OT: Adelaide Airport

Congrats, still anit going to change my opinion that is it a great useless block of concrete though and Im happy other people have had their opinion the airport, I also am not the be all and end all of commentating on how great airports are.

But I have never wished that I walked in front of an aircraft on anyone. That would be the worst way you could be killed on tarmac and as someone who works out on tarmac am very cautious of.

What's with all these bagging South Australia and it's attractions. Next time you're in town take a drive up to Murray Bridge and check out the Big Bunyip - it's world class.

Congrats, still anit going to change my opinion that is it a great useless block of concrete though and Im happy other people have had their opinion the airport, I also am not the be all and end all of commentating on how great airports are.

But I have never wished that I walked in front of an aircraft on anyone. That would be the worst way you could be killed on tarmac and as someone who works out on tarmac am very cautious of.

From my perusal of this thread, it appears you were just attacking the airport for the sake of it. A lot of it almost sounded like jealousy which, true or not, often seems to be a habit of Victorians when South Australia has something good.

Certainly showing some humility given this result handed down by experts would stand you in good stead.

Congratulations. You have won RoosterLad's Most Ridiculous Post of the Week Award.

I believe that on June 26th this year Adelaide airport will reach new and grandiose heights when I enter it and then leave it on my way to Jakarta to spend a wonderful 10 days surfing a remote location in Indo!!! OOHHH yeah Macca I love that airport, best ever!!!!!!!

I've used it a bit recently and I like it. Very nicely laid out.

People who want to bitch about Adelaide will always find something dumb and anal to bitch about.

Let's face it though. Anything is better than the old terminal is an improvement. The new one is clean & modern. You feel like you are arriving at a city not a tinpot town these days.

But the fact that there is nothing cheap to eat there kind of sucks. It is great that they had a Coopers Brewery thing but when the cafes & sandwich places charge through the nose for very average food, I find it completely unfair.

We have budget airlines like Virgin & Jetstar flying into this terminal. We fly them because we want to save on our fares. Then we get into the airport and have to pay $4 for a 600ml coke & $5-7 for a sandwich or chips. I find that unreasonable.

even the Virgin terminal in Sydney has a great array of choose of things to eat. main meals, pasta, pizza, healthy things. I think they should have planned to have a better more varied array of food outlets there.

A better bus/train link to the city would be better as well.

JF

Let's face it though. Anything is better than the old terminal is an improvement. The new one is clean & modern. You feel like you are arriving at a city not a tinpot town these days.

But the fact that there is nothing cheap to eat there kind of sucks. It is great that they had a Coopers Brewery thing but when the cafes & sandwich places charge through the nose for very average food, I find it completely unfair.

We have budget airlines like Virgin & Jetstar flying into this terminal. We fly them because we want to save on our fares. Then we get into the airport and have to pay $4 for a 600ml coke & $5-7 for a sandwich or chips. I find that unreasonable.

even the Virgin terminal in Sydney has a great array of choose of things to eat. main meals, pasta, pizza, healthy things. I think they should have planned to have a better more varied array of food outlets there.

JF

Melbourne airport desperately needs a rail link its a discrace that in a city as big as Melbourne and with an airport of its size and the amount of passengers it handles it has no rail link:thumbsdown:

I do like that Adelaide airport has buses serving it:thumbsu:

JF

No airport food is cheap mate!

Can someone give me a condensed version of the last 10 or so pages to bring me up to speed, ... please. :)

Macca 1 '' airport is ****''

everyone '' nah its ok''

award ceremony'' Adelaide Airport named world class''

everyone ''bwhahahaha''

maccas'' i dont care its still ****''

Oh with some mention of overpricing of foods

Do they still have those annoying ****s trying to flog QANTAS VISA cards with frequent flyer point rewards when you are upstairs getting ready to board?

JF

Up the QF end of the terminal there is a place where the food prices arent too bad, thats where I go for food at ADL airport.

A coke and a coffee. They probably thought you had an addiction and charged you accordingly.

Swiss German people need both to actually loosen up & say anything, I reckon. :thumbsdown: I swear Z*rcher are some of the coldest most unfriendly people on this planet. Really money-hungry as well, a lot of them.

zurich_airport.jpg

JF

Airport lands top awards

STUARTINNES
March 14, 2008 06:30pm

adelaide now

ADELAIDE Airport has been given twin No 1 ratings this week – the best on-time departure record of any state capital and equal-best in quality of service.

