Bren

NYY
Felt like giving a review on the game... I know its late in the week... but thought it deserved one.

It’s a pity that Well’s torp to Harvey goal will not rate a mention for GOTY, was real sweet to see the barrel!

Pratt – Very lucky that the melb guy was a tool

Harper – How did that guy go to 27?? His second and third efforts are awesome

Wells – Game Of The Year!! What a game from this guy... hope to see more of the same. Clean possession, goals, clearance work, tackles...

Goldy – Dominated

Edwards – Position justified

Melbs jumpers – looked pink... and the collar makes it look soft especially with the star thingy on the back

Zeibs – Keep doing what you’re doing mate... you are turning the corner, keep going (btw... love the way the club is handling his work rate, seems to be getting better each week)

Commentators – Must have killed them to give North some credit... flogs on ONE, you could hear it in their voices; they were quite upset about it. Even the lads on MMM struggled to give our boys any credit.

Am off work sick and was pleasantly surprised to see the replay on One this morning.
I thought the commentators were quite good and well informed, even suggesting that the Ziebell sub was planned, mentioning getting back to fitness from broken legs.

On the other hand, I was fortunate enough to be a guest in the 3AW corporate box on game day and was shown the commentary box for about ten minutes of the last quarter.

They weren't sure whether it was ziebell's 2nd or 3rd sub in a row and were giving King shit for not looking it up for them. All very funny, but the bias was clear from BT. He was clutching at straws hoping that Melbourne would cone back. Leigh Matthews was good.
IMAG0368.jpg

IMAG0367.jpg

Am off work sick and was pleasantly surprised to see the replay on One this morning.
I thought the commentators were quite good and well informed, even suggesting that the Ziebell sub was planned, mentioning getting back to fitness from broken legs.

On the other hand, I was fortunate enough to be a guest in the 3AW corporate box on game day and was shown the commentary box for about ten minutes of the last quarter.

They weren't sure whether it was ziebell's 2nd or 3rd sub in a row and were giving King shit for not looking it up for them. All very funny, but the bias was clear from BT. He was clutching at straws hoping that Melbourne would cone back. Leigh Matthews was good.
IMAG0368.jpg

IMAG0367.jpg

BT is ********...pure and simple....shit bloke!

My view of a couple of things from the game...both a nitpick at the Demons.

Firstly, their method of time wasting. It just seemed over the top. Every opportunity, and I mean EVERY single one, they took the chance to slow us down. Lening all over guys that took marks, or not giving the ball back. I KNOW all sides do it, but Bailey seems to have these blokes pushing the envelope to the 'n'th degree. The only time they didn't was when we took a mark in clean space.

A number of times I was pushing for us to move the ball on and realised we didn't even have it back yet, and there's a Melb player with the ball in his hand asking again and again and AGAIN who to give it to, while their boys push back, or their guy leaning and leaning and yet still leaning all over a roo boy trying to get up front marking in front yet again.

Listening to the radio, and also watching the replay, time after time the commentators would comment that "North were a bit slow getting it into their forward line that time" when you could see we wanted to move it on but were being stymied.

Like I said, it's a common tactic these days, but if it was a team on the box every 5mins like Cats or Pies taking things this far I reckon you'd see a segment on the footy review shows how sides are "suddenly" pushing their luck with it. I reckon Melbourne, being like us and getting SFA exposure, are slipping under the radar with this one. Kudos to Bailey for getting away with it, but for how long I'm not sure.

Or maybe it's just me.....

Secondly.... how ****ing precious is Jurrah??

Seriously, he cracked the shits at ANYONE with the gall to touch him at any stage, like he's supposed to have some god-given right for free passage through packs or at the ball. This bloke is one good tagger/backman away from going berserk and getting five or six weeks I think.

Firstly, their method of time wasting. It just seemed over the top. Every opportunity, and I mean EVERY single one, they took the chance to slow us down. Lening all over guys that took marks, or not giving the ball back. I KNOW all sides do it, but Bailey seems to have these blokes pushing the envelope to the 'n'th degree. The only time they didn't was when we took a mark in clean space.

I noticed this particularly at one point and I forget the two players involved, I think it was Wells who had won the free outside 50, and the Melbourne player has the ball in one hand and he's looking over his shoulder motioning to his teammates to move deeper with the other. Took an eternity to toss it back and of course when he did it's a big looping lob.

It'll get picked up eventually and someone will get a 50 paid against them for not passing it back quickly enough if the umpy has to tell him 2 or 3 times (like me sending my kids to the thinking spot because I have to bloody well tell them 100 times to stop/start doing something!) and that'll probably be the end of it.

BT ALWAYS barracks for an underdog. If it'd been roles reversed he would've been on you. Treat him like a pantomime buffoon, he's OK value. Don't take him seriously.
Buffoon.

Love that word.

I thought that after Goldies MOTY, he should have got 50, Watts wouldn't get off him.