Norwood
just wondering what people thought of AAMI stadium as a whole facility.

Personally I hate the new seats they are worse than the Originals in terms of room for movement and ability to sit down comfortably for a extended period,

I think the Food is still badly priced (too high) although there are a few retailers which I would say would be good value and it actually tastes nice !

I think the Crows Tavern is great - they have done really well upgrading the place

Toilets still need a crap load of work (pardon the pun) just plain disgusting

Parking - Crap

Transport Facilities - Buses are alright but still way to long coming and going
get a bloody light rail line in FFS - I heard a rumour that they are putting in an express lane ?

Gambling - Good cant complain

Booze - the members have a great number of places to get beer altough it is still annoying to have to drink the bugger before you get there.

thoughts ?

Parking is poor, but after sitting down mostly for 2-3 hours a good 20 min walk it not to bad really; we normally park at the Seaton High School, so it's a fair walk.

The toilets are an insight to just how some people have failed to evolve, and want to prove that we really did evolve from the apes and how we can return there.

The food, well, anything that makes McDonalds outside seem appertising has problems, other that it's over pricing, is mainly plastic based and the use by date predates Glenelgs last premiership; what more can you say?

And yes, I agree, bring back the old seating; the new stuff is just plain rubbish.

Was never in favour of getting rid of the seats in the first place.

People with cold arses could easily bring cushions.

Food is terrbile and the prices are shocking. PA system is usueless and the Crow clapometre annoys the ******** out of me.

Ground announcers need personality transplants.

Having said all that, the surface is very good, the electronic scoreboard is good and the mighty Crows play there, which is all that matters.

Every second week it is a hell hole though, half full of ferals or fence sitters.

Jars458 said:
Every second week it is a hell hole though, half full of ferals or fence sitters.

Hell hole every second week: agree
half full: sadly agree
ferals: yup
fence sitters: WRONG

P.S The colour of the new seats works very well

Capitalist said:
Personally I hate the new seats they are worse than the Originals in terms of room for movement and ability to sit down comfortably for a extended period,

I have no problem with the new seats. For an outdoor venue, I don't think you can get much better.

I think the Food is still badly priced (too high) although there are a few retailers which I would say would be good value and it actually tastes nice !

I'd say most of the food is crap but I am probably not all that qualified to judge because I rarely purchase it. But the reason I stay away from it is because it's crap. If it was better, I would buy it more.

I think the Crows Tavern is great - they have done really well upgrading the place

Haven't been there.

Fair point but it's difficult to do much about them I would think. I imagine it's the users that are at fault here. And unless they employ staff to follow people in and aim it for them I don't know what else they can do.

Parking - Crap

This problem stems back to the next issue on your list, public transport. Parking is pretty reasonable, but the problem is that everybody drives. And as mentioned, what is a 20 minute walk to your car? That's more exercise than most people in this country get in a week. :D

get a bloody light rail line in FFS - I heard a rumour that they are putting in an express lane ?

A big issue in my opinion. They've done a little to improve this over the years but nowhere near enough.

Capitalist said:
You haven't live till you have to take a credit card to the footy here in Melbourne to have a pie and water :o

can't say anything about the new seats as I have not experienced yet but I was not happy when they said they were going to change them. I loved the old benches and I had a lovely cushion to keep me warm and comfy, which i seriously doubt will occur with the new ones. Food and drinks well we have always brought our own.

Our routine was always a bit like this - park in fat max car park, have the bbq etc, parents drink merrily before the game, wander in just before the game starts, leave afterwards for the car, eat the leftovers, parents drink some more, head into the shed, use those loos (cause they are way better), then drive home with almost no traffic to contend with.

My understanding is that they coloured the seats a tiel colour so it would like port had more supportors at the ground.

Toilets are crap

New seats are fine except for the leg room. The designers might have been short people. also when you have someone trying to take up half of your own seat so they can fit in that is a low. If we pay our membership surely we should get a bit more leg room.

Food not bad except you might aswell going out to a cheap resturant instead of paying 3 or 4 dollars for a drink and upwards of 6 or 7 dollars

I dont mind the walk i might start having a round of golf before the footy. it isnt a hard walk from any of the nearby golf clubs.

