O/T: Does Brogan's delayed arrest set a bad example?

• Thread starter Thread starter just maybe

just maybe said:
Given security officers should have been present when Brogan did the deed, he should have been detained.
Why, didn't they know who Brogan was or who was his employer? Was he about to leave the country?

The idea of a "citizens arrest" is a legal minefield and for an incident where the victim's only injury was a blood nose (OK, so it turned out to be broken) no civilian security guard is going to risk his job let alone leave himself wide open to a damages suit.

Benno From Berwick said:
Brogan is a DH.

What a fool getting involved in such a thing.

Poor reflection on him, his club and the Competition.
And Dale is a DH.
Poor reflection on him, his family, his club and his state and that is most likely the main reason Crow supporters and officials are cheesed off at him.

*PAF said:
And Dale is a DH.
Poor reflection on him, his family, his club and his state and that is most likely the main reason Crow supporters and officials are cheesed off at him.
Can't believe he appeared in the ragvertiser in crows apparel what a t0sser

One thing is for sure......I bet he'll think twice before heading to the footy again....;) ....especially a Showdown....:eek: :eek:

Hopefully Dull thinks about this as he considers his next move...

*PAF said:
Is there a link?

I might be misinterpreting your question becuase how can there not be a link when someone faces the possibility of an assault charge when they already have an assault charge pending.

Are you saying there is no link becuase they are 2 seperate incidents and two seperate people?:confused:

Not a troll.

Mad Dog said:
One thing is for sure......I bet he'll think twice before heading to the footy again....;) ....especially a Showdown....:eek: :eek:

But he is a required player. He will have to front up for the next showdown.:confused:

Mad Dog said:

Yeah, it's not as if we don't know what he looks like :cool:

SpringChoke said:
I might be misinterpreting your question becuase how can there not be a link when someone faces the possibility of an assault charge when they already have an assault charge pending.

Are you saying there is no link becuase they are 2 seperate incidents and two seperate people?:confused:

Not a troll.
I haven't seen or heard anything about it until you mentioned it that's all.
Not saying you made it up just asking if you have any links at all, be they BF threads or Advertiser articles etc. Not meant to be a trick question.

SpringChoke said:

Not a troll.
I think you will find he was asking for a link to a story about the other assault charge. Havent Port done a good job of burying that one. I hadnt heard a word about it until the *****head Dale incident.

showdownhero said:
Can't believe he appeared in the ragvertiser in crows apparel what a t0sser

That's the thing that got me.

What was his motivation? To highlight this was a Crows vs Port issue? Did he think the club would give him a medal for showing his colours?

Just a silly little pirate, is Dale. He won't be going to Adelaide Arrrrghport again in a hurry.

*PAF said:
I haven't seen or heard anything about it until you mentioned it that's all.
Not saying you made it up just asking if you have any links at all, be they BF threads or Advertiser articles etc. Not meant to be a trick question.

There was a snippet in yesterdays Advertiser and on ch 10 last night.

From Yesterdays Advertiser:

Carlton and Essendon's ineptitude will not, of course, be the only issue concerning the AFL hierarchy this week.

Understandably, they will also be greatly perturbed by Saturday's Bogan . . . sorry, Brogan . . . airport incident which has the capacity to further tarnish an image darkened by the Dean Laidley "rabbit's ears" fan confrontation last weekend.

According to reliable sources, the powerful Port ruckman may also now be called to account for an alleged similar incident within the past six months, despite the efforts of Port officials to conciliate with a dog owner.

Crowked said:
I think you will find he was asking for a link to a story about the other assault charge. Havent Port done a good job of burying that one. I hadnt heard a word about it until the *****head Dale incident.

My mistake. I thought he meant links between the 2 incidents.:o

SpringChoke said:
despite the efforts of Port officials to conciliate with a dog owner.

Cat owners should be shot, but dog owners I think are ok.

Bizarre comment to make however by the paper. Maybe Broges punched the dog for barking at him!

SpringChoke said:
There was a snippet in yesterdays Advertiser and on ch 10 last night.

From Yesterdays Advertiser:

Carlton and Essendon's ineptitude will not, of course, be the only issue concerning the AFL hierarchy this week.

Understandably, they will also be greatly perturbed by Saturday's Bogan . . . sorry, Brogan . . . airport incident which has the capacity to further tarnish an image darkened by the Dean Laidley "rabbit's ears" fan confrontation last weekend.

According to reliable sources, the powerful Port ruckman may also now be called to account for an alleged similar incident within the past six months, despite the efforts of Port officials to conciliate with a dog owner.
So in other words no-one on here, including yourself, know what it's about. Best left alone at this stage then hey?
I'm sure you'll let us all know all about it when the details will come out if they turn out to be unfavorable. ;)

SpringChoke said:
......According to reliable sources, the powerful Port ruckman may also now be called to account for an alleged similar incident within the past six months, despite the efforts of Port officials to conciliate with a dog owner.
So the dog called Brogan a d:D:D:Dhead and Brogan snotted the owner or the dog or both :confused:

Couldn't Brogan tell that the dog was only joking?

SpringChoke said:

Apparently Brogan also fouled out a few times as a 36er, and was clearly seen mouthing "you're f#cking joking!" when his local deli owner told him they were out of a milk once.

Also turns Jehovah's Witnesses away at the door and hangs up on telemarketers.

Mad Dog said:
Please tell me you're not that naive....:rolleyes:

The police make assessments on these matters all the time with all members of the public regardless of noteriety. Nothing to be gained by hauling him off to the Divvy van in cuffs ..... an assessment was made on....

• whether a formal complaint would be made....(not known at the time of plane departure).....
  • the seriousness of the alleged (and at that time) unreported offense.....
  • the likelihood of the subject absconding and/or not being able to be interviewed later.....
  • danger to the public in terms of reoffending....

All of these matters are different in each instance.

What took place was normal - and says nothing about the judicial system....

:rolleyes:

He is that naive. In fact I am convinced that Just Maybe is Dale Mortimer.

just maybe said:
Aren't there security officers at the Adelaide Airport? They have the power to detain.

I'd say someone smacking someone in the face in the airport is a pretty good reason to detain that someone for interview.

D-O Y-O-U U-N-D-E-R-S-T-A-N-D ?-?-?

Security officers are exactly that security, they can kick him out of the airport but they cannot restrain.

maccas_no1 said:
Security officers are exactly that security, they can kick him out of the airport but they cannot restrain.

Instead of manning metal detectors and keeping an eye out for potential terrorists and drug smugglers they should've all been focussed on taking down D-Bro.