No bikes ...

• Thread starter Thread starter Messiah

Paid advisor to the club declares his friend and club is doing everything right ;)

Not sure that's news

He can't be just making shit up completely.

1. He's not Trigg.
2. He's going on record.
3. He's not Dank

Anyway, it's good Poulos is getting a trusted colleague in to look over what's going on.

As always, the proof is in the pudding. But it can't be a backwards step in any case.

I thought it was a very good article. Those critiquing it as a fluff piece should remember that he was only comparing the crows fitness to that of high profile soccer teams not other footy clubs. He really didn't say anything that anyone shouldn't have known for a while about how demanding footy is. It was interesting to hear how some of the worlds biggest stars compare and how the crows are implementing world leading programs in maximising fitness.

He can't be just making shit up completely.

1. He's not Trigg.
2. He's going on record.
3. He's not Dank

Anyway, it's good Poulos is getting a trusted colleague in to look over what's going on.

As always, the proof is in the pudding. But it can't be a backwards step in any case.

Yeah I agree its prob not a bad thing. Just don't him endorsing his buddy is newsworthy

Getting an international guy in is probably news worthy for the general punter. And it's jot Capel or Rucci reporting either. The guy would have answered questions and the reporter ran with it.

AFL in general may demand more physically and his comments probably apply to many clubs. But to have the comments along with the low soft tissue injury record is at least some positive.

Paid advisor to the club declares his friend and club is doing everything right ;)

Not sure that's news

o_O at anybody questioning the wisdom of Nick Poulos talking to an international expert on fitness about his training program and AFL players in general. The fact he is a mate just shows he is well-connected.

It was also interesting to me that the Crows now have the lowest soft-tissue injury rate in the AFL. So he is doing something right and deserves recognition for that.

He has been (perhaps rightly) criticised a bit over the last year as Crows did not finish games strongly. Not sure what caused this as the year before they were fine.

Training emphasis changing again .... a throwback to older methods of the Blight era who was a big believer in pre-season miles ...
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-11-30/the-crows-running-regime

o_O at anybody questioning the wisdom of Nick Poulos talking to an international expert on fitness about his training program and AFL players in general. The fact he is a mate just shows he is well-connected.

Think "international expert" is overselling things a bit. The same way Poulos has helped international teams like Japan's rugby team

Yeah I agree its prob not a bad thing. Just don't him endorsing his buddy is newsworthy

Colonel Chicky, as you would say, 'where's your evidence' of collusion which is what you are implying? Colleagues often consult each other - and they'll often be harder on each other than a consultant who is paid to deliver a pre-agreed result/opinion. :)

Collusion? Gosh that's over egging it

And no they're not often tougher ;)

No Stabby but Poulos pressure is to get them AFL fitter etc than last year which for a fitness and skill performance base was horrible last year especially early and even this was even admitted by Sando etc .
Personally think he was lucky to keep his job really .

No Stabby but Poulos pressure is to get them AFL fitter etc than last year which for a fitness and skill performance base was horrible last year especially early and even this was even admitted by Sando etc .

Depends what he was asked to do.
If, as I personally suspect, he was asked to get them to peak later in the season - I'd suggest someone other than just him needs to wear some of the blame for the early season sluggishness.

To be fair to Poulos I think he was operating on instructions from Sando on fitness. By the sounds of it Sando has taken full blame for it.

Depends what he was asked to do.
If, as I personally suspect, he was asked to get them to peak later in the season - I'd suggest someone other than just him needs to wear some of the blame for the early season sluggishness.

I reckon Sando guessed wrong at the next trend in body types required in the midfield. He wanted them bulkier and stronger and he took it slightly too far. That coupled with a regime to peak later in the season impacted badly.

I reckon Sando told Poulos what he wanted and Poulos probably delivered it to a T.

I reckon Sando guessed wrong at the next trend in body types required in the midfield. He wanted them bulkier and stronger and he took it slightly too far. That coupled with a regime to peak later in the season impacted badly.

I reckon Sando told Poulos what he wanted and Poulos probably delivered it to a T.

If that case then I think we want to wait before putting pen to paper with renewed contract for Sando as many in media etc pushing for .
Last season was a massive crash to earth even before injuries.

If that case then I think we want to wait before putting pen to paper with renewed contract for Sando as many in media etc pushing for .
Last season was a massive crash to earth even before injuries.

I reckon you want a coach that is proactive. He would have seen trends in the big bodied tough midfielders through the Geelong system. He extrapolated too far. Once injury hit it was good night nurse. I'd chalk it up to rookie error. But agreed, you don't want too many of those.