No way they will ever get a train system in for at least another 10 years the demand is just not there. and after they have just upgraded the bus terminal a few years back i think a train will be a long way away.

security is good. down my end at least with the oppisition cheersquad who are mostly ferals no offence to anyone who might take offence

It's been about a year and half since I was last at footy park, but my thoughts are fairly consistent over time. I think it is a fantastic stadium, especially by comparison with some european offerings.

plenty of car parking, a good view from anywhere, good security, excellent facilities.

Compare it with, Parkhead say, and I think it's a super stadium.

Markthirtytwo said:
Well, what do you expect when you purchase water with a pie FFS. :D
I knew that was a mistake when I typed it :o - for demonstration purposes only, any correlation to the writer is fictional :p

Crow-mosone said:
It's been about a year and half since I was last at footy park, but my thoughts are fairly consistent over time. I think it is a fantastic stadium, especially by comparison with some european offerings.

plenty of car parking, a good view from anywhere, good security, excellent facilities.

Compare it with, Parkhead say, and I think it's a super stadium.
Haven't been to Football Park since the Crows were formed but always loved the ground and atmosphere.

Must say though Telstra Dome is just the best place to watch footy, but FP compares more than favourably IMO with MCG for comfort, viewing, and amenities.

Gee though the public transport system to get to footy matchs is superb and this is where FP falls down, I would hate to be coming from far North or South of Adelaide to get to the footy.
At Telstra (about same capacity) walk 150 mtrs get on a train with a guranteed seat and in a blink your home.

Food Prices - Better than Melbourne grounds
Quality - yuk

Seating- Better than before (nice colour)
Standing area - Too small :mad:

Transport and Parking - Awful

Atmosphere - Nothing wrong with it at Port games ;) More oppositon fans would be good.

Security - Gee they are bloody everywhere, a new bloody rule each week too. Go to the G and you hardly see the buggers.

Surface - second to none

Toilets - ok for me, after all it's just a toilet, you don't watch the game from there.

Scoreboard and P.A - Too many adverts, P.A far too loud

Lighting - Should be improved, Go to the GABBA or Subiaco, turns night into day.

I think overall its tremendous to view the game- despite where you sit.

I hate the seating in the new northern stand though - too narrow between rows which will perhaps become addressed when a person topples forward snapping him self off at the knees on the seat in front - damn dangerous. :eek:

I agree with pretty much everything that has been said here so far, but can I just give a big thumbs up to the red coats, the gate attendants, ushers and tickets sellers around the place, who do a thankless job so very well, week after week. I think it's a measure of their quality that they haven't been mentioned thus far.

AAMI stadium (formerly my beloved Football Park) is a disgrace. As far as television aesthetics are concerned, this stadium is easily the worst used for regular AFL fixtures.

Watching games on television, I realised how atrocious & substandard the arena is. I’m glad its not port’s true home ground. It’s just not good enough for the AFC or the PAFC & perhaps that’s why it’s a troublesome experience for many visiting teams.

I’m surprised the AFL hasn’t loudly spoken up. As a South Australian, I find it’s an embarrassment.

Recently it was refurbished & plastic bucket spectator’s seats were installed, new goal posts replaced the square variety, a large grandstand with a generous corporate sponsor’s logo on it created - but it still looks like a jungle cave on television & it’s still got that embarrassing old score board.

For a commercially sponsored arena, this place is a disgusting football relic – for instance, the concrete is old & brown – its down right dirty. The exposed concrete player’s race, painted in a lively red with a brewer’s logo & clad with grey heavy duty padding, is just feral. The playing surface appears blotchy; the wire fencing around the boundary fencing is just old… off. Surely money taken from the main sponsor, AAMI, gets back into that place? I mean, fix that cream cage at the change room door, from which the crows take to the playing arena. Replace those tired, giant advertising boards slung around the ground with the new variety.

It appears to me the SANFL have been too busy looking at the bigger picture - subsequently missing the minor but important details. Poor old AAMI is tired & i reckon it’s the worst AFL stadium seen on television.

