Off season rumours

OK, so we've had a few delistings lately that will impact the WAFL clubs:

Ryan Brabazon (Clmt)
Wayde Skipper (WP)
Kieran King (EF) - I thought he was a handy player Freezin, what do you think? One of the local clubs pick him up?
Daniel Murray (EP)
anyone I've missed?

Ryan Brabazon (Clmt)
Wayde Skipper (WP)
Kieran King (EF) - I thought he was a handy player Freezin, what do you think? One of the local clubs pick him up?
Daniel Murray (EP)
anyone I've missed?

Brabazon would be agood pick up for Claremont, ditto for EP Murray and WP would be after Skipper big time considering Seaby and campbell won't be around for them in 2010.

King is an interesting proposition, Australian junior 400 m champ, thus will have a good motor, surprise drafting last year by Brisbane, surprise delisting, perhaps they will rookie him instead. Good junior credentials, him and Lucas pretty well went head for head in the EF junior ranks. Wouldn't complain seeing him back at EF, slip him on a wing. Though I do reckon Brisbane will rookie him instead, madness delisting a youngster after one season, one which saw him out with ankle problems for a great part of it. Time will tell.

There is some talk on footy goss that McCarrey may be off to SF from EF. I hope EF get a youngster like Groenenberg for him and some dosh too!:rolleyes:

Ryan Brabazon (Clmt)
Wayde Skipper (WP)
Daniel Murray (EP)
anyone I've missed?

The 3 highlighted are handy additions to their respective clubs without imo being matchwinners..

The King de-listing shocked me. Had an outstanding U16 carnival in 2007, kicked 6 goals in 3 games as a midfielder, in a very strong WA side which missed out on the Championships when Vic Metro(Scully, Hurley, Fitzpatrick, Blease, Talia) beat us by 2 points. Some of his teammates in that side were Morabito, Walters, Hutchings, Lucas and Luff. King was a AIS scholarship holder in 2007. I'd love to see Freo give him a go either on the senior list or as a rookie.

Brabazon would be agood pick up for Claremont, ditto for EP Murray and WP would be after Skipper big time considering Seaby and campbell won't be around for them in 2010.

King is an interesting proposition, Australian junior 400 m champ, thus will have a good motor, surprise drafting last year by Brisbane, surprise delisting, perhaps they will rookie him instead. Good junior credentials, him and Lucas pretty well went head for head in the EF junior ranks. Wouldn't complain seeing him back at EF, slip him on a wing. Though I do reckon Brisbane will rookie him instead, madness delisting a youngster after one season, one which saw him out with ankle problems for a great part of it. Time will tell.

There is some talk on footy goss that McCarrey may be off to SF from EF. I hope EF get a youngster like Groenenberg for him and some dosh too!:rolleyes:

Just talk at this stage, and I hope it stays that way. Dont get me wrong, McCarrey would be handy but i'd like us to bring more youngsters into the team, if we are going to look elsewhere for a player that will cost the club 10 recruitment points then i'd like the player to be worth it. McCarry wouldn't add too much more to the club whereas a pacey midfielder would.

I see Adrian Ricciardello who was the leading goalkicker in the colts competition had signed up with the Sharks.

The 3 highlighted are handy additions to their respective clubs without imo being matchwinners..

The King de-listing shocked me. Had an outstanding U16 carnival in 2007, kicked 6 goals in 3 games as a midfielder, in a very strong WA side which missed out on the Championships when Vic Metro(Scully, Hurley, Fitzpatrick, Blease, Talia) beat us by 2 points. Some of his teammates in that side were Morabito, Walters, Hutchings, Lucas and Luff. King was a AIS scholarship holder in 2007. I'd love to see Freo give him a go either on the senior list or as a rookie.

Just talk at this stage, and I hope it stays that way. Dont get me wrong, McCarrey would be handy but i'd like us to bring more youngsters into the team, if we are going to look elsewhere for a player that will cost the club 10 recruitment points then i'd like the player to be worth it. McCarry wouldn't add too much more to the club whereas a pacey midfielder would.

I see Adrian Ricciardello who was the leading goalkicker in the colts competition had signed up with the Sharks.

