One more delisting!

Captain Kouta

Well, we can all stop our bleating ... because Callum's gone!

The Carlton Football Club today advised Callum Chambers that he will not be offered a new contract with the Club. Originally from Lucknow and the Gippsland Under 18s, Callum joined Carlton at the end of the 2004 season after playing 54 games for West Coast between 2000 and 2004. In his two seasons with Carlton Callum played 12 AFL matches and was a member of Carlton's 2005 pre-season premiership team.

"We wish Callum the very best for his future and thank him for his contribution to the Carlton Football Club, particularly the leadership and example he set for the younger players during his time at Carlton," said Grant Williams General Manager Football Operations

Captain Kouta said:
Well, we can all stop our bleating ... because Callum's gone!

The Carlton Football Club today advised Callum Chambers that he will not be offered a new contract with the Club. Originally from Lucknow and the Gippsland Under 18s, Callum joined Carlton at the end of the 2004 season after playing 54 games for West Coast between 2000 and 2004. In his two seasons with Carlton Callum played 12 AFL matches and was a member of Carlton's 2005 pre-season premiership team.

"We wish Callum the very best for his future and thank him for his contribution to the Carlton Football Club, particularly the leadership and example he set for the younger players during his time at Carlton," said Grant Williams General Manager Football Operations
Poor fella as he wont get to be a part of the Carlton resurgence, but he didnt show much after his first few games in the Wizard Cup when he nailed a few huge goals from outside 50. Made the glorious Wizard Cup Win a but more exciting for me.

BANG, thats 7 gone. How many more you think will go or will that be it?

Seven senior spots and 3 rookie spots available. Seems like a pretty good turnover to me.

Maybe making room for a Skipworth/Makepeace as well as a speccie ruckman.

If I was in charge (oh yeah), I'd want to use draft picks 1, 17, 19, 35, 51 and 67 (6 spots) + PSD 1, + promote 1 rookie (Jackson) (total 8 spots).

So far we've delisted French (ret), Livo, Sporn, Prenda, Longmuir, Chambers and McGrath (7 spots).

So I reckon one more (Davies or Bannister). If we dont delist any more it means either we plan to stop at pick 51 or (more likely) leave Jackson on the rookie list for another year.

bluey#4 said:
Poor fella as he wont get to be a part of the Carlton resurgence, but he didnt show much after his first few games in the Wizard Cup when he nailed a few huge goals from outside 50. Made the glorious Wizard Cup Win a but more exciting for me.

i remember that. I thought he was going to be a solid player for the club after that. Ended up i was wrong

bluey#4 said:

i remember that. I thought he was going to be a solid player for the club after that. Ended up i was wrong

smooking39 said:
Yeh mate couldnt agree more. Looked promising didnt he

he was a good player for us. he went to carlton and just couldnt get regular games. was he injured?

We often talk of "Draft Camp Specials," well Callum Chambers was the 'Pre-Season Special.' Runs well around the tan, but that's about it.

OZBomb said:
We often talk of "Draft Camp Specials," well Callum Chambers was the 'Pre-Season Special.' Runs well around the tan, but that's about it.

and don't forget those supergoals in the pre-season cup.

Kaitsey said:
he was a good player for us. he went to carlton and just couldnt get regular games. was he injured?

Not being disrespectful to the 22 that run at on the park week in week out but if he could get a regular game with us the last couple of years then he is DUD

Ok im not sure about the officialities, but we now have 35 players signed up and ready to go. I thought that list lodgement 1 on October 31, any club must have a minimum of 35 players. Is this true? Does this mean we cant delist anymore? becuase i am stunned davies has not gone yet.

ClayBlue87 said:
Ok im not sure about the officialities, but we now have 35 players signed up and ready to go. I thought that list lodgement 1 on October 31, any club must have a minimum of 35 players. Is this true? Does this mean we cant delist anymore? becuase i am stunned davies has not gone yet.

I think you can go lower than 35players but I am not 100% sure

A shame. But Chambers' just could not handle the ball cleanly for some reason. Was also terrible in physical contests. Looked a million dollars when receiving on the run though. Yet another positive move by the Club. It just gets better. :)

HugeBluesFan said:
^^^ Can we delist one more please - Jere.... something. :p :D

Well, we have now delisted 6 players and 2 rookies, and have 1 player retiring. That leaves us with 7 senior spots to fill.

We will use picks 1, 17, 19, 35, 51, 67 and PSD pick 1. We do not need to elevate someone off the rookie list, but if we are going to, we will need to delist one more. I don't think we will opt to pay someone out, but we will see. We will once again have the option to nominate a rookie to play in season 2007, hopefully that is Jackson.

I have a feeling that we won't be delisting any more.

What is the probelem with his back? Is it bad enough to stop you from playing good footy? and what is wrong with his attitude? Is his attitude so bad that he cant make the senior team because of it?
Many questions...

Jeremias said:
No certainty.

If he can get his back right, then expect him to stay. If not, then we will cut our losses.

He is a very talented player. Fix his back and his attitude, and we have another very good prospect.

He does have some talent, I agree, but as i have said several times, the guy has never taken his chances.

Just name one player that would make way for him in our best 22, just one J?.