Official GVFL thread (part 1)

Re: Official GVFL thread

hank1 said:
Definately in GV rep side, whether top10, not sure. probably best suited to a back flank these days, so would hold down that spot in the GV side no worries.

Further to the signings Elliot Bowen hasnt scored a mention from what I can see. Very good footballer and will definetely be worth watching.Ex Digger and still relatively young.

Rochy have only lost Nick Knight to South Bendigo and Browny is 100%. Hope they do something about their embarrasing 2nds though!!

galloping gasometer said:
Further to the signings Elliot Bowen hasnt scored a mention from what I can see. Very good footballer and will definetely be worth watching.Ex Digger and still relatively young.

Rochy have only lost Nick Knight to South Bendigo and Browny is 100%. Hope they do something about their embarrasing 2nds though!!

Has been covered a few times including today on this page. Yes is a huge signing for the tigers.

galloping gasometer said:

Chris McCarty will play the first 7 games before heading overseas, this is a massive loss. They have really only just covered what they have lost, maybe a little better off.

lion's_roar said:
Massive rumour that Brown will sign at Rochy and sign soon .. wonder whether he'll write his own back page story on his himself. they reckon he gives himself a good wrap in the cricket reports, maybe the footy will be the same.

In all seriousness though, If he does sign, Rochy will be a definite top six .. looking like, Euroa, Seymour, Benalla and Rochy are the four at the moment.. nobody else seems to have done a great deal.

When are tat going to get the cheque book out and sign the marquee player they always promise. Can we expect another mark Richardson? are the ones they've already signed any good

Rochy will want to start off well this year, as they lose McCarty mid year and have a number of players that are new at the club who make take some time to play well together. McCarty will be a big loss with his ability to win the ball out of the middle.

just signed said:
Chris McCarty will play the first 7 games before heading overseas, this is a massive loss. They have really only just covered what they have lost, maybe a little better off.

Just beat me Just Signed. I agree, they have only picked up what they have lost - Knight was a good run with player that seemed to pick up a lot of the big name opposition players for Rochy last year - hard to replace these types of players...

Wisper said:
Just beat me Just Signed. I agree, they have only picked up what they have lost - Knight was a good run with player that seemed to pick up a lot of the big name opposition players for Rochy last year - hard to replace these types of players...

If they do get Brown (IF), then they have picked up two blokes that have held down key position posts in the VFL so they will definately be better off than last year. Browny also played a fair bit in the middle for Numurkah last year, so very versatile. There will be improvement from within the ranks also with Letcher and Montague playing a fair few senior games, only young and showed they can handle themselves at the level. Pappin and Cuttriss found consistency last year and they will only get better from there.
McCarty will be a big loss after mid year but who knows if they are sitting pretty he might just have a rethink. Heard Brenton Gray still isnt out of the question.

hank1 said:
If they do get Brown (IF), then they have picked up two blokes that have held down key position posts in the VFL so they will definately be better off than last year. Browny also played a fair bit in the middle for Numurkah last year, so very versatile. There will be improvement from within the ranks also with Letcher and Montague playing a fair few senior games, only young and showed they can handle themselves at the level. Pappin and Cuttriss found consistency last year and they will only get better from there.
McCarty will be a big loss after mid year but who knows if they are sitting pretty he might just have a rethink. Heard Brenton Gray still isnt out of the question.

I've heard Rochy are still working pretty hard on Gray - has he given any indication of when he might make his decision? Both Stanhope and Rochy would be keen to have him penned in soon..

McCarty's definitely gone after round 7 - already bought his ticket and informed work, no chance of him having a rethink..

Also, I heard that Montague is likely to have a crack at the Pioneers - if he decides to play there you'd think he'd be a regular, and so miss most of the season for the tigers. Too early to make an accurate prediction of where they might finish. Euroa, Seymour and Benalla would be front runners at this stage, Mooroopna would have to be a chance to be right up there, then any of Mansfield, Rochy, Shepp and United could round out the top 6.