I totally agree with you Tundra, I don't think McCarrey would be a walk up start for SF like he is at EF. SF already have plenty of fella's like Gilmore, Graham, Hunt, Bossong, Head, Murphy and Wilson ahead of McCarrey in the KPP queue. From EF point of view, I'd be happy for him to move on if EF could get someone like Groenenberg in exchange plus a few 1000k as well. Can't see the sense in SF playing a 10 pointer/10 K player off the bench or in the reserves....with Mccarrey being 27, I'd be spewing if I was a youngster at SF like Groenenberg if McCarrey was recruited..... apparently young Ricciardello apparently agree's with me....how tall is he Tundra?....is he tall enough to play in a WAFL at full forward?....or is he more of a goal kicking half forward flanker type?

If anyone is planning on travelling to the UK, the West London Wildcats need you!
We are the largest and most successful club in London, and quite probably outside of Australia. We field three teams across three divisions, catering for a range of abilities. In recent times we have been incredibly successful. In the premiership division we have won the last 6 flags in a row, and in the conference, we have won 9 out of the last 10!
Becoming a Wildcat offers many benefits including discounted travel, cheap drinks etc through our many sponsors. Plus it gives you the opportunity to meet like-minded people from all across the globe and have a kick of the footy!
wildcatsfc.co.uk
or e-mail
wildcatsrecruiting@yahoo.com

I totally agree with you Tundra, I don't think McCarrey would be a walk up start for SF like he is at EF. SF already have plenty of fella's like Gilmore, Graham, Hunt, Bossong, Head, Murphy and Wilson ahead of McCarrey in the KPP queue. From EF point of view, I'd be happy for him to move on if EF could get someone like Groenenberg in exchange plus a few 1000k as well. Can't see the sense in SF playing a 10 pointer/10 K player off the bench or in the reserves....with Mccarrey being 27, I'd be spewing if I was a youngster at SF like Groenenberg if McCarrey was recruited..... apparently young Ricciardello apparently agree's with me....how tall is he Tundra?....is he tall enough to play in a WAFL at full forward?....or is he more of a goal kicking half forward flanker type?

Ricciardello came through the SF junior development squads playing in a variety of positions but usually playing in a key position, and usually fullback. It's a credit to him that he made such a successful transition to fullforward where he kicked 64 goals this year. Not sure of his height but I thought he was around the 190cm mark, so not overly tall.

McCarrey is good mates with Phillips from Souths so I can see their may be some connection there, maybe the lure of some finals footy.

However that seems a little far fetched as I know East Fremantle have spoken to Phillips, more opportunity apparently.

Maybe it's the other way round?

Sad to see Ricciardello go, really smart player but he'd struggle to break through for a few years and I got the impression that he's a boy in a hurry, wants to make an impact for an outside chance of a GC jumper, no better place to do that than a league side.

Jordan Palumbo has been invited to train with the GC.

McCarrey is good mates with Phillips from Souths so I can see their may be some connection there, maybe the lure of some finals footy.

However that seems a little far fetched as I know East Fremantle have spoken to Phillips, more opportunity apparently.

Maybe it's the other way round?

Sad to see Ricciardello go, really smart player but he'd struggle to break through for a few years and I got the impression that he's a boy in a hurry, wants to make an impact for an outside chance of a GC jumper, no better place to do that than a league side.

Jordan Palumbo has been invited to train with the GC.

Yep, makes more sense what you are saying Mundy. Although, with Farmer now gone, Phillips would get more chances next year, surely.

I would not be so sure about this I think he needs the $$$$$$

and there's me thinking Jeffrey would be like Belly and want to put something back into his local footy club and play for free!!

Swannies, I think SF will have plenty of forward options with out Farmer.....If McCarrey comes over he, Wilson, Murphy, Graham, Bossong, Hunt, Gilmore, Head and thornton would all be fighting for a KP gig......i don't know much about Phillips but I don't fancy his chances of getting a game with those names on the team sheet! To be honest I hope EF have little word in SF Gronenbergs ear about playing regular league footy, the guy got a few chances this year, but I don't fancy his chances to adding to his league tally for 2010.......I think that's why Ricardiello jumped ship!

and there's me thinking Jeffrey would be like Belly and want to put something back into his local footy club and play for free!!

Swannies, I think SF will have plenty of forward options with out Farmer.....If McCarrey comes over he, Wilson, Murphy, Graham, Bossong, Hunt, Gilmore, Head and thornton would all be fighting for a KP gig......i don't know much about Phillips but I don't fancy his chances of getting a game with those names on the team sheet! To be honest I hope EF have little word in SF Gronenbergs ear about playing regular league footy, the guy got a few chances this year, but I don't fancy his chances to adding to his league tally for 2010.......I think that's why Ricardiello jumped ship!