Telstra Dome cr*** all over it AFAIC. And the facilities at Hindmarsh Staadium leave it for dead. The food, parking, access, facitilites are all cr** Lucky my footy team is OK though :)

Capitalist said:
just wondering what people thought of AAMI stadium as a whole facility.

Overall I like the venue but if people were to ask me why I dont think i could come up with many valid reasons.

Agreed. They are comfortable enough but not big enough and too squashed together. The best thing about the old seats was taht I could spread my legs out a bit, put the budget next to me and then id have room to breath. If your at a big crowd then theres no room to move and basically shoulder to shoulder.

Food is over priced but it is at every AFL ground ive been to. Food isnt too bad in the members...i like the fact you can choose your own stuff.

I can never understand why fellow men obviously think its fun to pi## on the ground, all over the seat, fill up the toilet with toilet paper and pi## on it/dump on it, dump on the ground. DOesnt just happen at AAMI either. Clubs, some pubs etc. What sorta people do this.

Parking - Crap

I love the fact that as Members you have to park nowhere near the members and often further away than public parking. ********ing joke.

For the bus or for a train? Theyve already manipulated WLB to fit in a bus lane which is hardly ever used.

Booze - the members have a great number of places to get beer altough it is still annoying to have to drink the bugger before you get there.

Yeah catn complain about the drinking places. Prices are reasonable. It is a pain not drinking at your seats but at least it keeps the bogans at the bar and not spilling beer all over you as they try and get past you to your seat.

The thing I hate most - the cattle pen they have build around the bus stops. Anyone who has had to line up and go through the cattle run to get on a bus will know what I mean.

The view from my seat is fabulous.
The food variety and quality is ******** poor.
The fact that I can take a wine back to my seat at almost every other ground but I cannot at Footy Park annoys me, people next to me can because they are in a Corporate box.
I live 800mt from the ground so no problem there.

The problem with the big screen is that it is just that ie. a big screen not a scoreboard. Where those annoying ads for X-Lotto are should be able to show the score a la the MCG.

Adelaide Oval should be rebuilt as a state of the art stadium holding approx 60,000 spectators. It should then be used for AFL as well as cricket.

Football Park should then be sold off & redeveloped.

Adelaide Oval is antiquated, undersized & not up to AFL football. It is however in a great location. Football Park is an aging stadium that looks like it has been made over by the renovation rescue team. New bits & pieces added in over the years; none of them matching, but given a facelift by the matching seats. It still is fundamentally flawed because the original stands are saucer shaped as opposed to being bowl shaped. It is in a poor location, with poor access to public transport & arterial roads.

Adelaide is not big enough for 2 stadiums of this size. We are forever playing catch up with facilities.

We DESERVE to have a state of the art stadium. We pay our memberships, we put our bums on the seats, we do our bit. We have to put up with crap facilities because a couple of old dudes in suits (most of whom are now dead) had an argument 40 years ago & their replacements don't have the balls to swallow their pride, kiss & make up.

IT IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!!!!!!!!

drakeyv2 said:
Adelaide Oval should be rebuilt as a state of the art stadium holding approx 60,000 spectators. It should then be used for AFL as well as cricket.

Football Park should then be sold off & redeveloped.

Adelaide Oval is antiquated, undersized & not up to AFL football. It is however in a great location. Football Park is an aging stadium that looks like it has been made over by the renovation rescue team. New bits & pieces added in over the years; none of them matching, but given a facelift by the matching seats. It still is fundamentally flawed because the original stands are saucer shaped as opposed to being bowl shaped. It is in a poor location, with poor access to public transport & arterial roads.

Adelaide is not big enough for 2 stadiums of this size. We are forever playing catch up with facilities.

We DESERVE to have a state of the art stadium. We pay our memberships, we put our bums on the seats, we do our bit. We have to put up with crap facilities because a couple of old dudes in suits (most of whom are now dead) had an argument 40 years ago & their replacements don't have the balls to swallow their pride, kiss & make up.

IT IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!!!!!!!!

Really? you don't think it's a state of the art stadium?

1. do you know what new stadiums around the world are costing?
2. how familar are you with the standard of stadiums around the world?

I suspect you don't really have a great persective, if you genuinely feel the facilities at footy park are so bad I have to question what you are comparing it to?