Operation 2017

• Thread starter Thread starter Defacto

I guess its good that we can feasibly say we have a team in 5 years time, when all the big stars have gone.
Of course we will be recruiting some players each year in the draft.
A mid should take around three seasons to become a reliably good player ( 4 or 5 under Lyon ) so its not unreasonable to expect that we can draft 6 or so decent players who can bolster up the 2018 season.

The longest timeframe players are talls. Its really not that hard to get a decent team of midfielders pretty quickly. Thats why the club agreesively went after Lee and Hickey.

Rucks are OK for now. McEvoy, Hickey, Stanley gives us pretty good security, with possibility of Pierce.
Backs are OK except we really need that tall back ( Brown ). Brown would have us reasonably good with Stanley and Simpkin for depth.

Forwards are still a concern, White is a raw but unproven talent. Lee was a good WAFL forward, but he is also unproven. Maybe we can draft a forward, but a big forward can take many seasons to develop.
Riewoldt 4th season breakout.
Kosi maybe broke out in 2009.
Lynch 4th season breakout.
Roughead 3-4th season breakout.
Franklin 3rd season breakout.
Cloke 3rd season breakout.
J Kennedy 4-6 seasons
Tippett 3 Season

You also can't say "oh Boyd " is a surefire gun.
Did anyone think that the best tall in the 2005 draft would be playing Sandrinham reserves in 2013?

If we could get Gumbleton without giving up a first round pick I'd like to have him.

http://www.saints.com.au/video/2013-05-22/vfl-saunders-highlights

this kid is going to be something special. finally know who he reminds me of. gazza
Check out Brodie Murdoch's tape too.

http://www.saints.com.au/video/2013-05-22/vfl-murdoch-highlights

BULL is the right nickname for him.

I'm loving the fact that shortly after getting a taster at the higher level they've gone back to the VFL and played 25+goals games to get in the bests. Something we have not seen for quite a few years. Clearly they aren't ready for the big time on a regular basis this year but they'll get more of a look in next year and by 2015 they could well be regulars

Droooooool.....

His ability to side/back step out of traffic is mind boggling for an 18 year old. Does anyone know the knock on him? How did he fall to us?
Not wanting to knock Josh's star too much but bear in mind that the opposition were Bendigo Gold who are bottom of the VFL ladder, having lost all 7 of their games, and have a percentage of under 34%.

Droooooool.....

His ability to side/back step out of traffic is mind boggling for an 18 year old. Does anyone know the knock on him? How did he fall to us?

pick 40 something

once i saw his draft highlights i couldnt believe it!!!!

Droooooool.....

I'd just assumed there would be a fair dossier on him. But (looking back) there wasn't alot.

Even Michael Turner (Geelong Falcons talent manager) had some strange comments after he got drafted. "Josh will be an effective run with player as his midfield game develops.”

??? He just looks like a natural ballgetter.

Maybe we were just lucky he was one of those kids who develops the minute he walks through the door - although the promise of Wright, White and Murdoch maybe suggests it ain't all luck.

Seems quicker than his 2.96 combine testing 20m sprint would indicate.

Droooooool.....

With Josh I think it was just a case of him having been relatively new on the scene and only having done it (played to a really good level) for half a season or so. I get the feeling that he didn't play at all for the Falcons the year before and that he may have been more focused on his athletics previously, after getting athletics results when I first googled his name when I heard we were into him just before the draft.

Head recruiter Tony Elshaug on Saunders:He really improved in the second half of the season. He played on the inside in the midfield, played on a wing, had a very good finals series. He is a very determined young man and can really carry the ball. He has good speed and endurance. He is a good person who tested well at the combine and runs hard from start to finish.”

This was also Tweeted about him: "Geelong Falcons@GeelongFalcons
The coaches award went to Josh Saunders who finished the year really well and improved his understanding of the game immensely…"

I think the bits in red tell a bit of a story.

We've been prepared to back ourselves in in recent years by drafting those who have shown a bit (or a lot) in a short period of time, rather than only sticking with those that have performed to a good level for at least a couple of seasons, as some or many other clubs probably do.

Eg. Siposs, who went from local U16's to Stingrays to us, within one season, I think. Spencer White, who played well for half a season, but showed us enough to be prepared to draft him with a highish pick. Jimmy Webster, who we apparently got after he really impressed us with one outstanding game down in Tassie, just before he had a couple of injuries that derailed the rest of his season in his draft year. Daniel Markworth- Didn't play TAC Cup at all until he was 19, but we were prepared to draft him off that one good season. Darren Minchington- Was playing local footy down the peninsula until he went to the Stingrays for the last 6 or 8 games, but we were prepared to pick him off that. Lewis Pierce- Hardly played any footy in the 2 or 3 years leading up to his draft, but we were prepared to pick him off the few times he did play, etc.

Those that have only performed to a highish level for a relatively short period of time are viewed as more of a risk, because it could just be a flash in the pan, I guess, so that is why they were all available at our picks, I would suggest.

Check out Brodie Murdoch's tape too.

http://www.saints.com.au/video/2013-05-22/vfl-murdoch-highlights

BULL is the right nickname for him.

...by 2015 they could well be regulars...

I just find myself wondering, ultimately, where Brodie's natural position is at AFL level... He's a beast of a kid, and a generous height, but not KP-sized...and not slow, but too big and lacking the agility and tank (probably) for a full time mid...

The same role as Gwilt down the track perhaps?

Knightmare had this to say about Brodie...

Brodie Murdoch (SA – Fwd)
Height: 187cm, Weight: 85kg, DOB: 21/01/1994
Recruited from: Glenelg
Range: 30-70
Profile: Murdoch is an undersized key forward who might need to settle into more of a 3rd tall leading role which he is probably more suited to at the next level. At U18 level gets impressive mark totals, but at senior level I suspect this might dry up because with zones it is a lot harder for these leading type forwards to have a great impact. For a tall I really like Murdoch’s kicking and has a really nice left foot on him. Like his brother is also a very high level athlete and has the speed, agility and leap on him.

-----------------

I could easily see him rotating through the midfield.

Wright other HBF, Newnes other wing and Ross in the guts? ;)

Here's hoping!
Probably Roberton on the other HBF and Wright either in the BP, or else in the guts with Ross, Steven, Armo and co.

Lots of similarities between Murdoch and Gwilt though I reckon. Same height, same very strong build, same thumping left foot kick, same sort of strong overhead marking. Gwilt Mk 2.

Probably Roberton on the other HBF and Wright either in the BP, or else in the guts with Ross, Steven, Armo and co.

Lots of similarities between Murdoch and Gwilt though I reckon. Same height, same very strong build, same thumping left foot kick, same sort of strong overhead marking. Gwilt Mk 2.

i never thought about that, but you are right

great observation mate

I thought Murdoch would be a flanker but I'm seeing a few highlights of him in the guts at the centre bounce. Think they might be thinking see how he goes in there because we can always throw him on a flank later if that doesn't work out. Worth the experiment because we have more than enough flankers.

He's tagged a few times (was quite good against Port Melbourne in this role). Seems like he could be a handy utility - good overhead and a nice kick, but someone they can throw into the contests as a big-bodied mid. Has shown glimpses of dash (but not consistently, which isn't a great surprise given his fitness won't be at the level of future years).