Nightclub Violence

• Thread starter Thread starter moses

I have. About 20 years ago a mate of mine and I were followed out of a club in Canberra by 4-5 guys who stopped us and started talking, then they started belting my mate. I felt no choice but to jump in, and ended up in the middle of the road getting kicked in the head until some bouncers chased them away.

My mate had is jaw fractured and was severely fkd up by it all, I couldn't be in a crowded place for a couple of years.

Don't know why it happened, but these guys were clearly out looking for trouble - at least one of them had a pair of knuckle dusters.

I can't help but feel that the change in the sorts of drinks people are drinking has something to do with this. Some people always seem to want a punch on when pissed, but I do wonder whether some of these high energy drinks, shooters and the like have something to with the increased violence.

Add in crystal meth and you have a potentially nasty cocktail

Yep, back in the day you might have a dab or two of speed or maybe some coke if you were really lucky, nowdays with the ease of availability of that horror show, it's a whole new ballgame.

Never been a victim myself, but saw someone get belted over the head with a stubby at Prince seven years ago.

I believe that incident prompted them to phase out all glass.

Never been myself either, but saw a woman kick and punch and throw a chair at a man in the beer garden area of a pub, smash the window of the nearby glass door. Poor man was bleeding significantly in the head. The woman was permanently banned from the establishment, she was pissed and obnoxiuous all night looking for trouble, for example she was snatching microphones off people who were participating in the karaoke earlier and yelling expletives.

Probably one of the main reasons I rarely go out in the city anymore. Never been a victim because I tend to try and avoid trouble but you just never know what could happen. Alcohol and other drugs make people irrational and it only takes one punch to kill. Having a job that involves having a duty of care to those in the CBD on a friday/saturday night (bouncer, paramedic etc.) would be seriously tough.

Personally I don't think it's nearly as bad as people think it is

When I was going to a kings st night club nearly every weekend I can't really ever seeing any major issues

I walked down King st a lot of the time at 3-4am past all the dodgy places and never encountered trouble

Most people are of the 'don't let a fight ruin a night' mantra but every now and again when people are pushing past each other and stepping on toes something will erupt

It exists certainly, but it's not a war zone out there or anything like today tonight want you to believe

Exactly.

Mix alcohol, men and women and there'll be a small amount of violence. Has been for centuries and is a fact of life.

Only difference is now the media is reporting it every time some poor bloke gets beaten up which has led to the current climate of fear.

You're taking a risk every time you go out, but it's a very very small one.

Have been a victim and a perpetrator on multiple occasions. Then I ended up in court, it really isn't worth it.

Yep, back in the day you might have a dab or two of speed or maybe some coke if you were really lucky, nowdays with the ease of availability of that horror show, it's a whole new ballgame.

This will sound weird, but I think it gets bad wrap.

I've spent many, many evenings with plenty of people under its influence, and I see no more trouble or violence than otherwise.

There's obviously the horror stories that the media and the government love to highlight, but that's no different to any substance, including the biggest problem, alcohol.

I think it's just the latest flavour of the week for society to blame its ills on.

The reality IMO is that whatever else adds to the fire round the edges, the base problem is the same: lack of respect for the fellow human being. This has been declining for generations and it's just continuing: the world is increasingly dog eat dog and people are raised to look after number 1. It's a vicious cycle.

Still, as glib as it sounds, other countries have far bigger problems.

I don't know what it's like now but back in the day from mid 80s to early to mid 90s it was horrific in Geelong, it doesn't seem to have changed much these days. It may be a bit nastier now due to drugs.

I saw glassings, bashings, a stabbing, I saw one poor bugger get hit by a car on the highway as he fled a posse. I saw three off duty coppers come down from Werribee for a night out, get full of piss and bad manners and then try to walk away by flashing freddy. They all copped an absolute caning. I witnessed a team mate of mine one night have a fight in the carpark of a night club, there was a huge crowd watching. My team mate beat the other bloke to the ground and then proceeded to slam the blokes head repeatedly onto rocks that were cemented into the border of a garden bed. When I stepped out of the crowd to put a stop to it, I was advised by a fair portion of the crowd to let him keep going. I walked away and never played another game of footy or cricket at the particular club. You could hear the thuds as his head hit the rocks. I saw rival local footy clubs in pitched battles with each other and with groups of bouncers at the Geelong Hotel and the old Eureka. I saw girlfriends and female supporters from rival clubs doing the same as the blokes.

The reason that licensing of bouncers was first introduced into Victoria was because of the violence in Geelong. They were giving bouncers everywhere such a bad name that a bus load of them actually came to Geelong from Melbourne one night and started a massive brawl at the old Wool Exchange night club. To get the ball rolling, one of the Melbourne bouncers threw a table from the 1st floor bar area over the balcony and into the middle of the dance floor.

This was during the time of Friday nights during the footy season when it was $20* all you could drink from 9pm until 3am. If you had a bye then that's where you went on the Friday. Go to the bar and order 4 tequilas then drink them as you were walking to the back of the line, by the time you got back to the front you'd be finished and order 4 more of whatever you wanted. There was also shooters an laybacks in the old dentist or barbers chairs.

The biggest difference now is everyone has a camera / video on their phones and post it online or send it in to TT or ACA.

*with the $20 all you could drink, I think the Valley Inn went to $18 all you could drink, the Woollie went to $15 iirc and then the Sundowner went to $12.

Are shooters a new occurrence?
Realistically I've been out clubbing in Barcelona where the club doesn't kick off till 3am.

No violence and the streets felt safe, maybe its more to do with our culture as a nation.

You're last line is key. I've been out in many cities around Europe and didn't see any trouble whatsoever except for one instance. I was with a mate and a couple of others in Switzerland and we unfortunately ran into a bar full of Contiki people (90% Aus). We only wanted a couple of drinks so thought we'd hang around. One flog there was getting around with no shirt on and pretty much grinding on any girl he could. Later on in the night he walks up to me and slaps my drink out of my hand for no reason and stared me down. Lucky one of his friends took him straight out of the bar. My mate was wearing a beanie that night and one guy decided he would grab the beanie off my mates head and throw it on the ground. My mate asks him to stop but he still insists on being a silly. Eventually flog tries to do it one last time but my mate turns around and punches him in the gut. All of a sudden a group of flog's mates jump in and try to start a brawl - "cheap shot", "want to ****ing go" etc etc. Bunch of flogs, what did they think was going to happen if they kept acting like campaigners towards us? We just left after that.

Obviously this is only a very minor incident but it highlights the attitude of some Australians. It's stupid to say only Australian's are like this but acting like a complete flog when out and about seems to be a very Australian thing. Speaking to foreigners we do seem to have a bit of a bad reputation unfortunately also.