Night GF

Insert Token EPL Club
Think Vlad has always claimed over his dead body. Tempting. How would it impact on your big day if say we were playing off?

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24583476-661,00.html

Channel 10 fights for night AFL Grand Final

Article from:

Michael Warner
November 01, 2008 12:00am

CHANNEL 10 has ramped up its push for next year's AFL Grand Final to be played under lights.
Network bosses yesterday confirmed plans to push the AFL for a twilight premiership.
"I'd like to see a 5.30pm bounce," said Ten's general manager of sport David White.
"They (the AFL) know we're very keen on a twilight Grand Final."
Mr White said he preferred a 7.30pm start but believed the AFL was open to a twilight spectacle.
An AFL spokesman said the league remained committed to a day Grand Final.
But AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou has previously flagged a twilight start.
The Grand Final has never started after 2.55pm, and this year returned to its traditional 2.30pm start.
A move to a 5.30pm start is tipped to boost the national TV audience by up to 20 per cent.
Other sports, including the Australian Open men's tennis final and the NRL grand final, have become night events in recent years.

Leave it where it is and stop messing with traditions. Australian Open is an unfair comparison, it's in the middle of summer.

Saturday arvo at 2.30 - leave it there as its the best time for families and kids to watch it.

My mate Juddy doesnt like night games either (well not quite my mate but I spoke to him at a corporate function and he said he doesnt like night games) - just on that alone it should never be a night game now that the Messiah has spoken :D

Looking at the AFL GF and NRL GF and you'll see what's clearly the greater spectacle. Sure the NRL was a twiglight and if this proposal went through it would be start to finish at night yet it just did not look good.

It's special and it looks ****ing magnificent when played in the arvo.

A move to a 5.30pm start is tipped to boost the national TV audience by up to 20 per cent.
Other sports, including the Australian Open men's tennis final and the NRL grand final, have become night events in recent years.

F*ck Ten and their agenda.

AFL has always been about the attendance, not the TV audience.

The 2008 AFL Grand Final was THE highest attended domestic club championship event in the world by a huge margin with 100,012 in attendance. The next 10 were in the 79k-89k range.

Comparisons to NRL and Australian Open are irrelevant because they are not the world leaders and as such they need to look for ways to catch up.

I'm not naively suggesting that television and its audience are not now very valuable commodities of our game (it is the commercial reality of every sport in every country in this day and age), but let's not get too caught up in the board room negotiations and lose sight of what our game is really about: the very same thing that makes our game the greatest game in the world!

Looking at the AFL GF and NRL GF and you'll see what's clearly the greater spectacle. Sure the NRL was a twiglight and if this proposal went through it would be start to finish at night yet it just did not look good.

It's special and it looks ****ing magnificent when played in the arvo.

Does the AFL think that fireworks will become a decent substitute for their crappy pre-game entertainment?? This will solve all (plus the mega bucks from teh next TV rights from this??)

When are people gonna admit the impact of ooh ahh fireworks lasts about a minute? Passe, over-rated and environmentally and financially hideous.

Exactly and scares the bejesus out of my poor little pussy.

Shithouse decision.

Letting people have a whol;e day to get tanked before the game would be disastrous.

As would having that many people spill out into the night time crowds in the city.

The only reason i'd keep it during the day is so i can get drunk while watching it. Not try and watch it when i'm already *******. That and have a BBQ and then watch it soon after. Usually nice weather after long cold months, great day for drinking cans and watching the last footy game of the year.

Leave it where it is. I'm a traditionalist, and like the afternoon game. Aside from ratings, why would Ten want to move it anyway. If something's not broke, then don't fix it.

You might wanna practise what you preach, KB.

How can you ask "aside from the ratings" regarding a TV station. Its ALL about the ratings.

That and the ad revenue that a twilight game would bring in for the **********s...

Push it back to prime time television broadcasting and wow the bucks would roll in...

And the AFL would get 15% of it at the most...

How can you ask "aside from the ratings" regarding a TV station. Its ALL about the ratings.

But the ratings are already massive for the broadcaster. How that would increase if you had a night final kinda just escapes me right now.