Wheres Tige? Prolly still on hols, he should have us some info on Tat........he said after xmas all will be revealed!

Still not a huge amount to talk about echucaboy, talking to a few ex AFL players one of which is working with Micky Gayfer so i would be suprised if we didnt sign him which would give us a 1 ex league footballer and if all goes well should have a 2nd coming HOPEFULLY.

How was everyones holidays??? anyone get to Summerdayz???? was massive.............

tige19 said:
Still not a huge amount to talk about echucaboy, talking to a few ex AFL players one of which is working with Micky Gayfer so i would be suprised if we didnt sign him which would give us a 1 ex league footballer and if all goes well should have a 2nd coming HOPEFULLY.

How was everyones holidays??? anyone get to Summerdayz???? was massive.............

yeah back today.............:thumbsdown: Went to Geeelong for the party on the waterfront thingy, was a fair old time. Summerdayz wudda been awesome tho..........doesnt work just suck!

Doona2 said:
Any Xmas/New Year happenings at Euroa BOSS, when will training be firing back up? Sure is gunna be another big year of GV footy and Im so looking forward to having a more in depth look. I dont wanna go over old ground and rekindle the Euroa/Seymour thing, but I reckon those 2 clubs will be the standouts yet again after some handy additions to their respective lists.

Spent the time in Yarrawonga and Tocumwal water skiing and playing golf. Training kicks off this Thursday night for everyone, so will be interested to see who drank and ate to much over the last 2 weeks.
Nathan "happy' Harper leaves on his around Australia tour tomorrow, so he will be missed in the backline this year. I suppose it will come down to who gets the most injuries between Euroa and Seymour.

Have seen a fair bit of gv footy and played with schmity but would not have in the top 10 players.Still a good player but probably 25-30 better than him in a verry strong comp.Nothing against him

T.Perry said:
Also, I heard that Montague is likely to have a crack at the Pioneers - if he decides to play there you'd think he'd be a regular, and so miss most of the season for the tigers. Too early to make an accurate prediction of where they might finish. Euroa, Seymour and Benalla would be front runners at this stage, Mooroopna would have to be a chance to be right up there, then any of Mansfield, Rochy, Shepp and United could round out the top 6.

Montague will definately play Pioneers... gun that kid.

Rochy will also get Matt Letcher into the ones, played half the season there last year and also Scott Hann who played all year with Pio's last year. Very smart player, probs fwd flank and swap a little on the ball.. one possible replacement for McCarty when he takes off o/s.

Need at least another big name signature to be considered a possible top four

tige19 said:

Might have been a massive day, but probably the s**test one i've been to. Rained non stop for 5 hours, the music got switched off twice on the main stage because it was too crowded down the front (once for 45 mins), and the music was pretty ordinairy all day. I think carols by candlelight would have been the best event held at the music bowl in the last month :D

Was at summadayze with a few of your old team mates from coburg tige...

sticks25 said:
Have seen a fair bit of gv footy and played with schmity but would not have in the top 10 players.Still a good player but probably 25-30 better than him in a verry strong comp.Nothing against him

Can't argue with that, but I would have Lenny in the GV team... would be very handy at that level - played well when selected in 2004.

He is a back flanker, however when Heath Aitken missed final 7 games last year, went into the middle and played some very good footy

FOOTYBOSS said:
Spent the time in Yarrawonga and Tocumwal water skiing and playing golf. Training kicks off this Thursday night for everyone, so will be interested to see who drank and ate to much over the last 2 weeks.
Nathan "happy' Harper leaves on his around Australia tour tomorrow, so he will be missed in the backline this year. I suppose it will come down to who gets the most injuries between Euroa and Seymour.

I agree I think it will come down to who's list (Euroa or Seymour) survives the season in the best shape. Two very strong lists who should take some beating again in 2006. Is Millsy (Mark) playing on in 2006? If so he's my tip for enjoying Xmas the most, great fella who knows how to have a good time!!!