From what I'm seeing on the delistings etc, Freezin, I think Swans might like to have a few words in ears as well.

Miles has been promoted to Saints senior list, so congrats to Luke (did I sound like I meant it?), Ellard staying put at Carlton and Davis looking for greener pastures from West Coast and I haven't heard about Robinson or Twomey signing back on. Ah well, we'll just have to promote more kids!

Phillips is a handy player, Ballantyne like but not quite as good and a bit more selfish, IMO. But he would be handy none the less Freezin. You'll probably also lose McNamara, but hopefully you can entice Polak back?:D

Heard Beeck may be heading to South Freo. I hope he doesn't as I believe we have the ruck division covered and the fact that he is a crab.

I hope he doesn't either.

I heard that South are interested in signing Danny Stanley (ex-Collingwood) if he doesn't get picked up by Freo. He is currently training with Freo in the hope of getting picked up.

I hope he doesn't either.

I heard that South are interested in signing Danny Stanley (ex-Collingwood) if he doesn't get picked up by Freo. He is currently training with Freo in the hope of getting picked up.

Tundra I hear Stanley is a tough as nails midfielder who is a bit slow on the pace side......with Miller, McGrath, Siegert etc already in SF midfield is he really what you want?...look at that fella you recruited last year from the Tassie team in the VFL.....he struggled with Perth's harder footy grounds and ended up playing in your reserves flag team....and he was worth 10 points!

I can't see Freo recruiting the likes of Stanley, especially with some good young midfielders like Palmer, Ibbottsen, Hill, Suban etc already in their playing ranks plus Morabito, Duncan etc in the pipeline.....so I guess Stanley may be a SF player in 2010.....perhaps Dimmer see's him as Bell's replacement....big call if you ask me.

The South Fremantle website has confirmed Andrew McCarrey's recruitment.

Josh Head will be at the club next year also.

No word on Stanley until after the draft I guess.

The South Fremantle website has confirmed Andrew McCarrey's recruitment.

Josh Head will be at the club next year also.

No word on Stanley until after the draft I guess.

Tundra....I hear Nathan Street has high tailed it back to Tassie.....apparently to North Hobart.....I wonder if EF try and persuade SF to depart with a young tall in exchange for McCarrey......be interested to see where SF play McCarrey....especially with Bossong, Hunt, Thornton and Head up back......Graham, Murphy and Gilmore up front......looks like the back pocket or the bench..... or even the ressies might have to suffice McCarrey.....saying that McCarrey only filled a KPP at EF because they had no one else.....good luck to the guy.....great year in 08 did a lot of switch hitting for EF up back and front.....average year in 09 in comparison....whilst another door closes with McCarrey's loss, hopefully another will open for an EF youngster or even better the recruitment of a Groenenberg or Kelly type player.....

The loss of Bell, Street, Farmer and Smithers should free up some "points" in order to secure Stanley who I rate as a very good, big bodied, tough midfielder. Also a prolific ball gatherer. I've got my fingers crossed because I think he could cause big headaches at WAFL level.

Considering Bell, Farmer and Smithers were all 1 point each, I can't see how you guys will be better off points wise? In order to replace them in terms of experience and quality SF will have to find 5 - 10 point plus players, none of your juniors are gonna deliver what these guys did in 09....Stanley merely replaces Street points wise....and to be honest mate you already have plenty of prolific ball gatherers in Miller, Siegert and McGrath, who like Stanley aren't all exactly fast across the turf......who's to say Stanley won't struggle like Street did this year with the harder and wider open WAFL grounds?.....

Replacing Belly will be SF biggest problem, the guy was not fast, but just knew where to go to get the footy and used it oh so so well, also his mere presence on the footy ground would of psyched out a lot of opposition players.....sadly Stanley might be bigger and stronger than Belly...but he aint no Peter Bell!.....Be interested to see how successful Stanley fits into SF midfield.....

Zac Beeck has returned to East Perth, whilst Peel have also lost Simon Rosa, Luke Hammond, Damien Lock and Kain Robbins who have all returned to Victoria.

As mentioned they have gained the services of Brendon Jones from Perth

Apparently Daniel Gilmore and Josh Head have been offered alot of money to play with Heath Black at Harvey Brunswick. Gilmore looks set to join, however Head is unlikely.

Off season rumours