Official Crows Draft Selections

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
SB, the only good thing about FPJ is SMG! ;)

Personally I prefer toe-sucker to Prince. :p

One of Nigel Smarts nicknames is Chill toe-cutter so that may get a bit confusing.

I think we should call Watts - Angus.

Watts - Voltage - AC/DC - Angus

If Hall duds it or sooks off home, who is going to be laughing then?

Once again, for those who didn't get it last time: we need a ruck with KPP skills. we can turn an average ruckman into a good ruckman, but not a unco into a KPP. we turned Biglands from a crap ruckman into a great ruckman, so just hold your damn tongues.

Originally posted by spindoctor
If Hall duds it or sooks off home, who is going to be laughing then?

Once again, for those who didn't get it last time: we need a ruck with KPP skills. we can turn an average ruckman into a good ruckman, but not a unco into a KPP. we turned Biglands from a crap ruckman into a great ruckman, so just hold your damn tongues.

Then at least start with an average ruckman.

Krueger is absolutely crap as a ruckman. It will take at least 3 years to get this bloke to an "average" level.

Let me put this into perspective. He started behind Brad Smith, Matthew Golding and Michael Griffiths as ruck options for the bays. Griffo is only 20 as well and would have trouble walking and talking at the same time.

The only reason he got games at all in the seniors was because of Golding's knee injury and Griffiths refusal to stick to the GFC game plan.

Freddy's only attribute in terms of ruckwork is his athleticism.

If he had even the remotest clue on what to do he would have started in the ressies at least, not the 19s.

He has KP potential, nothing more.

we turned Biglands from a crap ruckman into a great ruckman, B]

Biglands wasnt crap before we picked him up. He had a very good year for the Eagles in 99. He also made the SA state team that beat the Vics at the MCG and played quite well.

As for Hudson, if he duds so be it.

I doubt he will sook off home. For a bloke his age he should be far more mature than that. Besides he has already shown some character by moving from QLD to Victoria to play VFL. He's been given a huge oppurtunity by AFC, I don't think he'll throw it back in our face.

This is my first post so bear with me.
Firstly read Wisby's appraisal of Hall which wasnt too glowing. Indicated future was more likely as KPP possibly in 3 years time.
Noel Judkins interview also indicated more a key position prospect than ruck, a project player (dont we love that terminology) and a bit of a gamble.
Has anyone from collingwood been seen dancing on tables with the selection of Hall.

With regards Kreuger this board has constantly debated the negatives associated with a 195cm ruckman in the AFL. Surely we dont think he has been recruited as a ruckman? Definately going to be groomed as a KPP possibly a CHB.

Originally posted by naughty monkey

I am sorry, but to me James Fantasia has just confirmed he is a dikhed who doesn't know his arse from his elbow. Outside of Watts, this list is no better off than last year, arguably worse.

you have confirmed more about yourself than anything else.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
With regards Kreuger this board has constantly debated the negatives associated with a 195cm ruckman in the AFL. Surely we dont think he has been recruited as a ruckman? Definately going to be groomed as a KPP possibly a CHB.
Firstly welcome aboard mate;)

Secodly, the sad thing is that we have recruited Krueger as a ruckman who can also play KP. At 195 cm he is nowhere near tall enough for an AFL ruckman. I don't care how big a leap he has. Maybe he is our secret weapon to beat Lynch:p

Maybe we didnt draft him for ruck duties but KPP
Hudson as our mature ready to play ruckman now and several rooky ruckman on RL.

consensus from knowledgable Collingwood people that Hall is also more likely KPP

Dont think there was another ruckman we all agreed was worthy of putting on our main list.
Think the search will continue

I guess the time will tell. Krueger might develop into a very good KPP who can pinch hit in the ruck. Maybe he is one of those blokes who improves dramatically with a pre-season with an AFL club under his belt (ala Aidan Parker)

All the rated youngsters from SA were snapped up by #31, maybe Cosgriff who appears to have been highly rated.

Big question mark on Gayfer - doesnt appear to be any reason for his non pick.

Towards the end of last year it was apparent we looked slow with Macleod out of the mid field.
Knowing johncock is going to go into the midfield we have little in reserve in the way of speedsters coming through.
need to address the need for speed

Firstly read Wisby's appraisal of Hall which wasnt too glowing. Indicated future was more likely as KPP possibly in 3 years time.
Noel Judkins interview also indicated more a key position prospect than ruck, a project player (dont we love that terminology) and a bit of a gamble.
Has anyone from collingwood been seen dancing on tables with the selection of Hall.

I agree about the speed in the midfield. Next draft we definetly need to get a good young ruckman and a couple of good midifelders with pace. Personally, I think we are stocked with KPPs. They might not be of star quality but they can play their role. Watts, S. Stevens, Hentschel, Parker, Rutten and others show some promise and all are capable of playing good AFL footy down the track.

