Operation Don't Get Aish

Seriously o_O

Can't imagine the wrecker being a looker.. must have married one :p

They interviewed her on sen during the spring carnival one year and most of the questions related to Collingwood and what it was like growing up Collingwood royalty. I got the impression she had racing connections in the family so old Marcus may have married very well indeed. Horse people seem to marry good looking women and you know what they say about mixing crap bulls with good cows!

The closer we get to draft day the more anxious I'm becoming.

I just hope aish is taken before pick 6 and we get our hands on ben lennon.

Aish is a soft one paced overrated dud who has showed nothing to impress me.

He is Bryce gibbs and jimmy toumpas all over and if we get him at 6 I probably wont buy a membership.

Don't get sucked into predictions and phantom drafts, he isn't that good despite being touted as #2 all year, Personally if we can land one of Lennon, Sheed, Freeman

Stay away from aish and salem
I like Lennon over him.

Apart from the fact they play a total diff type of game lol.

how u figure that? im talking the trengrove that was almost bog in the sanfl grand final for sturt, not the crook u see running around today. in fact trengrove was more hard at the ball than aish is. fact is aish is very vanilla, not much special about him in my opinion. best thing going for aish is that he has a good football brain, but he is never going to dominate a game in my opinion.

Aish should have won the Jack Oatey medal in 2012. Please

im pretty sure trengroves final series was excellent too, hence why he went 2 in his draft and many thought he would go at 1. u can disagree as much as u like but i think u have a short memory.

no i can remember Trengoves final series. He was excellent for Sturt, they are diff types of players though so thats why im saying u cant compare them.

his old man and uncle could never put on weight, why do u think he can?

I lived in Adelaide and remember Michael Aish well. He was a rangey gun who was largely reliant on his ability to run players into the ground. He'd have been able to play AFL today and they'd have been able to put kilos on him with today's supplements and the like.

I reckon Aish has got more burst than Michael. He's a different type altogether (I reckon he'll be a gun inside-midfielder/rover with line breaking ability). I never saw Andrew (or if I did I don't remember him).

Shane Tuck's playing weight was 15kg over his old man's at nearly exactly the same height. Blood lines are an ok indication in certain facets, but not all. Sports science is further advanced and it's rare you get players who can't stack weight at all (borderline genetic).

Getting James to 80+kgs won't be an issue. He's not Xavier Ellis!

I lived in Adelaide and remember Michael Aish well. He was a rangey gun who was largely reliant on his ability to run players into the ground. He'd have been able to play AFL today and they'd have been able to put kilos on him with today's supplements and the like.

I reckon Aish has got more burst than Michael. He's a different type altogether (I reckon he'll be a gun inside-midfielder/rover with line breaking ability). I never saw Andrew (or if I did I don't remember him).

Shane Tuck's playing weight was 15kg over his old man's at nearly exactly the same height. Blood lines are an ok indication in certain facets, but not all. Sports science is further advanced and it's rare you get players who can't stack weight at all (borderline genetic).

Getting James to 80+kgs won't be an issue. He's not Xavier Ellis!
It's rare an outside midfielder develops into an inside one. Having that tough inside ball winning quality is usually something you are born with. He'll end up no more inside than Sidebottom, and while he may be a bit quicker, he similarly has good footy smarts with little penetration on his kicking. Like Sidey, his kicking efficiency is likely higher due to always going for short options.

He doesn't really fit the profile of what the team needs. Even if he ended up the inside mid type you think (he doesn't have the speed to be a line breaker), we now have a plethora of that type at his size.

As far as I'm concerned if he gets picked up by the Pies he will end up playing a utility role like Sidebottom, hopefully more in the defensive end to help replace some of the run we lost with Shaw. And like Sidebottom whom everyone also expected to become a true full time mid, I think that's the role he stays in. I'd take Scharenberg for that role everyday of the week.

Professionalism in the AFL.

He appears to project to be no skinnier than Dale Thomas.
Who is half the player without his speed. And Aish has nowhere near Thomas' in game speed. Doesn't have his attack on the footy either. Size/strength is a much bigger issue for players who don't have breakaway pace.

It's rare an outside midfielder develops into an inside one. Having that tough inside ball winning quality is usually something you are born with. He'll end up no more inside than Sidebottom, and while he may be a bit quicker, he similarly has good footy smarts with little penetration on his kicking. Like Sidey, his kicking efficiency is likely higher due to always going for short options.

Aish is a genuine inside midfielder. You don't need to be a Mr Bump type, ala Luke Ball, to be one.

Aish compares better in type to Pendelbury than Sidey.

As for his kicking, he is a penetrating 50m+ kick and hits targets with more regularity than Sidey (who is capable but is more of a chippy/safe option type). Aish's decision making is top shelf and with a high hurt factor.

I don't care much which one of him or Shaz we get, assuming either are there, but I'd prefer Aish.

863415-james-aish.jpg

Judging by this old pic of Aish (note the small mullet) he will be back in Adelaide and a Crow by 2016.

The closer we get to draft day the more anxious I'm becoming.

I just hope aish is taken before pick 6 and we get our hands on ben lennon.

Aish is a soft one paced overrated dud who has showed nothing to impress me.

He is Bryce gibbs and jimmy toumpas all over and if we get him at 6 I probably wont buy a membership.

Don't get sucked into predictions and phantom drafts, he isn't that good despite being touted as #2 all year, Personally if we can land one of Lennon, Sheed, Freeman

Stay away from aish and salem

Well you got your Wish - Your Thoughts?

Im over the moon, trust me, i think salem will be the biggest flop from the draft, kelly will struggle to put on weight (cale morton all over) and aish will want to leave after 2 years of no development at brisbane

Sounds about right. Salem looks very skinny and Melbourne have a bad history with skinny players.
I would have taken Freeman if I were them.

Sounds about right. Salem looks very skinny and Melbourne have a bad history with skinny players.
I would have taken Freeman if I were them.

Edited for accuracy.