Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

bradrowe#32 said:
Haha, sounds about right. I never got to see big Johnny Mac, which is a shame.

Come down to doutta stars this year and you will see big Jonny Mac in action. He has left Port Fairy.

Aussie_dude said:
Come down to doutta stars this year and you will see big Jonny Mac in action. He has left Port Fairy.

Gee, he's the equivalent to a football ho. He'd be getting on a bit wouldn't he?

bradrowe#32 said:
Gee, he's the equivalent to a football ho. He'd be getting on a bit wouldn't he?

I reakon he would be 33. Got drafted at 16 in 1988. But the bloke is really fit, they dont call him Big Johnny Mac for nothing. However, i like many suspect some substance abuse. And im not just talking about steriods

Aussie_dude said:
I reakon he would be 33. Got drafted at 16 in 1988. But the bloke is really fit, they dont call him Big Johnny Mac for nothing. However, i like many suspect some substance abuse. And im not just talking about steriods

There are a few posters here who could tell you all about Johnny Mac. Here's a couple: when he was playing for Rochy, they were in the preliminary final at Deakin. Before the game, JMac decided to shave his n u t s and cut himself. He played however, and kicked 1 goal 7, rochy went down by a slender margin.
One day at Seymour, he was baking the side after a loss. Incidently, he gave Jeff Anderson a gob full and told him he 'couldn't bruise a grape!'. Anderson went on to win the Best and Fairest that year as an 19YO, has represented the GVL heaps since, and has also played for Vic Country. He also has what Johnny Mac never did when playing in the GVL - a premiership medal.
Unfortunately, JMac is happier spending his footy money at "man what a fuss" and other random salons in melbourne....

Doona2 said:
Cats should tell Harbajan to hit the road obviously he aint a team player, I sure do hope to christ that $1300/sign on talk is much much over the odds. Again I say with disappointment, clubs that continue to shell out coin like this are contributing to the demise of country footy - soon 17-18 year old kids will have their hands out before they commence a pre-season. I guess the days of loyalty and the love of the game or more importantly one's club are gone forever :(

Singh has been offered less than what he was getting last year and isnt happy about it at all. He is definately a football prostitute, but surely he would be more value to mooroopna than a "party boy" loose cannon like norman?? Some games last year singh nearly won off his own boot, and he was the difference between them getting absolutely spanked week in week out.

Having said that, I agree with doona that players who show no loyalty whatsoever are no good for country footy at all. Singh obviously doesnt give a crap who he plays for as long as the money is right - he probably doesnt even care whether they win or lose.

If mooroopna dont cough up what he wants, I've heard that he is contemplating a very tempting offer from another GV club who has the cheque book out this year...

Doona2 said:
Cats should tell Harbajan to hit the road obviously he aint a team player, I sure do hope to christ that $1300/sign on talk is much much over the odds. Again I say with disappointment, clubs that continue to shell out coin like this are contributing to the demise of country footy - soon 17-18 year old kids will have their hands out before they commence a pre-season. I guess the days of loyalty and the love of the game or more importantly one's club are gone forever :(

I get what you're saying Doona, and you have made your feelings on this topic quite clear over the last few months, but I'm not sure it's as bad as you make out. Sure, $1,300/wk is a ridiculous price to pay for a footballer, no matter what the calibre, and even if the cats have 5 blokes getting $1,000+/wk, there's still 17-18 other blokes who aren't getting near that amount. But to be successful, the cats, and a majority of sides in the GV, feel that they have to shell out some serious $ to win a flag, as they believe locals alone cant win it. Blokes on this thread often sing the praises of Rochy and the like who traditionally don't fork out the $, and the side you coached last year (to a flag) is also proof that country footy isn't necessarily on the demise. I actually reckon country footy is pretty healthy, and while there are always going to be prostitutes, I reckon 80-90% of players are happy not to get much $, yet play in successful sides with their mates...

And if Singh almost "won a couple of games off his own boot last year", surely that means he's putting in and attempting to help his side win... I say good on the cats, helps add a bit of interest to the 06 season, like Mansfield when they got Hotton, Mensch, Hehir, etc, and the Lions when they got the bullants..

Saints' brothers in arms

By Mark Brown

November 3 2005
Shepparton News

Family ties have helped Benalla land its first key recruit of the off-season.
Brett Vallender, the gun centre half-forward who helped orchestrate Nathalia's droughtbreaking premiership win in September, has verbally committed to the Saints for next year.

