotland, Houlihan and the several other players who like a drink as well ???

You are very harsh and very unfair on a bloke who's had a pretty severe and crippling neck injury in the past two season.

Also if he was just so concerned about himself and money, how come he and his partner have an 'special needs' child they visit and take out for outings a couple of times a month (and he didn't want that to come out in the press either)

You are very much underselling the character and person that is Nick Stevens.
It's naive and total bullshit to expect all players to be as professional and dedicated as Chris Judd ..

Give the bloke a break and acknowledge he played many great games for the club.

Can anyone actually confirm this? I'm pretty sure he is contracted until the end of 2010.

If he is injured and unable to play (forced retirement) his contract is irrelevant. He will still get paid, but this will be outside of the salary cap. Good news for us, frees up some considerable cap space some of which would have gone McLean's way.

What do you think of Fevola, Scotland, Houlihan and the several other players who like a drink as well ???

You are very harsh and very unfair on a bloke who's had a pretty severe and crippling neck injury in the past two season.

Also if he was just so concerned about himself and money, how come he and his partner have an 'special needs' child they visit and take out for outings a couple of times a month (and he didn't want that to come out in the press either)

You are very much underselling the character and person that is Nick Stevens.
It's naive and total bullshit to expect all players to be as professional and dedicated as Chris Judd ..

Give the bloke a break and acknowledge he played many great games for the club.

I will be very very happy if he has played his last game for the Carlton football Club..

Give him a break will 'ya.

Played over 100 games for Carlton,
runner up in the b&f twice,
played the last 3 seasons under duress.
and racked up 25 touches every week.

If he is injured and unable to play (forced retirement) his contract is irrelevant. He will still get paid, but this will be outside of the salary cap. Good news for us, frees up some considerable cap space some of which would have gone McLean's way.

Thats just silly then, if we don't want him and he is still contracted why wouldn't we shop him around and try and get something for him rather than get nothing and pay him out? Even if we can't get rid of him hes no superstar but he could be a handy depth player. Sometimes I think monkeys are running the CFC.

Thanks for the years of service Stevens but the game has gone past you and i am glad the club took this stance going forward. It may be harsh and he has been good in the past but that is exactly what it is "THE PAST".

Hopefully we get a trade for him or an upgraded draft choice. :thumbsu:

For anyone saying the game has gone past Stevens, take a look at our game vs the Kangaroos and his first quarter against Adelaide where he single handedly dominated before getting a big knock (which I think may have contributed to this decision if this indeed is true).

I will be shattered if he's gone. I hope like hell this is just some rumour. Otherwise it is a big loss for the club (regardless of some of the issues he's had over the year)

For anyone saying the game has gone past Stevens, take a look at our game vs the Kangaroos and his first quarter against Adelaide where he single handedly dominated before getting a big knock (which I think may have contributed to this decision if this indeed is true).

I will be shattered if he's gone. I hope like hell this is just some rumour. Otherwise it is a big loss for the club (regardless of some of the issues he's had over the year)

His 3rd term in the final was SPECIAL. EASILY STILL IN OUR BEST 10 PLAYERS.. MASSIVE LOSS.

I RECKON THIS RUMOUR IS CRAP

People just don't realise just how good Stevens was before he injured his neck, he was one of the best players in the league. We saw glimpses of how good he is in his return. I really hope the rumour is not right and that he gets really fit and plays next year.

You would have to think
Not on here...

Some people don't realise that Stevens will leave because his neck is shot.

The hit against Adelaide probably finished his career and made it worse.

Great to see Stevens get the chance to play in a final for Carlton with such an injury. :thumbsu:

I hope Stevens uses the proceeds from the sale of his million dollar home and the payout wisely.

Jamie007 might be filling up Stevens' car some time next week...