Beauty & Style Op shops

Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
The humble op shop – is there anything better than a local you can wander into, gaze around in, and come away with something at? There aren't too many better feelings than grabbing a $4 Ralph Lauren shirt, or some soccer shirt in mint condition. You can always tell you're about to find a great item when you're filing through the rack, and you manage to see it before you've even got to its coat hangers. Random DVDs, wallets, bags... you feel like you're scamming the system.

But these days it seems they're dying out.

Does anyone know any good ones? I tend to find the best demographics are places with a good mix of wealth, but no hipsters. South Melbourne could be a good area. The opposite side of the city used to be good – Errol Street Salvos was my favourite, but it's become a Chemist Warehouse. Ones in Fitzroy are total rubbish, with nothing but thin shitty stuff, no good brands, and weird sizing... Savers is a rip-off: no point paying $30 for op shop items. Would love it if anyone has recommendations around the north-west.

Is there a good op shop left? Where is it? What you have gotten from one that's been a steal? Tell me.

Run by ferals. Don't ever buy furniture and ask for delivery. A 'reformed' drug addict or rapist probably will or a dole bludger looking for an easy feed.

Thread for those blokes who buy Ralph Lauren shirts then put em in the dogs kennel for a day so they look second hand

...wouldn't you just wear it for long enough that it had the appearance of a second hand shirt?

It's not like you could tell the difference between a second hand shirt and an old shirt of your own.

I was back in Geelong in early December and caught up with my brother.

He shops exclusively at Op shops although I think he may have a bit of the hoarder going on. He showed me one of his wardrobes and it's chockers full of new or near new, name brand jeans, shirts, golf shirts, jackets, sports coats and suits.

For Adelaide folks the Oxfam bookshop at the bottom of Hutt Street is one of the best deals in town. Lions Club Bookshop in the old scout shed at Tusmore Park is good too.
You do pick up really good books, really cheap.

A bloke I worked with would make 5K per year re-selling stuff he buys from op-shops. If you know where to go, you'll find absolute gold. Some of the stuff he shows me that he finds is crazy. Easy 100-400% profit on a lot of items
In Perth, Freo is great for it but this one right in Claremont near the bottle shop and a few other shops, off the highway, is awesome too.

On a serious note.

The thing about op shops, most of them are run by churches. A lot of people put a lot of hours volunteering so poor people can afford decent clothes and furniture. There is some beautiful hearts found slaving away. The clientele can be difficult to deal with, such is the social economic factors dominating their life. But all we ever here on this board is bible bashing.

They can do a lot of good for work for the dole slaves and single parent pensioners required to volunteer to collect full benefit.