OKFL 2017

Nice attempt to spin a story, not your fault Nonch you report what info you have but personally i reckon it is a load of crap.

Lastly the so called 'culture' they have at the club, it may be a winning culture, but if that means more to you than developing young men and giving them structure and setting a good example and not being exposed to what everyone knows goes on there from leaders down, then you can have it.

I totally agree with your comments. I thought the story was absolute bollocks, news isn't just about reporting what is said - it is also about fact checking, and playing the role of skeptic.

“News is something somebody doesn't want printed; all else is advertising.” - William Randolph Hearst

I dont mean to be too negative but if you believe that absolute rubbish about Glenrowan not forking out a large player payment bill you are kidding yourself. Your telling me Nige travelled from Melbourne each week for a couple of years for the love of Glenrowan? Or Rory Cunningham who still lives down there travels up each week for love - spare me. You don't have blokes travelling all over the countryside travelling for peanuts. Some of Tarra's recruits I reckon are an exception, as they are all locals and have either played there before or connected otherwise, but even they would be getting dollars. I am sure for example Hoggan if he is living in Melb will be demanding more than someone like Lachie Raven, who has moved up here, even though raven is a far better player.

Nice attempt to spin a story, not your fault Nonch you report what info you have but personally i reckon it is a load of crap.

Lastly the so called 'culture' they have at the club, it may be a winning culture, but if that means more to you than developing young men and giving them structure and setting a good example and not being exposed to what everyone knows goes on there from leaders down, then you can have it.

Personally I hope a team like Goorambat step up, they recruited players over a couple of years and are on the right path - I reckon they will have a good crack this year, although not up to Tarra / Glenrowan standard.

I would agree with you. They can not say they don't pay their footy players when my partner got offered money to go put on a netball dress from them. Mind you she didn't because of what the club was like. They can not say their culture is what is keeping everyone around. When they have life members last year handing their membership back and local businesses refusing to sponsor them.

Couldnt agree more, Ive always thought Nigel was a good coach, but to come out with that rubbish, does he think we are all dickheads...I know for a fact that the Kilners and Ralphs that went out there were paid well above what they should be getting, and what other clubs were willing to pay them. Maybe he's getting at that no money goes through the books, its all under the desk cash money !!!!

I dont mean to be too negative but if you believe that absolute rubbish about Glenrowan not forking out a large player payment bill you are kidding yourself. Your telling me Nige travelled from Melbourne each week for a couple of years for the love of Glenrowan? Or Rory Cunningham who still lives down there travels up each week for love - spare me. You don't have blokes travelling all over the countryside travelling for peanuts. Some of Tarra's recruits I reckon are an exception, as they are all locals and have either played there before or connected otherwise, but even they would be getting dollars. I am sure for example Hoggan if he is living in Melb will be demanding more than someone like Lachie Raven, who has moved up here, even though raven is a far better player.

Personally I hope a team like Goorambat step up, they recruited players over a couple of years and are on the right path - I reckon they will have a good crack this year, although not up to Tarra / Glenrowan standard.
he's just taking the piss having a bit of a joke, everyone knows the articles a load of crap, i'm sure he'd get a good hoot out everyone having a sook about his comments

While glenrowan has been successful

Tarrawingee...

Hamish Moore – (travelled from Melbourne from EDFL who pay big money)

Jesse Hemans (travelled from Melbourne same league as Moore)

Daniel Barrassi

Tom Lay Travelled with Hemmins

Jordy Solimo when first went out from O&M

The two Anderson boys- travelled from melbourne EDFL as well who pay good money

Kyle Raven – left an assistant coaching role at Rovers to go to Tarra

John McCormick

Trevor Edwards- from Geelong amateurs

Jamie bell- we all know how much he was on at north wang sent them broke and left the club in a mess

Ben Bell same as his brother

Jai Canny

Haven't even included the ovens and Murray boys they got last year, mulroony, cook, Hearn, Neave, peters and some of there local players like dan McCormick, Salmon would be taking there cut

Haven't included the 10 recruits from this year

The pies must be good at Tarra because they don't spend money just a can of coke and a pie after the game... Your kidding me

Miliwa

Carl Groth – big bucks

Gabe Obrien

Nathan Hooper – big bucks

Scott Gardner

Jack Stamp

Sam Madern

Hamilton

Mick Newton – Coaches fee

Brent newton

Brandon Ryan – big bucks only stayed the second year because he didn't want to play cause of financial gain

Sam Bowers – was going to play at wang magpies but the offer from miliwa was to good to refuse

Whyatt

Arron braden

Pritchard- left Beechworth because the offer was to good to refuse

Jack hill – was payed well above his capabilities travelled from Melbourne with no connection to the club...

Ben Clarke

Luke sims when he first went out there

A few of there loyal boys like Williamson would be taking a cut.

But like Tarra they don’t spend money just a pie and a can of soft drink

Don't get me started on the coin Bonnie Doon wasted.

While glenrowan has been successful

Tarrawingee...