Now we need to get some midfielders into the group. Hopefully we have learned our lesson and we will not draft our 1st and 2nd round picks no matter how late or early they are.

Welcome to the board, and a hell of a good post for your first.

As I've said elsewhere, AFC went off of Hall because he has only played WA colts to this stage, which makes him a 2 to 3 year project player at least, and we've all seen the poor success rate of project players. As you've pointed out some very good judges have pointed out that taking Hall had a large element of gamble in it.

As for Krueger, you're probably right - perhaps the plan is to turn him into a defensive KPP who can ruck if needed.

Got the impression we were so desperate for KPP we overstocked in the hope one would shine. Look how many 193cm+ blokes we have turned over in our search.
Danger is we have so many on our list we have neglected restocking our midfield, particularly with an emphasis on speed.

The carey deal in retrospect really hurt as we would have picked up Wells with the #4 pick for sugar, and I still believe we could have completed a seperate deal for Carey.
Pity we couldnt have kept the Sugar trade under wraps until the Carey deal had been done.

Wells would have been a ten year player with speed.

I think Schuback will inject an element of speed into the midfield.

If Ayres plays McLeod in the bloody midfield (and word is Macca had a spat at Ayres and threatened to walk if his midfield spot wasn't back in 2004, rightfully so) then speed shouldn't be an issue.

Obviously there is Johncock.

Got the impression we were so desperate for KPP we overstocked in the hope one would shine. Look how many 193cm+ blokes we have turned over in our search.
Danger is we have so many on our list we have neglected restocking our midfield, particularly with an emphasis on speed.

The carey deal in retrospect really hurt as we would have picked up Wells with the #4 pick for sugar, and I still believe we could have completed a seperate deal for Carey.
Pity we couldnt have kept the Sugar trade under wraps until the Carey deal had been done.

Wells would have been a ten year player with speed.

And again you're right. I was all for the Carey deal, so I'm admitting that I got it just as wrong as the club did. But in hindsight I would rather have had Wells for 10 to 12 years than Carey for 2, as 1 of them has gone, and nothing has been achieved.

Mind you if Carey's part of a team that wins the flag next year I'll change my mind 180 degrees again!! :D

We do need some speed in the midfield as well as at least one in and under midfielder as well. If we're not careful the pipeline of quality mid-fielders will dry up.

That's why it really gave me the sh*ts to read that we are going to ask 7 ruckmen to try out with us before the rookie draft!!!

7 bloody ruckmen!!

*shakes head* :confused:

Originally posted by macca23
That's why it really gave me the sh*ts to read that we are going to ask 7 ruckmen to try out with us before the rookie draft!!!

7 bloody ruckmen!!

*shakes head* :confused:
I can sort of see the point why they did it. Invite as many ruckman as we can to the pre-season draft and see up close and personal, who has what it takes and who is really just making up the numbers. I don't really have a problem with inviting 7 ruckman. However, I do have a problem with inviting only 3 more players on top of those 7 ruckman.

Is there a limit as to how many players we can invite to training??????

I see Jacob Surjan has been invited to train with the Eagles. Why haven't we invited him??????

Confusing isnt it, not likely to get anything of any quality unless 15 other clubs who are also looking for bigmen are wrong.

Shirley has potential to take over from Bickley, Johncock into the midfield, and schuback possibly (looks to have good upside). Gallagher is a one position player, who if was a bit taller could have the flexibility to be a good player.

But who else?
our pick of the pre-season need to be for a midfielder

Probably because he is in WA and invited by West Coast. I imagine, as simply training with a club promises you no drafting and has no wage attached, the chances of getting a young kid over from WA on the possibility we MIGHT draft him is very small.

Think about it people. If you're a young fella you're going to train with a club near home if they offer.

Probably because he is in WA and invited by West Coast. I imagine, as simply training with a club promises you no drafting and has no wage attached, the chances of getting a young kid over from WA on the possibility we MIGHT draft him is very small.

Think about it people. If you're a young fella you're going to train with a club near home if they offer.
We got Parker to come over and train with us last year and that in and under midfielder from Victoria who was rookie listed by Melbourne (and is still on their rookie list) whose name escapes me ATM.

Unless you go down to West Lakes and watch 7 bloody 7 foot pelicans from all over Australia running around!!

Ruckman bloody phobia!! :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I don't think we will use the pre-season pick. We will pick up 4 rookies of which 2-3 will be ruckman.

And that will p*ss me off to high heaven if we do.

There ARE 17 other positions on the ground.

Originally posted by macca23
And that will p*ss me off to high heaven if we do.

There ARE 17 other positions on the ground.
C'mon macca23 we are desperate:p

2 ruckman should be OK but anything more would be madness.

I would love to have Rookie List like this:

Aidan Parker
William Gayfer
Jacob Surjan
Ruckman 1
Ruckman 2