jc67

Crows
2 things.
1, Did Connolly actually say that pav might go home this year on the news last night? (i missed the news)
2, Strong rumour that Gary Ayres is in discusions with freo to take over this year. (mid season!)
Seperate sources on these
1,meh (prolly just winding me up.)
2, Heard this from a guy that is in the know and given me reliable stuff before. (would they be so short sighted?)

jc67 said:
2 things.
1, Did Connolly actually say that pav might go home this year on the news last night? (i missed the news)
2, Strong rumour that Gary Ayres is in discusions with freo to take over this year. (mid season!)
Seperate sources on these
1,meh (prolly just winding me up.)
2, Heard this from a guy that is in the know and given me reliable stuff before. (would they be so short sighted?)

the comment was made when they were talking about rumours that a certain senior player(pav) was disollusioned with Freo and cant see them going anywhere so Connelly hit out at him saying if he cant see the winning a flag soon perhaps he should go home.... wouldnt suprise me if Connelly got the sack, such a talented list and yet they probably wont even make the 8.

The comment came in context about how stability at a club is important. RooDog, not sure where you got your interpretation from but here is what was said:

“If there’s instability here or if Matthew Pavlich can’t see that this team can one day win a premiership and be a great team then I would suspect that he would be encouraged* to go home. The players are the most important people in the club I believe and we’ve brought them together, they trust in each other, they’re frustrated with each other to be honest, but at this point in time they really believe in each other and we need to keep that going and the key component to that is stability.”

As quoted from Footygoss.com

*Encouraged by the SA teams...not by Freo. Also Pav was used as an example as he is our most in form and talented player, our next captain, and not from WA.

ImperialPurple said:
The comment came in context about how stability at a club is important. RooDog, not sure where you got your interpretation from but here is what was said:

“If there’s instability here or if Matthew Pavlich can’t see that this team can one day win a premiership and be a great team then I would suspect that he would be encouraged* to go home. The players are the most important people in the club I believe and we’ve brought them together, they trust in each other, they’re frustrated with each other to be honest, but at this point in time they really believe in each other and we need to keep that going and the key component to that is stability.”

*Encouraged by the SA teams...not by Freo. Also Pav was used as an example as he is our most in form and talented player, our next captain, and not from WA.

i was watching Sports Tonight :p they sensationalised a bit id say then only played bits and pieces about Pav and the lead in was something like which star docker is disollusioned with his club....

I'm sure that a suitably trained guru can work with Matthew Smith so that he can see that Freo can one day win a premiership and be a great team, and that he's disillusioned with the AFC's prospects.

If Matthew Pavlich can't see that Freo can one day win a premiership and be a great team, then we'd have two malcontents who are cherry ripe for trading in a straight swap.

;)

Why would CC even mention Pav's name? If I was Pav I would be pretty annoyed at what CC had to say, even if it was just an example.

ImperialPurple said:

Saw the interview on Fox Footy & it was exactly as you say IP.

Nothing much to get excited about fellow Crowies. :)

Just yet. ;)

Capitalist said:
this sounds dumb but I really think Freo need a coach like Gary they don't need to develop players at the moment, the need a game plan to rely on not this kicking around crap

wouldn't suprise me at all if gary took the reigns and did v.well out of it
I was talking to a mate about the exact same thing. Peter German ex NM player currently has 1 flag with Subiaco and they are going to win by more this year, would be a perfect coach for them BUT.... it means Fremantle will have had a rookie coach for the 4th time. I think Fremantle need to get stability and the only way I can see that is for someone to come in and take control. People may laugh at Gary Ayres but it has been shown with Geelong and Adelaide he can make an impact straight away..( its what he does in the second and third year that worries) Peter Sumich ex Eagle has also been touted , but once again rookie coach.

I think someone like Ayres needs to be the coach

Also been thrown around as possible coaches Garry Hocking and Michael Broadbridge(current assistant ex Collingwood )

Strike while the irons hot (well a little warm anyway). Go get him Fanta.

I dont expect it will come to pass, but Pav was recently involved in a serious car accident, he is injured (shoulder apparently) and now Connelly's has mentioned him in this way. Who knows, he might feel the need to be near his family and friends, there just might be something to follow up. Lets not leave this stone unturned.

Would it be out of the question for a trade to eventuate - The Pez (plus draft picks or Chris Groom...) for The Pav??

Thoughts??

Im sick of hearing, "we should be in the 8", "we have a talented list"

I really dont think they are as good as they think they are, these two years show that off. They have a decent spine, but lack pure quality in the midfield, a crumbing goalkicker, rebound off half back. Still a long way till the eight lads!

Crowked said:
No thanks, VB is ours.

Perrie and a pic maybe
Certainly if you want to give away a higher round draft choice. VB is a WA boy so it makes sense. Sometimes you give up silver to get gold. We know what Pavlich can do, we are yet to see what VB can do.

In saying this I would love VB to be a 10 year player..but bizness is bidness :cool:

Crowked said:
No thanks, VB is ours.

Perrie and a pic maybe

Agree. VB is off limits - will be a gun.... Meeson taps to Thompson onto Van Berlo streaming throught the corridor..... for the next ten years....woohoo!!

it would be a great time to get pav atm, simply cause i can only see his value go up. If hes injured a shoulder like crowked said, and they said it on the radio the other week, it knocks a bit of value off him too. I think we'd throw in VB if it came to that. What would be fantastic is if ayres took over, simply cause incompetent is his middle name and i’m sure we'd get a nice trade for old times sake.

Reckon that pav is about on par with tredrea imo and will be better than him. Not as good as brown though

Capitalist said:
this sounds dumb but I really think Freo need a coach like Gary they don't need to develop players at the moment, the need a game plan to rely on not this kicking around crap

wouldn't suprise me at all if gary took the reigns and did v.well out of it
I actually agree. For all his shortcomings one thing about Ayres is that he demands discipline and his teams are generally competative.

I think he could just be the sort of bloke that knocks some sense into the purple boys. I doubt he would bring the premiership thought. Ayres is the sort of coach that will get you there but can't take the final step.

I also think Jars is right. This sort of scenario has Malcolm Blight written all over it. I doubt Blighty would take the team mid-season but I think he could take them to the premiership.

If were are ever to go after Pavlich then this is the time. Strike while the iron is hot. He is still under contract which could make it VERY difficult to get him as Freo would have the upper hand and could demand a hell of a lot in return.

Stiffy_18 said:
If were are ever to go after Pavlich then this is the time. Strike while the iron is hot. He is still under contract which could make it VERY difficult to get him as Freo would have the upper hand and could demand a hell of a lot in return.

Psychologically you're right, because he must wonder what in fk he is doing so far from home playing amongst such a rabble.

But footy is such a transient thing, they just might turn their form around when they get players back after injury and win a few in a row and quell those thoughts in Pav's head.

The other thing is that Pav is a man of principle. I genuinely doubt that he would walk out on Freo at the end of the year, even if every piece of emotion in him was willing him to do that. I can't see him dishonouring his contract unless that was with Freo's blessing and I can't see that happening.

What it might just do though is harden Pav's resolve to come home at the end of 2006 at the expiration of his contract. I'm sure the AFC - and Port - are in constant touch with his manager trying to steer his thoughts down that path.

He also certainly would come at a cheaper price at the end of a contract than he would during one.

But we should be really targeting him at the end of next year - he would make a massive difference to our forward structure.

Pav is contracted til the end of 2007 so 2 more yrs - plus theres no way you could trade him for perrie n a pick... we made the mistake the first time w/ mcleod