Benalla coach Jason MacFarlane confirmed Vallender's pending arrival yesterday.

"He's told us he's right to go, which is great," MacFarlane said.

"He's a good player who will fit in well."

Vallender, whose older brothers Greg and Glen are already at the Saints, will add another marking option to Benalla's already impressive forward structure.

He was close to best player on the ground in Nathalia's grand final win over Tocumwal, ripping down almost 10 marks in slippery conditions.

Had Vallender kicked straight that day, he could have easily finished the grand final with five goals.

MacFarlane said the Saints were confident of retaining the bulk of their list, including gun spearhead Ricky Symes.

The century goalkicker is said to be fielding some big offers from Murray league side Barooga, but MacFarlane expected Symes to stay.

"He's indicated to me that he'd like to stick around and have a crack at a premiership with his home club," MacFarlane said.

"We're not looking to recruit the world. We need a versatile ruckman and another on-baller."

Benalla ended this season in fourth position.

Gee, it's shaping as an exciting season in the GV 2006! Saints will be going in pretty pumped if they can keep Symes and sign Vallender, the cats look as though they might give finals a serious shake for the first time since god knows when, Euroa will be strong again, Lions will be strong again, Tat could do anything with all the supposed $ they've got, and if Rochy get Brown, Anderson and another top recruit, they could also be right up there...

No wonder people regard it as the best league outside the VFL...and it's still only November! Heaps of water to pass under the bridge before kick off time..

Guinea said:
I get what you're saying Doona, and you have made your feelings on this topic quite clear over the last few months, but I'm not sure it's as bad as you make out. Sure, $1,300/wk is a ridiculous price to pay for a

And if Singh almost "won a couple of games off his own boot last year", surely that means he's putting in and attempting to help his side win... I say good on the cats, helps add a bit of interest to the 06 season, like Mansfield when they got Hotton, Mensch, Hehir, etc, and the Lions when they got the bullants..

Of course he's going to put in on game day, they are hardly going to pay him that kind of coin if he doesnt perform. Thats not what I meant.

If he was worried about helping his side win, why wouldnt he agree to sacrifice a small portion of his whopping big pay packet so the cats can fit in some more recruits to help them move up the ladder in 06? The same night he was offered slightly less than this year, he was on the phone to another GVFL club organising a deal for himself, and trying to lure another mooroopna player with him. Thats hardly the actions of someone who is trying to help their side win.

Other clubs in the gv have better players than him on half as much money because they want to help their club be successfull, and enjoy playing with their mates. Other players may be on heaps of coin like him, but are prepared to do the hard yards and stick with the one club through good and bad seasons, and be a good clubman.

I dont have a problem at all with clubs getting recruits, just get ones that actually give a f*ck about the team/club they are playing for. My club has recruited well the past few years, but the difference is we have recruits as loyal to the club as all of the local players...

Guinea said:
Gee, it's shaping as an exciting season in the GV 2006! Saints will be going in pretty pumped if they can keep Symes and sign Vallender, the cats look as though they might give finals a serious shake for the first time since god knows when, Euroa will be strong again, Lions will be strong again, Tat could do anything with all the supposed $ they've got, and if Rochy get Brown, Anderson and another top recruit, they could also be right up there...

No wonder people regard it as the best league outside the VFL...and it's still only November! Heaps of water to pass under the bridge before kick off time..

Brown not going to Rochy. Heard from very reliable source.

Just on the Big JMac (HJ32's post), you didn't mention the time he belted one of his own team mates on the field for getting in his way.

Both he and another seymour player were going for the ball and the big coach whacked his own team mate with a fore arm across the head to stop him from getting it so he (JMac) could get a touch.

Was a match winner on his day, but an absolute tool banger every other day.

Wizz said:
What is your official role at Seymour other than player?

I can confirm FBP is on the committee and would know what the Lions shelled out this year.
It's pretty much common knowledge throughout the club what sort of package Stevie D and his crew were on. Then you've got what those that weren't part of that deal got, and I can assure you Seymour wouldn't have paid anywhere near $150,000.

Damon Clarke no certainty to Euora.

Two or three DVFL clubs having a big dig at him.

What was his juniour club before Bullants?

Grandale said:
I can confirm FBP is on the committee and would know what the Lions shelled out this year.
It's pretty much common knowledge throughout the club what sort of package Stevie D and his crew were on. Then you've got what those that weren't part of that deal got, and I can assure you Seymour wouldn't have paid anywhere near $150,000.

