News NWM stays at Saints (Will Faulkner wrong about being crows bound)

Its basically impossible to get NWM this year and Cochrane next without losing Butters this year or next.

When you put it like that its not that realistic or worth getting too excited about.

Realistically NWM is staying at the Saints for 2 years and then we might try again

If NWM was planning to sign with the Saints it would be a pretty good time to do it.

The Saints season over and their best offer in front of him.

Just played a near perfect game and obviously the best player on their list?

Saints supporters could use some good news?

There’s nothing stopping us using future picks on Cochrane and we won’t be doing any deal that puts that at risk.

We’ve probably already tapped Mac on the shoulder and told him to expect a career move.

Kevin Sheedy has bought a house in Henley Beach! I heard it from a mate of a real estate agent.

I love footy rumours 😆

Would love him to nominate Port as a club of choice but if he wants success the Crows are a better

Apparently his manager is meeting with crows people at Henley Beach cafe now.
C4 did say his manager had meetings with the crows this week, but its already been mentioned, alot of crows players have Ben Williams as manager. I still think he resigns with st.kilda

NWM is well on his way to becoming a Top 10 player of the competition, so unless we give up a Butters, JHF or Rozee, this deal won’t get done. It’s not like we’re Geelong who would convince the Saints he’s only worth a late 1st while still receiving a 2nd in return plus NWM.

I remember a lot of people saying the same about JHF, that we wouldn’t be getting him without giving up Butters, Rozee or MG.

Do you think Saints fans are getting nervous? It's getting late in the season.

If Bergman hadn't signed by now everyone would have written their farewell cards.

Do we really think the AFL are gonna change anything regarding NGA's if it gives Port access almost immediately to a potential pick 1 in the draft? pipe dreams
Its not about changing the rules to give us access to Cochrane. In fact, its the potential changes that are scary with regards to our access. If the AFL decide to rework the zones in SA, we could lose access to him.

Or the AFL sit on it for long enough and pull the "you have't done enough development" card.

Its not about changing the rules to give us access to Cochrane. In fact, its the potential changes that are scary with regards to our access. If the AFL decide to rework the zones in SA, we could lose access to him.

Or the AFL sit on it for long enough and pull the "you have't done enough development" card.

Been in our system 2 years come the time of the draft that’s plenty.

The development thing would not happen.

Port I suspect know how everything ends up.

He will be here.

But he is out of contract. NWM has all the leverage on where he wants to play his footy next year and his manager, if he is worth his salt, will get it done.

C4 saying his preference is to come home but more than likely will sign with the Saints for the next 2 years.

Port don't really have the capital to get a deal done, otherwise it would have been a fait accompli that Nas was coming back to Port. He's wanted to come back to Adelaide for over 12 months. Of course, if something pops up late with Port's list, they could always revisit the situation, but for now, it doesn't appear they have the requisite assets to get a deal done. Unless of course, if someone like Butters out of the blue said he wanted to leave (which would be extremely unforeseen).

Assuming that Tassie is happening it will be easier to get deal now than in 2 years time. Who knows what kind of draft concessions there will be.
Is the talk about being able to trade picks 2 years into the future anything more than talk?

Does 2025 2nd Round and 2026 1st Round plus a younger player get the deal done?

Assuming that Tassie is happening it will be easier to get deal now than in 2 years time. Who knows what kind of draft concessions there will be.
Is the talk about being able to trade picks 2 years into the future anything more than talk?

Does 2025 2nd Round and 2026 1st Round plus a younger player get the deal done?
I would be holding onto the 2026 1st rounder until August and we finally get the outcome of Doug Cochrane's NGA status with the potential re-allocation of NGA zones.

However, it would probably be too late if NWM re-signs which I expect him to do unless he decides to hold off until August which I can't see him doing at the moment.