Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2026

• Thread starter Thread starter Tonga Bob

There's no getting around they've got some better talent in now, I was enjoying that period where everything they touched turned to shit.

There is a decent risk they can now recruit enough support with all of their resources to fast track to a reasonable spot competitive wise.
I don't think anyone thinks that this rare vein of form is going to last forever. But we can hope for an Essendon level of incompetence in player development.

The Simpsons GIF

It's funny but at the same time this sets the standard for the derby. Some scrappy 25 point win ain't going to cut it
WC aren't going to play this shit for their GF

Every year they show up guaranteed for about 5 games, the derbies are almost always 2 of them

Effort and pressure go a long way in footy, even weak teams can apply both when they are switched on

It didn't seem to be something we cared about during Ross's time here but WC have shown they care about it even when they're shit

This is bad for us, idk why yall are celebrating. We are competing against Sydney for the 4th spot in the top four. Somehow I am not convinced that we will win any game by over 100+ this season.

WC aren't going to play this shit for their GF

Every year they show up guaranteed for about 5 games, the derbies are almost always 2 of them

Effort and pressure go a long way in footy, even weak teams can apply both when they are switched on

It didn't seem to be something we cared about during Ross's time here but WC have shown they care about it even when they're shit
They are saving themselves lol

This is bad for us, idk why yall are celebrating. We are competing against Sydney for the 4th spot in the top four. Somehow I am not convinced that we will win any game by over 100+ this season.
Just enjoy it for what it is

We will not. But we should have last week.

I don't think many saw us beating out Swans for top 4, reckon most have them top 2 (altho without Gulden maybe we are hoping)

The day I stop enjoying watching the eagles be humiliated by 130 pts is the day I may as well give up following footy.

As high as the ceiling on their kids is, their ability to deliver a good performance is almost entirely reliant on Elliot Yeo's hamstrings and Tim Kelly's day-to-day interest in playing league football. You decide which one of those is shakier!

My mental health being topped up to 100% positive is never bad.

Nicholas Cage Smiling GIF

Pink G&T in hand, feet up on the recliner, weags getting smashed! It’s all good mate, all good 😊

There's no getting around they've got some better talent in now, I was enjoying that period where everything they touched turned to shit.

There is a decent risk they can now recruit enough support with all of their resources to fast track to a reasonable spot competitive wise.
On that, it's interesting the players they seem most likely to pick up are Warner and Georgiades. I'd argue that's two archtypes they need the least. A forward running attacking mid (Reid, Duursma) and an out of the goal square KPF (Waterman). Even feels like an odd co-incidence they Shanahan is playing back 50% of the time.

Now I think about my discussion on Lucas Robinson, he's probably the exact type of mid they'll need. Curtin would be another one (I hope he's out next priority).