Thanks for that Grandale.

I can tell you that if Seymour were paying that kind of coin, then we would have the mass exodus everyone has talked about. The only way we don't have the exodus of players is by keeping the budget within the relms of possibility.

Euroa would be in the same boat. They would know what their capabilities are, and Xavier Thomson isn't a stupid person, i'm sure they are paying what they are capable of bringing into the club.

Anyway, if Singh is on $1,300p/w (that is here-say probably not true), Mooroopna must be spending well beyond what Seymour is considering they had Hall, Brad and Blake campbell, they had Matt Chillcot for a few games there (wouldn't play for free). Plus others that we don't know gets paid.

Grandale said:

To say he is on the committee means ********!

At most clubs the only people that know what the players are on are the players themselves and the president. At my, club committee members know nothing about payments, and only cause rumours to start. Even the Treasurer knows nothing. The only other person at a club that has any idea is the coach, but at my club he doesnt know either.

Aussie_dude said:
This is why i ask the question about money. im from the EDFL and Tatura are offering some of my mates big money to play there in 2006. These blokes were VFL players, and good players, but not worth the money they are being offered. One bloke is arron willaby, the tatura offer is massive and he is only worth $350 in my league. I heard the Tatura offer was more like 500 plus sign on.

If these clubs are playing these blokes, this type of money, they must pay $150,000+. Maybe Seymore dont but i reakon Mansfield and Tatura do.

Mansfield certainly did. Hulme was on a reported $1200 a game, mensch on around $1500+ (and it was more when he was coach), Hotton would be on a fair pay packet as well. Add those three up alone and then add Trewella, Stevenson, Trenfield, Cam Hotton, and they have a fair pay listing per week.

Mind you, their gate has trippled i believe since all these big name signings, they have sponsorship from Mt Buller Challet, so it has had its positives.

The thing is, if they have the backing from sponsors, and locals, etc and they can afford to do it, good on them.

Every team in the goulburn valley would only pay what their committee's can raise. They are no different, the committee's are still run by local volunteers who love their club. And know what they are capable of spending.

Duff Man (i think it was) put it dead right, its about the people you have in charge that decide what you pay, Seymour were lucky enough to get Steve Daniel, who brought blokes up because they wanted to play under him, but they played for less such that they can enjoy success.

Doesn't supprise anyone at Seymour when people say we must be spending $150k+ to put the team we have on the park, but those in the know, know exactly what is being forked out.

Every club in Australia is the same. They pay what they think they can earn. If clubs go out and spend too much in chase of glory, it will catch up with them, and those who have had a winge about teams "buying" premierships will probably have the last laugh. Nothing beats consistancy, but if you don't have consistancy, you need to change your tack, and try something different.

Aussie_dude said:

At most clubs the only people that know what the players are on are the players themselves and the president. At my, club committee members know nothing about payments, and only cause rumours to start. Even the Treasurer knows nothing. The only other person at a club that has any idea is the coach, but at my club he doesnt know either.

Sounds like the Stalag 13 FC with Schulz in charge. I know nuthink!

Aussie_dude said:

Individual payments - fair enough, but overall package of players-coaches, etc, I do know and the committee MUST know that such that they can understand the work required from them. Don't worry about me mate, i know more than you may think.

I have a fair incling what some players are on. But as if i would say anything, you don't think we reallise what other clubs do, and how they are run. I would say nearly every club keeps personal payments between the player, coach and president, maybe the secretary knows. Seymour is no different.

You can get in big strife if people know what players are on.

On the same account, sometimes its good, if a good player has decided to take a big pay cut, play for nothing etc, and some people still think he gets big money.

If the player is getting bagged for not performing, then knowing what he is actually on rather than have committee people assume he is on big bucks is a good thing. Keeps the harmony within the club, and the credibility of those who decide what a player is on, and that they aren't doing the dodgy on the rest of the committee.

You must remember that it is the committee who go out and get sponsors, members, organise things etc, bring in the money that pays the bills. Sometimes a little info is good. Not too much though. But a little.

Aussie_dude said:

He's a lot better placed to say what players were paid than some of these outsiders that seem to think they know.
That's what I'm getting at.

it's one of the more sensible posts you've put up there, FBP.

