PA Jaques c Clingeleffer b Griffith 0 2 2 0 0
+BJ Haddin b Wright 16 41 27 0 1
GM Lambert c Watson b Downton 4 14 14 1 0
ME Waugh not out 26 46 1 0
Extras (lb 1) 1
Total (4 wickets, 39 overs) 120

To Bat: *SR Waugh, SM Katich, MJ Nicholson, SR Clark,
SCG MacGill.

I don't get why Steve Waugh does this - need some runs, whack some of the less lights, tailenders etc up the order. If you need runs, then isn't that what the batsmen are there to do??

He does this frequently and I can't see any real value in doing it, unless of course you're trying to protect your average or something similarly superficial (which does really fit the SR Waugh profile....). Is he being democratic jsut to give everyone a go? Is he scared of the new ball? What is it???

He did vs West Australia last week. Against England 5th test last year. IMO it stuff the balance of the batting side and all you get is maby one cameo and some bit score from everyone else with your true numbers 3,4,5 needing to bat anyway?

For someone who made a song and dance about not needing nightwatchmen this tactic seems to be cut of the same cloth and a bit hypocritical. In essence aren't they the same sort of tactic?

Can anyone tell me what an 'agricultural slog' is? See the commentry image below for more info:

score.gif

Originally posted by llosis
I don't get why Steve Waugh does this - need some runs, whack some of the less lights, tailenders etc up the order. If you need runs, then isn't that what the batsmen are there to do??

I guess so the tailenders can go the tonk and if they go out there is still batsmen at the lower order to bat for a draw...seems fairly smart to me.

Re: Re: NSW v TAS

Originally posted by Matty01
I guess so the tailenders can go the tonk and if they go out there is still batsmen at the lower order to bat for a draw...seems fairly smart to me.

Why are lower order bats better at "going the tonk"? It's never made sense to me. Surely the likes of SR Waugh, Katich, ME Waugh are more capable "tonkers" of the ball than Lambert, Haddin and co.? Or are you suggesting they are not?

On the issue of the draw, it is the third innings of the match. They're not looking to shut up shop and save the match as they need the tigers to bat again to win the match. Besides which, even if they were looking to shut up shop and defend having your top three bats down at 7,8,9 with the 10 and 11 to bat with is not exactly the way to go. Potentially they'll just as likely run out of partners.

But the point is I don't see where pinchhitting tailenders score more runs, more quickly than the top order players.

Originally posted by llosis
"Agricultural": meaning it is a fairly rough, unrefined shot, ie not too much technique.

Also used to describe a slog over cow corner (mid wicket), which is a favourite area for tailenders.

There are a couple of those "agricultural" batsmen in the BDCA League!!! One in particular that I know of...he is in 2nds, looks like a mongrel, stands in front of the stumps like a mongrel, hits it a mile. Very deceptive.

Back to llosis' comments re Waugh's tactics, I totally agree. They seem very unorthadox, and don't particularly seem positive to me...almost arrogant.

The tactic seems odd principally because it rarely works.

Because Tugga and Katich made runs in the first innings I can understand them dropping down the order ebhind the other batsmen (including Haddin) , but I'm inclined to agree with the general view and that is, that if quick runs are important the best people to do that are the batsmen.

*SR Waugh lbw b Wright 0 2 0 0

Well if Steve was worried about going in early and messing up his average, dropping down the order didn't work.

Katich then came in and was dismissed for 6.

With respect to the batting order, i think that Steve Waugh decided to give Jacques a chance to try and keep his spot in the team with Corey Richards returning to decent form and for Grant Lambert to justify his position as an all-rounder. As things are, NSW has to get 9 wickets to get on the final day to get the 6 points.

End of over 99 (11 runs) Tasmania 342/4 (RR: 3.45 RRR: 44/10 = 4.40)
GM Lambert 9-4-33-0 - River End
DJ Marsh 80* (115b 7x4) MJ Di Venuto 160* (249b 18x4)
Tasmania really should get there now. Di Venuto adding to the handful of high scores early on in the shield season.

Unless NSW can pull off a repeat of this game from earlier in the year:

End of over 62 (9 runs) Western Australia 272/4 (RR: 4.39 RRR: 27/10 = 2.70)

Marsh and DiVenuto both got centuries, Tasmania won by 6 wickets.

**** a brick, how did we lose this after dominating for 3 days? Well done Tasmania, a great turnaround for them.

Originally posted by DaveW
As a supporter of neither team I think I'd prefer as few points as possible come out of this match. :confused:

I like seeing NSW beaten, and when it's by a team that isn't relevant to my state in terms of contention for a finals place, i'm rapt.

Excellent result.

I think Greg Blewett has been vindicated in not giving Tassie a target to chase in the last match.

The Bellerive pitch is much better than it has been in the last two seasons.

This match showed the team batting last can make a big score.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
I like seeing NSW beaten, and when it's by a team that isn't relevant to my state in terms of contention for a finals place, i'm rapt.

Excellent result.

So you don't think Tas are a chance for the final??

Get real mate... 3 games into the season...

YOU BLOODY RIPPER!!!!!!!!! Nothing better than beating those arrogant NSW pricks. Awesome display by Marshy and Divenuto, for a team that is generally slow in its start to the season and come home storming, this is an AWESOME start to the season. Great to see Watson return with a bit of form

Unbelievable. Trust DiVenuto to make a **** out of me.

I like seeing NSW beaten, and when it's by a team that isn't relevant to my state in terms of contention for a finals place, i'm rapt

Might be worth revisiting that one....

Great work Tassie!!! That really made my day hearing that. Finally the Bellerive pitch can hold up in a 4 day match, good job by the groundsmen.

One person I was particularly impressed with (again) was Damien Wright:
1st Innings
29 overs, 5 maidens, 3 wickets for 86 (including Steve Waugh)

2nd Innings
21 overs, 4 maidens, 4 wickets for 50 (including Steve again, Mark Waugh and Brad Haddin)