Not Giving In and Never Tear Us Apart (songs)

Good post.

The current band to follow the ACDC path are the Foo Fighters. Yes, they make really good rock music, but most kids of millennials will probably think they're daggy as they enter their 5th decade on Triple M in the 2030s. Others will really like their brand of rock and won't care that they aren't cool at the moment.

You're double right that the worst possible outcome is a significantly inferior Triple M band, like Jet.
Apart from FF market themselves beautifully for modern audiences, Dave Grohl inserts himself in to everything.

AC/DC stick out amongst bands and musicians as famous as them, as they * right off when they aren't releasing an album or touring. They completely disappear from public view. It's only recently that say Brian Johnson has broken rank and got involved in other stuff. Like singing for Foo Fighters.

Dave Grohl just might be able to sell himself to the upcoming generation. He sure won't stop trying.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Apart from FF market themselves beautifully for modern audiences, Dave Grohl inserts himself in to everything.

AC/DC stick out amongst bands and musicians as famous as them, as they * right off when they aren't releasing an album or touring. They completely disappear from public view. It's only recently that say Brian Johnson has broken rank and got involved in other stuff. Like singing for Foo Fighters.

Dave Grohl just might be able to sell himself to the upcoming generation. He sure won't stop trying.

I thought they booted Brian Johnson out of the band

Racist and homophobic too if you've seen some of his other work. And arguably worse, a Jed McEntee fan.

Typical lefty.....angry, irrational and simple.

Wouldn't say I'm a fan of Jed McEntee but nor am i a turd who gets off on bashing one of our young player's who's giving his all.

I wonder how Foo Fighters would have worked out if they never had the Nirvana connection to springboard off, but I digress

I think we all know the answer.

Ooh I wouldn't say i'm the biggest Foo Fighters fan but I really disagree here. Maybe the success meant Grohl and had exposure to Kobain's genius and could financially afford to stick at it for longer but it's not like everyone in the mid 90s was gagging for a Dave Grohl album. I think The Colour and The Shape is a breakout album whether Nirvana had been successful or not.

Cobains genius? I reckon he'd hate what the FF have become.

I still think they may have cracked it, look at the band's of the era that played similar music that did end up making it, Nickelback the biggest of the bunch haha aside from FF, but other groups had a bit of time in the sun in the late 90s early 00s.

Cobains genius? I reckon he'd hate what the FF have become.

I still think they may have cracked it, look at the band's of the era that played similar music that did end up making it, Nickelback the biggest of the bunch haha aside from FF, but other groups had a bit of time in the sun in the late 90s early 00s.

Oh I agree that they're a very different band, but he doesn't have to be apeing him entirely to have been influenced. Every rock band in the 90s was heavily influenced anyway.

It's not the music, it's the mentality. These days they're just a happy positive accessible band, that do really safe inoffensive things. Like that Beegees cover album thing. I thought it could be cool but there's literally no edge to it at all, no attitude, the songs like almost completely the same, just with a little bit of distorted guitar added in. And as I touched on earlier, the way he's such a nice guy who brings people together and does all these other projects and collaborations, he's fully invested in the celebrity scene and machine. He thrives in it. Again, different to AC/DC, who make music, play music, then * off outta everyone's life for another five years. And very different to Kurt Cobain. I can see him remaining popular to the new generations by doing this.

A lot of similarities between AC/DC and Port. Building up from the mid 70s had some reasonable success, particularly 1977, to then being one of the biggest bands in the world 1979-1981. Hit a flat period in the mid 80s, still a lot of airplay but nothing to celebrate. Had a bit of a comeback late 80s and then a huge resurface to the top in the early 90s which generated a multiplier effect with significant airplay throughout the decade. The 2000s was a waiting game, next album when? 2004 saw the height of the re-emergence of rock music, like a return to the late 70s. How glorious! Then not much for a couple years by the ageing members, followed by the horrible death of Malcolm. Radio silence follows, haunted by Malcolm's ghost. Eventually the lead singer becomes tone deaf, gets sacked mid tour and is replaced. Perhaps they can manage another comeback? Alas no, while this imposter keeps the band's presence alive, he's not a long term option. All the fans see this, other than the happy clappers. The similarity ends. The band brings Brian back with a new album released, happy days and a (likely) respectable sign off. Unfortunately, Port sticks with it's Axyl Rose...FOREVER.

Was in Woolies this week and heard them playing NTUA over the PA - sort of sung along under my breath, but resisted the temptation to up the volume for the punch line. Especially after the looks I got a while back when the Stones's Brown Sugar was playing, "I said, yeah, yeah, yeah, WOO!"

Hopefully at the next home game the buskers are performing in the tunnel under Sky City Casino leading into the railway station so you can sing along with gusto then. The reverb in that area was awesome.

Yeah, back in the days the March from the mall was filled with enthusiasm about the game, rather than apathy. Hopefully it can be sung with hope again next season.