Hamish Moore – (travelled from Melbourne from EDFL who pay big money)

Jesse Hemans (travelled from Melbourne same league as Moore)

Daniel Barrassi

Tom Lay Travelled with Hemmins

Jordy Solimo when first went out from O&M

The two Anderson boys- travelled from melbourne EDFL as well who pay good money

Kyle Raven – left an assistant coaching role at Rovers to go to Tarra

John McCormick

Trevor Edwards- from Geelong amateurs

Jamie bell- we all know how much he was on at north wang sent them broke and left the club in a mess

Ben Bell same as his brother

Jai Canny

Haven't even included the ovens and Murray boys they got last year, mulroony, cook, Hearn, Neave, peters and some of there local players like dan McCormick, Salmon would be taking there cut

Haven't included the 10 recruits from this year

The pies must be good at Tarra because they don't spend money just a can of coke and a pie after the game... Your kidding me

Miliwa

Carl Groth – big bucks

Gabe Obrien

Nathan Hooper – big bucks

Scott Gardner

Jack Stamp

Sam Madern

Hamilton

Mick Newton – Coaches fee

Brent newton

Brandon Ryan – big bucks only stayed the second year because he didn't want to play cause of financial gain

Sam Bowers – was going to play at wang magpies but the offer from miliwa was to good to refuse

Whyatt

Arron braden

Pritchard- left Beechworth because the offer was to good to refuse

Jack hill – was payed well above his capabilities travelled from Melbourne with no connection to the club...

Ben Clarke

Luke sims when he first went out there

A few of there loyal boys like Williamson would be taking a cut.

But like Tarra they don’t spend money just a pie and a can of soft drink

Don't get me started on the coin Bonnie Doon wasted.

Ha. I don't think either of those clubs have come out and said that they don't pay money. Clubs have to spend money on players. That is the way footy is these days.

Just to clarify, Nige at no point said Glenrowan doesn't spend money on players. He said that he and several others at the club are not paid; that the majority of their players play for less than market value; and that the overwhelming factor in retaining the core group of double and triple premiership players has been mateship, rather than money, which was the philosophy he was trying to instil when he first got there.

I'd like to know if all clubs player payments will be released at the end of the year (total club figure, not each individual), then we will really know who's paying what!!

Maybe Aspykid could enlighten us rather than keep us in suspense...

The players Tarra and Milawa recruited two years ago and how much they were paid has absolutely no relevance on the 2017 season. What matters is that Tarra have recruited brilliantly this off season by relying on their culture and the friendship of the playing group with the new recruits, I know for a fact many of the new players are playing for nothing. This is the reason Tarra start the season as flag favorites, not because of money.

I think what Nige said was ok. And pretty truthful to be honest. Those players are probably paid under market value but all good clubs have that. Its the only way to build depth at O&K. They went from zero to hero in a year which i didnt like but they have sustained it which has to be respected. And if they can do that why not? I bet greta or any club wouldnt say no if someone was going to chuck in a heap to get them competitive. Glenrowan was a basket case so to turn it around and raise the level of the league im not sure why everyone is against it. Only jealousy. Thats all the negative comments come from. If he come out and banged on about it being a family club or a club where young blokes should go i wouldnt agree with that but as a group of mates sticking together playing high level football they have done exactly that. And good on them. North wang is a perfect example of what not to do. 2012 win a flag then be hopeless for years after it with no money. Im glad they are starting to turn it around. Goorambat have raised to decent level too. I wish more clubs would so make it a better compition. Better than being a league everyone looks down on. I think teams like milawa, Tarra and glenrowan over the last few years could match it with most other district leagues around here which is great for our league

we all play footy for one thing thats to win the cup at the end of there and build mateships that bring families together to be life long friends at the same time if you can get paid the bucks to do that its a bonus i dont care what rubbish anyone says every club has spent cash on trying to win that cup good luck and well done to glenrowan i say in the end they have got what everyone else is chasing cash or not

The players Tarra and Milawa recruited two years ago and how much they were paid has absolutely no relevance on the 2017 season. What matters is that Tarra have recruited brilliantly this off season by relying on their culture and the friendship of the playing group with the new recruits, I know for a fact many of the new players are playing for nothing. This is the reason Tarra start the season as flag favorites, not because of money.
Your having a laugh aren't ya if You reckon hoggan, nordon, griffin, raven, Amery brother, auman etc are playing for free

I reckon Norden and Aumann would be the types to play for nothing, don't know the Amery kid but they reckon he is a good bloke so maybe playing for unders.

To be honest it doesn't matter if tarra are paying those guys the whole lot of the allowed $75000 cap! As long as they aren't busting the salary cap then they can spend it however they like, same for Glenrowan! I doubt that everything Nigel said is 100% accurate but no doubt they would have had to bring those payments back over the last two years to get anywhere near the cap. And that means some guys will be playing for less than they could get elsewhere, some guys perhaps aren't so generous and would still be on good money.

Any other club ours included would be lying if they said they wouldn't love for a wealthy benefactor to toss some $$ their way to relieve some of that pressure on fundraising.

Why didnt Nigel just admitt the reason he hasnt been paided is because Aspeykid (trooper70/ about four other profiles on here) gave him that block of land after the first flag. And to say they have a good culture what a joke. ❄❄⛄⛇☃

That makes a lot of sense and joins a few dots!

gee you blokes on here are very sad people that live in a fantasy world... I follow Glenrowan and I see a group of mates who remember all they did was save a club so it didn't end up like swanpool they didn't have to do it and still after 5 years are still playing together...

all the so called culture clubs like Tarra and Miliwa paid money to all those recruits who took there money and left... Why if a club of mates who busted there ass and played in a grand final together last year have to go out and recruit 10 players seems strange to me they don't trust the list they have and mates don't do that to each other good luck there will be some issues out there this year

Might chuck a prediction up.

Ladder:

Tarra
Glenrowan
Goorambat
All blacks
Milawa
Bright
--------
Bonnie Doon
King Valley
Greta