And although 164 flights were officially listed as cancelled last year on the six main interstate routes from Adelaide, the proportion of total flights is below the national average.
Last year, 87 per cent of flights got away on time at Adelaide Airport – bettered only by Canberra's 88.6 per cent and Mackay's 87.9 per ent. The next best capital cities were Hobart, 85.1 per cent, and Brisbane, 84.1 per cent. Broome had the worst record, of 72.2 per cent.

The figures – released by the Bureau of Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Economics – reveal the national average for on-time departures was 83.7 per cent last yar.

This is a slip from the 87.3 per cent of on-time departures in 2006.

"A flight departure is counted as on time if it departs the gate within 15 minutes of the scheduled departure time shown in the carrier's schedule," says the bureau's "On Time Performance" annual report.

Of the major interstrate airlines, the national figures show Jetstar had the best on-time departure performance last year, of 84.1 per cent, to Qantas' 82.8 per cent and Virgin Blue's 82.4 per vent. On routes from Adelaide, Qantas and Virgin Blue each have 50 flights listed as cancelled last year. Qantas has 40 Adelaide-Sydney flights listed as cancelled, Virgin Blue nine and Jetstar three.

"A flight is regarded as a cancellation if it is cancelled or rescheduled less than seven days prior to its scheduled departure time," the report stgates.

A Virgin Blue spokeswoman said a flight might be cancelled due to unscheduled maintenance needed on an aircraft or unsafe weather.

Bad weather, such as fog, at one city could prevent an aircraft getting to another city and operating its next scheduled flight.

Meanwhile, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has found Adelaide Airport's quality of service has taken off from worst-ranked and climbed in two years to be equal best with Brisbane Airport.

The improvement has been attributed to the big new $260 million passenger terminal that came on stream during early 2006.

great news......:thumbsu:

Airport lands top awards

STUARTINNES
March 14, 2008 06:30pm

adelaide now

ADELAIDE Airport has been given twin No 1 ratings this week – the best on-time departure record of any state capital and equal-best in quality of service.

And although 164 flights were officially listed as cancelled last year on the six main interstate routes from Adelaide, the proportion of total flights is below the national average.
Last year, 87 per cent of flights got away on time at Adelaide Airport – bettered only by Canberra's 88.6 per cent and Mackay's 87.9 per ent. The next best capital cities were Hobart, 85.1 per cent, and Brisbane, 84.1 per cent. Broome had the worst record, of 72.2 per cent.

Meanwhile, the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has found Adelaide Airport's quality of service has taken off from worst-ranked and climbed in two years to be equal best with Brisbane Airport.

The improvement has been attributed to the big new $260 million passenger terminal that came on stream during early 2006.

No No No MD!!

Totally unfair - you're using facts. :(

Quick maccas - we need you to invent some more bullshit to counter this low down decision by MD to use the actual facts in this argument...... ;)

*Shakes head in disbelief, thinking "I never thought MD would stoop so low....."*

No No No MD!!

Totally unfair - you're using facts. :(

Quick maccas - we need you to invent some more bullshit to counter this low down decision by MD to use the actual facts in this argument...... ;)

*Shakes head in disbelief, thinking "I never thought MD would stoop so low....."*

I've already given myself a stern talking to.......:cool:

Figure in keeping with the AIRPORT theme , somethings bothered me for years.

On 2 different occasions after taking my seat i pulled my window visor / screen thingy down. ( you know , the whole not liking takeoffs thing )

Anyways the hostie asked me to lift it back up !!!

Any idea why ???

Was it gonna **** up the aerodynamics , did she think i was sending some signal to my al-jazeera buddies ( DID have a fair beard at the time ) ??? , or was she just being a rag ???

Figure in keeping with the AIRPORT theme , somethings bothered me for years.

On 2 different occasions after taking my seat i pulled my window visor / screen thingy down. ( you know , the whole not liking takeoffs thing )

Anyways the hostie asked me to lift it back up !!!

Any idea why ???

Was it gonna **** up the aerodynamics , did she think i was sending some signal to my al-jazeera buddies ( DID have a fair beard at the time ) ??? , or was she just being a rag ???

You haven't been picked on lol she was just doing her job;

At window seats there are window shields for protection of sun light. They have to be slid up during landings and takeoffs by ICAO regulations and/or law. This rule is in place to provide visibility into the aircraft during emergencies.

OT: Adelaide Airport