Number 37 - Michael Johnson

• Thread starter Thread starter chook2734

RF_hawthorn_2_gallery__470x385.jpg

At his best a high class act. Michael is by all accounts a quality human being and one of natures gentleman. Life has served him up a lot in the last few years, coming to terms with fatherhood and the attention of being a big time AFL player. An outstanding natural talent I expect him to iron out the uncertainty from his game, find his confidence & start playing mature, consistent, quality footy this year.

Closet fan of this champ.
I do want him however to wear more medallions on long gold chains. Also he needs to grow a fro.
IMO :thumbsu:

Is he destined for the backline or can he be rotated through the midfield?

His main strength is attacking football and his main weakness is accountability. Not the best attributes for a backman. If he can't be taught accountability, his best use is as a floater between half-back and half-forward, assisting the defence when necessary, while pushing forward as often as possible. Harvey needs to find him a position that gives the best use of his silky skills and play reading.

He needs to harden the **** up.

One of our greatest disappointments of late.

Get rid of the kid and the woman, I reckon.

He needs to harden the **** up.

One of our greatest disappointments of late.

Get rid of the kid and the woman, I reckon.

fifth in the doug medal!! hate to hear what you'd abuse him of if he'd finished sixth!!! True there are elements of his game that he needs to work on, accountability, phisical pressure, but personal sledges probibly aren't necisary!!
Obviously the coaching staff arent as disapointed about his performances as you are!!:p

If you played almost every game last year, you'd be almost guaranteed of a good placing in that.

He was rated very lowly on here as well.

His main strength is attacking football and his main weakness is accountability. Not the best attributes for a backman. If he can't be taught accountability, his best use is as a floater between half-back and half-forward, assisting the defence when necessary, while pushing forward as often as possible. Harvey needs to find him a position that gives the best use of his silky skills and play reading.

Forward/wing might suit him. Covers ground well enough.

And yes, could harden up a bit, but with his build hes prolly better recieving the ball and running with it. Not built for pack busting.

Forward/wing might suit him. Covers ground well enough.

And yes, could harden up a bit, but with his build hes prolly better recieving the ball and running with it. Not built for pack busting.
Totally disagree.

He was rookied as a ruckman and his skills have gone to absolute crap. Definitely got that arse about IMO.

Absolutly agree there which is why he is used as the loose man in defence, as the mop up man.
But a lot of these guys don't realise that being loose man in defence doesn't mean not getting in contests, it means you have to get to as many as you can... Dale Kickett style.

absolutly, his job is to fill the hole the prominant forward would lead into, but also assisting the other defenders spoil their opposites, and then ultimatly being one of the go to men for the run out of defence. I agree his ferocity at the ball helping out the other defenders is an area he needs to address.

MJ always seems lazy, doesnt want the ball hard enough unlike boys such as Mayne. But everytime I think we need to bench him he does something mercurial!

If we actually had some back line depth he'd be in big trouble IMO. Looking foward to Bucovaz as a backmen prospect who can through his weight and actually win contests.

MJ always seems lazy, doesnt want the ball hard enough unlike boys such as Mayne. But everytime I think we need to bench him he does something mercurial!

If we actually had some back line depth he'd be in big trouble IMO. Looking foward to Bucovaz as a backmen prospect who can through his weight and actually win contests.

Don't think he's lazy, just think he's in that mold of Mundy that makes him look like he's in slow motion. (Probibly think Mundys lazy too lol)

I can't remember another player of MJ's height who's as good below the knees when the ball is on the deck. Has an uncanny ability to knock, tap, nudge it though the tightest traffic until it bobs up into his hands. Also has a great stab pass over long distances. Probably the most pleasing aspect of his game last year was the development of his contested marking overhead. Many strings to his bow, will put it all together this year.

MJ is easily the most unfairly maligned player on the Freo board. Chops has been off his medication since Xmas so we can't take much account of what he's posting at the moment. In fact GJ has been much more rational than Chops of late.

absolutly, his job is to fill the hole the prominant forward would lead into, but also assisting the other defenders spoil their opposites, and then ultimatly being one of the go to men for the run out of defence. I agree his ferocity at the ball helping out the other defenders is an area he needs to address.

He never seems to be in too much trouble when he plays though! Hes good with the ball and seems to be in the right spot more often than not.
He is certainly got the run for the defence work.
Im sure when Freo get a better defence he will still be there when there is real competition for spots tho.:thumbsu:

I can't remember another player of MJ's height who's as good below the knees when the ball is on the deck. Has an uncanny ability to knock, tap, nudge it though the tightest traffic until it bobs up into his hands. Also has a great stab pass over long distances. Probably the most pleasing aspect of his game last year was the development of his contested marking overhead. Many strings to his bow, will put it all together this year.

Handballs like a nancy though, and his contested marking is average

For regulars of this board, most will remember how a few years ago he was seen as the next big thing in our side....Bigfooty developed somewhat of a obsession with MJ, his failure to come on quickly has mean't that he has been the first to disapoint. So to some degree I agree that he is unfairly maligned much do to with the pedastool he was placed on.

I think he still will develop into a very handy player, perhaps not the star we were hoping for.

His ability to read the play, running ability and hit targets are all very good. What annoys me about him is that he hesitates when he has the ball in his hands, by this I mean he rarely takes the first option. Also should definitely be a better mark for a player of his size.