It's no secret that the Lions have had a crack dollar wise over the past 2 years. It's ordinary that some rivals think it's just an attempt at a quick win to play finals. Consistency is definately the key, and I have nothing but admiration for a club like Rochy who keep coming up with a competitive side every year. The simple fact is, the lions had to do something back at the end of 2003.

Score is on the board: they finished 4th last year and won it this year. They'll keep most of their players again for 2006 and the club has got a massive wave of support which was missing for so many years. This tells me they must be doing something right.

Enjoy the successful times FBP, the club as a whole deserves them.

HJ32 said:
it's one of the more sensible posts you've put up there, FBP.

It's no secret that the Lions have had a crack dollar wise over the past 2 years. It's ordinary that some rivals think it's just an attempt at a quick win to play finals. Consistency is definately the key, and I have nothing but admiration for a club like Rochy who keep coming up with a competitive side every year. The simple fact is, the lions had to do something back at the end of 2003.

Score is on the board: they finished 4th last year and won it this year. They'll keep most of their players again for 2006 and the club has got a massive wave of support which was missing for so many years. This tells me they must be doing something right.

Enjoy the successful times FBP, the club as a whole deserves them.

Totally agree, and if the cats want to do the same, good on them, it's been a long time that they've been on the bottom. Mansfield and Seymour have both been successful at it, and while you can't expect to keep ALL the players you recruit for 2+ yrs, it seems as though a few will kick on at the eagles and even after Steve D leaves the lions, I wouldn't be surprised if the lions still retained a few. Then, with the development of the juniors and having consistent sponsors who may have jumped off during the un-successful years, it becomes a bit easier to stay competitive.. Plus, it will be good for the league and add a bit of excitement if the cats can claw their way up there. As long as they realise that history suggests you need 2 good yrs to win a big one..

[fat back pocket] Anyway, if Singh is on $1,300p/w (that is here-say probably not true), Mooroopna must be spending well beyond what Seymour is considering they had Hall, Brad and Blake campbell, they had Matt Chillcot for a few games there (wouldn't play for free). Plus others that we don't know gets paid.

Other names you can chuck in are Shaun Robbins, Robert Osborne and Jeff Vandermeer (who is also an asst coach along with Brad Campbell).

They also got some bloke from Peel Thunder (cant think of his name right now). Dont think he played a game as he did his knee during pre-season, but I'm sure the club would have covered some costs to get him over as well as a sign on fee.

Duff Man said:
[fat back pocket] Anyway, if Singh is on $1,300p/w (that is here-say probably not true), Mooroopna must be spending well beyond what Seymour is considering they had Hall, Brad and Blake campbell, they had Matt Chillcot for a few games there (wouldn't play for free). Plus others that we don't know gets paid.

Other names you can chuck in are Shaun Robbins, Robert Osborne and Jeff Vandermeer (who is also an asst coach along with Brad Campbell).

They also got some bloke from Peel Thunder (cant think of his name right now). Dont think he played a game as he did his knee during pre-season, but I'm sure the club would have covered some costs to get him over as well as a sign on fee.

Dale Walkinshaw...is the man you are looking for

G'day Fellas. A newbie here who has been following this great thread lately. Great discussions posted regularly and a good read to kill some boring time in the day. Yes I am from Seymour in case you were wondering and I have heard that Patty Rattray and Rod Van Riet are leaving the Den for VFL clubs. Can you confirm FBP?

Chance said:
G'day Fellas. A newbie here who has been following this great thread lately. Great discussions posted regularly and a good read to kill some boring time in the day. Yes I am from Seymour in case you were wondering and I have heard that Patty Rattray and Rod Van Riet are leaving the Den for VFL clubs. Can you confirm FBP?

Not sure about Patty, he has been enquiring about moving to Bendigo with Glenn Dowling, so maybe he has been contacted by Bendigo, which is great to see.

Van Riet i'm pretty sure has been set up to at least do a pre-season with Bullants. After his good showing in the GF i think he could play at least VFL reserves.

Good luck to both of them if they go, Rod especially has been a good servant to the Lions, driving back this year after moving to melb for Uni. Patty only had the one season with the Lions, but was a hand pick up after we lost Ramma.

Only time will tell. With Pre-season starting in just a few weeks now, should be interesting to see who rocks up. Theres no doubt the club is looking for further success, obviously back to back, with the intension of putting a few of the under 18 kids in. Jake Anderson, Dom Russo, along with Rob Inness, Mick Shiels and Dave Brockway. So these blokes will fill the void left by Meat-tray and Rocket.