Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

I've said it many times, but it really needs an hour. Too much gets glossed over or not explored enough.

Really needs to get some more characters on there too. Surely blokes like Robbie Muir or Allen Jakovich wouldn't turn down the payday and ego stroke of an hour dedicated solely to them.
See, I reckon it would be stretch to fill an hour with someone like Jakovich. He wasn't around for that long, only a couple of good years.

You do realise he also had a very "colourful" career in the WAFL & SANFL before Melbourne, not that Sheehan or any Vics seem to care! :rolleyes:

I think the big elephant in the room from the Mooney interview was that if he felt he exorcised his 2008 demons by winning the 2009 grand final, whether he had any theories as to why his goalkicking accuracy never really recovered. He was 195.117 before the 2008 grand final and 102.91 after it. I would also have been interested to get his honest thoughts on how the club had handled the departures of some of his contemporaries (King, Milburn, Chapman, Hunt, Podsiadly, Blake), his feelings around the whole Gary Ablett situation and his thoughts on Nathan Ablett, whom Mooney had previously described as the biggest waste of talent he had ever seen and that he could have been 'the best out of the lot of them' (though whether that includes his dad is unclear). Come to think of it, the interview barely touched on his teammates, which I would have found pretty interesting.

I was hoping Sheehan would mention him. They only spoke about Hawkins and I would have much preferred more about Nathan Ablett. Still a good episode though. It's very hit and miss it seems at the moment.

I still hold them all up to the Greg Williams interview and I suspect not many are going to reach those heights.

Not sure what Des Tuddenham's defence would have been for being found in possession of $30,000 worth of stolen tyres. But after that Open Mike, if he'd said "I couldn't get enough of my own tyres to pump up!" I would have believed him.

thought he was fine for the first 15 minutes but he did seem to get a bit bitter towards the end.

You do realise he also had a very "colourful" career in the WAFL & SANFL before Melbourne, not that Sheehan or any Vics seem to care! :rolleyes:
Yeah it would be riveting viewing to see almost an hour of his exploits in the WAFL and SANFL.

You didn't like Mooney last week? thought it was one of the best ever.
Mooney didn't interest me. I suppose I'm more into interviews with older players. The game was a lot different then.

To quote Spud Frawley r.e. Des Tuddenham, "I I I me me me."

Interesting to note Tudds didn't talk about Spud as Spud's his nephew which begs the question.

Is James Frawley Des' grandson?

Its a 30 minute program o_O ..not too mention you found that ordinary player Mooney's program riveting!! :eek:
I was responding to the post that said it should be a one hour program (which I agree with) and it would be good to have Jakovich on it (I don't agree that an hour of Jakovich would be good because the blokes career was over in 5 minutes).

Kozi was always pretty entertaining on Triple M. Plus every man and his dog had an opinion on Kozi's career and how it turned out. Be interesting to hear what he himself thinks. Kozi isn't one to any away from a question. Still remember Triple M asked him if he thought the coach would give him a 200th game, without batting an eyelid he just said "you'd have to be a pretty bad bloke not to".

Mike Sheehan jumped the shark as a journo with the end to the Des Tuddenham interview. The format of Open Mike is about the subject's life in and out of football. Next time Sheehan puts a tough question about life outside of football they can just pull the mad Tuddy stare.

Then, like Tuddenham they come across as a bit of a Syd for refusing to talk. If someone sits in the Open Mike chair and dodges questions like that, that's an insight into their character. I imagine most people who potentially felt misunderstood over a scandal in their past would take advantage of the opportunity to tell their side of the story in a public manner.

It's a bit like the Ricky Nixon episode, he clearly lied through his teeth, but he answered the questions and people can judge from there. There's no hiding behind the "no one has heard my side of the story" defence like James Hird is conveniently doing right now.

It's fairly common knowledge that John Nicholls also got up to some mischief. Depending on how active his mind is, he would be good to listen to. There is another member of the TOC who was the subject of some pretty interesting rumours post playing career. I'd like to see that person interviewed, and I wonder if Mike would go there?

Others I'd like to see are:

Anthony Stevens - obvious reasons
Peter Everett - seems happy to speak his mind and was a very good player
John Worsfold - I think many would find him boring, but if he is prepared to open up he could give us a great insight into the game
Alex Jesaulenko - all time great
Shane Woewodin - probably in the minority but I think it could be good

Anthony Stevens - obvious reasons
Peter Everett - seems happy to speak his mind and was a very good player
John Worsfold - I think many would find him boring, but if he is prepared to open up he could give us a great insight into the game
Alex Jesaulenko - all time great
Shane Woewodin - probably in the minority but I think it could be good

Great list of guests. I think Open Mike should be expanded to 1 hour next year.

They do 1hr specials for certain guests e.g. Blight, Matthews, but they need to do it more often IMO. I felt there was a lot missing from the Voss episode for example.

Has Open Mike jumped the shark ?

Besides Stilton and Kerley, we've been offered up tripe. Surely with the history of Aussie rules footy we can come up with better blokes than Nixon and co.
I got the feeling Tuddenham was the Nathan Buckley of the 70's. Fair dinkum, what a fig jam.

I know Bucks had that image in his early days but if you've met him, which I have then you'd know his far from being a FIGJAM. One of the most professional and humble blokes you could come across.

Mooney didn't interest me. I suppose I'm more into interviews with older players. The game was a lot different then.
We know the stories of the high profile modern day players. Some of the interviews are still interesting, mainly where they decide to come clean and be honest about this or that instead of toeing the party line. But for most of us, we grew up watching their careers unfold and witnessing their exploits first-hand.

What I like about Mike's interviews with the old-timers is they get to correct the myths that have falsely attributed to them for the past 20-30-40 years. Instead of hearing the same sentence about the 1966 Grand Final or whatever, we get a little bit more of the details coloured in. Great for all of us who weren't around to see it and have had to rely on shitty reporting from lazy journos.

What I would have liked Mike to do (similar format to Inside The Actors Studio) is for say during the last couple of minutes of each interview, he asks the same ~10 quick questions to each guest. e.g most admired / respected player during their time, toughest opponent, closest team mate, best coach, favourite modern day player, who they barracked for before they played, if they could have have played for another team during their career, etc.

It seems with most of the recent ones he throws in a question at the end about regrets.