Sacramento Kings
Anyone else looking forward to tonight? :)

I am jumping out of my skin with excitement. Should be a great WC and I am tipping Brazil to win. Although, Germans at home will be tough to beat. They have been preparing for this WC for quite a while.

Anyone else staying up late/getting up early to watch the opening ceremony and the first game between Germany and Costa Rica?

Let the games begin :D

For sure. I'm going to become a nocturnal being for the duration of the tournament. Can't wait! :D

Yep, I am starting to get excited about the WC, go the Socceroos.

Tonight I will be watching the footy (Essendon vs. Geelong) and then switch over to the opening ceremony before trying to stay awake for the first game. Germany vs. Costa Rica will be a good kick off (pardon the pun) to the World Cup and then it will heat up tomorrow night with England vs. Paraguay.

My tip to win it all: Italy

ITA.gif

maccas_no1 said:
C'mon England:D

kit-ENG.gif
:thumbsu:

If only Marty, it will be a glorious day if England can win it all but I doubt it.

For England to win the World Cup, David Beckham, Steven Gerrard and Michael Owen will have to have the tournament of there lives but I can only see a and Final 8 finish for England.

World Cup 2006

Unfortunately Gerrard has rated himself only a 50-50 chance of playing the opening game.

Never fear, Frank Lampard will tear Paraguay apart on his own.

C'moooon you FootballRoos! :thumbsu:

Re: World Cup 2006

McLeod23 said:
Unfortunately Gerrard has rated himself only a 50-50 chance of playing the opening game.

Never fear, Frank Lampard will tear Paraguay apart on his own.

C'moooon you FootballRoos! :thumbsu:

But that the thing with England; they have no problem getting out of the group stage in the World Cup or European cups.

They usually fall over in the knockout stage as a few of there player go missing hence why they need the big time players to perform then. At the moment the biggest big game player in the England Squad would be Steven Gerrard and he will have to fire after the group stage.

If England underestimate Paraguay they are in trouble. If Roque Santa Cruz is fully fit he will cause some headaches, the bloke is a star.

I can't wait for this... i aim to still be awake for the world cup kick off.. no going to sleep then getting up for me.

Where are you lads going to watch the Australia - Japan game on Monday?

topjars said:
GGG
goguussesguys

note to members - Please remember theres only one football so lets agree to call it soccer eh?
:p

No, it's football :thumbsu:

Don’t be insecure about a game played all over the world.

RoosterLad said:
If England underestimate Paraguay they are in trouble. If Roque Santa Cruz is fully fit he will cause some headaches, the bloke is a star.

I can't wait for this... i aim to still be awake for the world cup kick off.. no going to sleep then getting up for me.

Where are you lads going to watch the Australia - Japan game on Monday?

At home, work on Tuesday :mad:

Had the game been Sunday night I would have considered going out but I will still enjoy it at home.

England got NO chance!!!!!!

England along with Spain are the biggest underachievers in any major tournaments and have been for year. They always choke and disappoint.

I have had my couple of hours sleep. Watch the opening ceremony, then watch the Germany Vs Costa Rica. Make a strong cup of coffee and then watch the Argentina Vs Ivory Coast, then off to bed :D

I appologize in advance for any cranky outbursts, sniping or any other foul behaviour over the next month. I will blame it on the lack of sleep and all over the shop sleeping patterns. I promise to be back to my normal self after the WC final :D

Stiffy_18 said:
I have had my couple of hours sleep. Watch the opening ceremony, then watch the Germany Vs Costa Rica. Make a strong cup of coffee and then watch the Argentina Vs Ivory Coast, then off to bed :D
Poland v Ecuador is the second match.

5am AEST... doubt I'll last that long.

I've been slowly converted over to the round ball game via my Gunner mates, and have getting quietly excited for all of this. I'm still trying to understand it all but I am now quite cluey with it. The World Cup game I got is also quite good but the techniques and knowledge of the game aspects are a bit of a hurdle.

Go Australia!

Stiffy_18 said:

England along with Spain are the biggest underachievers in any major tournaments and have been for year. They always choke and disappoint.

Now im no expert Stiffs with the soccer (unlike me AFL knowlegde :D ) but England does have some real quality on every line. Assuming Rooney is up and running for the semis and Owen and others stay fit I reckon they are a decent shot at going all the way

The UK media would be unbearable though if they win it :eek: (at least they might stop crapping on about ww2 and 66 but)

The Crows Truth said:
Now im no expert Stiffs with the soccer (unlike me AFL knowlegde :D ) but England does have some real quality on every line. Assuming Rooney is up and running for the semis and Owen and others stay fit I reckon they are a decent shot at going all the way

The UK media would be unbearable though if they win it :eek: (at least they might stop crapping on about ww2 and 66 but)
Talent was never in question with England or Spain. Thay have always had the talent to put on the park but they have ALWAYS failed in major competitions in the last 20 odd years. I very much doubt thats about to change.

Go Australia! England is my next team. For us to get past the group stages VIduka need to kick more goals.. He needs to make something happen.

crowsarethebest said:
Go Australia! England is my next team. For us to get past the group stages VIduka need to kick more goals.. He needs to make something happen.
Getting a bit better service from his midfielders would be a good start.

Aussies MUST win the first game if they are any chance to go to the next round.

Stiffy_18 said:

I appologize in advance for any cranky outbursts, sniping or any other foul behaviour over the next month. I will blame it on the lack of sleep and all over the shop sleeping patterns. I promise to be back to my normal self after the WC final :D

Take Holidays thats what I did, my better half said to me yesterday geez cant wait for the next 'two weeks' to finish, I said 'two weeks':confused: She goes then the World Cup will be over I said it goes for a month, her bottom lip hit the floor pretty quick:p