Doona2 said:
I agree I think it will come down to who's list (Euroa or Seymour) survives the season in the best shape. Two very strong lists who should take some beating again in 2006. Is Millsy (Mark) playing on in 2006? If so he's my tip for enjoying Xmas the most, great fella who knows how to have a good time!!!

There will be more sides than just Seymour and Euroa push up for the 2006 flag. Benalla will be on the pace while others sides have the potential to step up and play off to I would suggest.

a.k.a. said:
Might have been a massive day, but probably the s**test one i've been to. Rained non stop for 5 hours, the music got switched off twice on the main stage because it was too crowded down the front (once for 45 mins), and the music was pretty ordinairy all day. I think carols by candlelight would have been the best event held at the music bowl in the last month :D

Was at summadayze with a few of your old team mates from coburg tige...

a.k.a, what boys where you with mate?? you didnt like Summerdayz?? was with a heaps of boys from Sunbury and a few of the ex Richmond boys who where away with the fairys, funny stuff........

Thought Fatboy Slim was ok, Bodyrockers when on where really good but because of the delay where on for about 30 mins (Kay James needs a punch in the head), but probably the house section where onelove was would have been the best part of the day.

Anyway any news in Shepp???

Cheers mate

sticks25 said:

Sticks, would have to agree with u mate sprooker is nearly past it, good in his day don't get me wrong but i think work load and age are starting to catch up with him, Back flank would be his posi coz its one of the easiest to play in modern footy, no responsability other than to attack and that suits lennie to a t, don't know how mark "skunk" brown will take to receiving lens choppers again though maybe he's straightened up his kicking since their diggers days. Perhaps Rochy should be chasing Drummy as an assistant to dirty as they have half his old side up there.:D

tige19 said:
a.k.a, what boys where you with mate?? you didnt like Summerdayz?? was with a heaps of boys from Sunbury and a few of the ex Richmond boys who where away with the fairys, funny stuff........

Thought Fatboy Slim was ok, Bodyrockers when on where really good but because of the delay where on for about 30 mins (Kay James needs a punch in the head), but probably the house section where onelove was would have been the best part of the day.

Anyway any news in Shepp???

Cheers mate

Was with Langy, miller and a few others. Getting rained on for ages, and then all the crap with the music being switched off due to overcrowding kinda turned me off it a bit. The richmond boys wouldnt have been the only ones off with the fairys, there was some toss bag with his shirt off (in the rain) still jumping around dancing for half an hour while there was no music on - absolute unit. Fatboy slim wasnt as good as i thought he'd be, apparently his set on new years eve in sydney was heaps better.

Highlight for the day for me would have been when two guyz slid down the hill on a big blow up ring/chair thing, hit two people, then ploughed into this big fat chick walking through the crowd. Absolutely flattened her! Needless to say the ring came off second best and will never be inflated again :D

Looking forward to training starting again this week. After two massive weeks on the turps over xmas / new year. My kidneys will definately be thanking me...

Does anyone know if that "GV man of the mountain" (insert the real bulls**t name here if you know it) thing is still going ahead? Heaps of talk about it towards the end of last season, but been nothing since...

a.k.a. said:
Does anyone know if that "GV man of the mountain" (insert the real bulls**t name here if you know it) thing is still going ahead? Heaps of talk about it towards the end of last season, but been nothing since...

No...off, not sure of reasons though. Ask Eric Bottom (he he) he might know. Classic.

tige19 said:

Tige ,mate , I know Mick's a fitness fanatic but surely he must be nearly past it. Is he still living and working in melb? I could understand if you chasing his younger brother Ben? who played bushies 2 or 3 years ago.

Sorry tige, misread your comment. A man shouldn't drink snd drive his computer.

Hi all heard about the site so thought id sign up and enter all the GVFL goss topics that get around.