OK! Be fair dinkum?

Mate, if you've read my posts over the past 3-4 months you'll know I've been spruiking Currie with great gusto. I think he WILL be a star, I mistakenly thought he'd been mentioned as being a regular last season, which we all know is not true.
As for white and Grundy being labelled together: White's played, what, two senior games. I think he's got to be afforded a bit more slack than Grundy, although I'm hopeful both will step up.

Mate, I was taking the piss......thought that the mention of Chambers and Mott would have made that obvious.... sorry for any offence, others deserve it, you don't.:thumbsu:

How can any of use say where the swans are going to end up on the ladder.
The proper season hasn't even started.
yes the swans have some injuries , but they have still got a few of there most important players in. And those injured players will come back.
Yes more of the other teams are coming good , and whoever said richmond , are you out of your mind. They have ONE more good player and thats ben cousins , and he is how old ? , he will only go well against the weaker teams , id like to see him play against hawthorn & geelong and see how well he goes.
I reckon carlton will make finals this year , but we all said that last year.
And essendon will go well , but without andrew welsh in, good luck to yas.

:cool:

I'm sorry, I can't take anyone seriously who uses the word 'use' to mean 'you'...

Richmond have more than just one good player. Cotchin, Foley, White, Deledio, Tambling, Riewoldt, Raines, and Nathan Brown will all improve on last year either due to having come off an injury in 2007 last year, or having an extra year of experience. Adding vets like Cousins, Richo, Bowden and Johnson into the mix gives them another edge. The fact that they have so many speedy players in their team gives them a massive advantage over teams like us, where last year the pace of a team like Carlton was apparenty in comparison to us.

Carlton are less likely to make the 8 than Richmond, with Essendon even further behind.

Mate, I was taking the piss......thought that the mention of Chambers and Mott would have made that obvious.... sorry for any offence, others deserve it, you don't.:thumbsu:

No problems, I was a touch over-sensitive about a few things last week, but Sydney's grim performance yesterday has brought me back to cold, grey reality.

The sad thing about Ricky Mott was that I initially thought he was going to be okay, but apparently lifestyle issues overtook his football.

Cheers.

When have we ever performed well in the NAB Cup? Placing too much emphasis..

The winner of the NAB will be regarded as Premiership contenders only to end up loitering on the boundary of the top 8.

How can any of use say where the swans are going to end up on the ladder.
The proper season hasn't even started.
yes the swans have some injuries , but they have still got a few of there most important players in. And those injured players will come back.
Yes more of the other teams are coming good , and whoever said richmond , are you out of your mind. They have ONE more good player and thats ben cousins , and he is how old ? , he will only go well against the weaker teams , id like to see him play against hawthorn & geelong and see how well he goes.
I reckon carlton will make finals this year , but we all said that last year.
And essendon will go well , but without andrew welsh in, good luck to yas.

:cool:

I dunno about others, but I said Richmond would be an improver, and I'll sat it again. In fact, I'm very confident Richmond will make the eight (should make young Stat Machine happy) and if you think Cousins is the only difference to the Tigers 08 and the Tigers 09, you're showing a remarkable ignorance.

But that can happen.

I'm sorry, I can't take anyone seriously who uses the word 'use' to mean 'you'...

Richmond have more than just one good player. Cotchin, Foley, White, Deledio, Tambling, Riewoldt, Raines, and Nathan Brown will all improve on last year either due to having come off an injury in 2007 last year, or having an extra year of experience. Adding vets like Cousins, Richo, Bowden and Johnson into the mix gives them another edge. The fact that they have so many speedy players in their team gives them a massive advantage over teams like us, where last year the pace of a team like Carlton was apparenty in comparison to us.

Carlton are less likely to make the 8 than Richmond, with Essendon even further behind.

Well im sorry mr im so perfect at english.

Ditto... they were dark years my friend, dark dark years.

While we may not always make the finals those years are never to be repeated.

They never will be, and thank God for that. While we have a relatively small supporter base (i.e. people who genuinely follow the team/code, not just people who take mild interest in scorelines and BBBarry's antics), at least we have developed a reasonable sized core group of passionate fans who will be there through thick and thin. I well remember watching the boys get smashed week in and week out in front of 8k supporters (and my Grandad would make the same lame joke each week that "they must be counting legs, not heads"). But even if we reach those lows again onfield, we can at least count on the 15-20k true supporters to turn up to games and pay their membership fees each year.

As has been said before, that home Elimination Final will prove a defining moment in the Sydney Swans history. Anyone who makes that crowd out to be a bad thing can bugger off. What instead it shows is that there are about 16-17 000 Swans fans who will always be there for the team, and that number will likely steadily increase in the next few decades as the team cements itself in the city.

that or when the nrl collapses :p;)

I dunno about others, but I said Richmond would be an improver, and I'll sat it again. In fact, I'm very confident Richmond will make the eight (should make young Stat Machine happy) and if you think Cousins is the only difference to the Tigers 08 and the Tigers 09, you're showing a remarkable ignorance.

But that can happen.

I've been saying Richmond are contenders to every Tiger I can find, even dropped in the odd "premiership certainties" to the more gullible. Nothing like getting their expectations up, the further the better.

Well im sorry mr im so perfect at english.

I'm not perfect, long way from, but y-o-u is a fair bit away from u-s-e so it's not exactly a typo...

Relax Stat Machine.

Our new member lists his location as Glenroy, smack bang in Melbournes north immigration zone, people talk like that in the region as a matter of growing up so if that's how he talks and writes so be it.

actaully , your thinking of broadmeadows
get it right.

I well remember watching the boys get smashed week in and week out in front of 8k supporters (and my Grandad would make the same lame joke each week that "they must be counting legs, not heads").

I've got a similar memory, it's my first really strong memory, sitting with my dad at an empty SCG watching the Swannies get humiliated again and having him say "Don't worry, it'll get better eventually".

Good call by him.:thumbsu:

If I'm honest, I dont see us making the eight. Too many question marks all over the park.

I think we'll really miss Kennelly down back.
I see the ruck as a potential weakness, although I haven't seen enough of Currie to know what he's going to bring. Certainly Beanie and Pyke aren't ready yet.
BBBH is going to have to turn the clock back and stay in his "happy place" all year or we will struggle to kick a winning score each week. We rely so heavily on him and Mickey O.

But the swans under Roos have had a knack for winning when you suspect they'll lose, and losing when you think they're a sure thing. So there is plenty of hope and I'll enjoy the ride as always.