Our biggest problem....PROMOTION

Jul 22, 2000
Port Adelaide
Gee it was great playing Norwood....I hated them......

Its not the same going to watch the Port Adelaide Magpies Football club playing them....

Id rather watch Port Adelaide playing them...but we cant now were in the AFL..

It is sad to see the other SANFL clubs trying to manufacture that old zeal against the Magpies...but it aint the same since we gave them our guernseys and logo in 1996.

It is just not the same.

The AFL posters on the main board tell us how lucky we are to still have a suburban comp....... It is sad mate... I go and stand at Alberton...my hill is gone and so is the Nth Eastern mound and bar where the Port rooms are now.

I try to get excited against the other clubs...but I just go there to socialise now, have a beer and look at the imposters , young 'uns, rejects and hopefuls running around.

Have you noticed how they just dont go in as hard anymore? They seem to be a little more delicate or...saving their best bits for 'speccies' etc...so that some one from the AFL notices them...

and they are frightened to get hurt and ruin a potential AFL carreer....

ptw.....League SANFL is dead....

PA1870

to be honest i enjoy watching the magpies more than the power. Magpies is the real port adelaide...with real port players...you dont see no josh francous there, no north or sturt players at the magpies. Its great to go to alberton, stand on the fence and support browny and the boys. the 1999 GF was great beating norwood.

I love to reminisce, and I can still lose myself in the footy, I can still hate and respect Norwood, I can despise glenelg, stick the boots into Sturt, I can see Sambo, Bubbles, Black Jack running around.

It's all in my mind, so it is still real for me

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

PA1870,

You've done some sterling work on this site preaching the Port Adelaide story, but I think you're off the mark this time.

Until Port Adelaide FC have some success in the AFL, *they* are the ones who have to win some credibility.

We know that the Magpies are technically the new team and Power is the old Port Adelaide, but most of us long time Port supporters won't hear a word against our beloved Magpies. As Macca says, they are the team brought up through the true Port Adelaide system.

That's what I reckon anyway (to borrow a line from the famous 'Fat Alberton').

Originally posted by Grave Danger:
PA1870,

You've done some sterling work on this site preaching the Port Adelaide story, but I think you're off the mark this time.

Until Port Adelaide FC have some success in the AFL, *they* are the ones who have to win some credibility.

We know that the Magpies are technically the new team and Power is the old Port Adelaide, but most of us long time Port supporters won't hear a word against our beloved Magpies. As Macca says, they are the team brought up through the true Port Adelaide system.

That's what I reckon anyway (to borrow a line from the famous 'Fat Alberton').

K guys...Now you know my dillema... As much as I wish what you said was true..

I know it isnt...I can try and believe maybe try and fool myself.. I bled B&W I loved Port when they were in the SANFL, but when they left....they left......

Its hard, because the board tells us that of both the Port Magpies Est.1996 and the Port Adelaide Football club Est 1870.

I still enjoy watchin the club running around in our old uniforms..dont get me wrong..because they remind me of who WE WERE.

And I admire the way that you guys ,well, see it in your minds as it was and as you believe it still is..

I still go to Alberton and watch the Portmagpies Football club...
I still remember when Port Adelaide played SANFL as you guys have said you remember as well, but it aint the same...it aint.
When Im at the Footy I stick up for the Port Magpies too !! I wont let anyone put them down..But my heart and mind know the reality..that is I am following an emblem ..a logo...an image...of what my club was...... once.

But Sambo, Russel Ebert, Black Jack, bubbles...well they played for the Port Adelaide Football Club...now in the AFL and thats where my main loyalties lay...

Not with what I wish it to be...but what is.....

Please dont take offence to my thoughts....they are just that my thoughts and feelings....as concurred by the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club est 1996 and the Mighty Port Adelaide Football club Est 1870.

Come on you mighty Maggies !!!!!! S.A.

And Come on Ports AFL

PA1870

the SANFL is somewhat dead PA1870 (it was coughing up blood last night !!) - I think we might have killed it....but then we gave it life so the lord give'th and the lord take'th away.

You just have to get over this thing with the Magpies. They are a different club....but they have the same jumpers, logo, but more importantly the same recruiting zone, the same structure...apart from the players taken by the Power the players were the same as well.

It is an interesting arguement as to whether one follows a club....or the things that that club does. If the Port Adelaide Football Club remained...but left the AFL and went off to play lawn bowls would I follow them ? No. If I developed a passion for lawn bowls I know who I would support...but I support a club which plays a particular game in a particular way in a particular state. And the magpies do that well wnough for me (hence I renewed my membership when I was in Australia !!).

If you want to we can have the best of both worlds. Supporters of Victorian clubs also have a pining for the way things were...but they have no outlet...we can sit at Colonic and watch Port Adelaide....then we can sit at Alberton and watch Port Adelaide.....its a great thing once you accept it.

The 1999 GF is a good example...how much more Port Adelaide do you want ? Coming from behind to beat Norwood in the dying minutes.

Join the party mate !!!!!

ptw

PA1870, I can see where you are coming from, but as far as I'm concerned the scoreboard still reads Port, not the Port Adelaide Magpies FC est1996. I will admitt the passion is probably not as great as it used to be but I would still rather beat Norwood than lose to them.

I beleive the Port Adelaide passion is still their with the Magpies today. Who could forget the come from behind GF victories in 98 & 99.

As far as I'm concerned both teams represent Port Adelaide and I can say that I follow Port in the SANFL and Port in the AFL and I don't really care what a legal piece of paper tells me about when each club was established.

This is where you and me will differ always PA1870. I respect your views immensly...but to me the Magpies will always ALWAYS be the REAL Port Adealaide. To me the Power is the new team...not the Magpies. The Power has the old name PAFC, but it isnt the same club as such. Power has no tradition, no rival other than the crows, its new, people are still getting used to it i feel. The magpies has the tradition, the rivalry, the history, the premierships. PAFC has 36 falgs, none of which belong to the power. I was brought up on the magpies..ive been to over 400 magpies games i reckon in my 19 years, ive cried over them many a time, i cried when Scotty kicked that goal in that prelim, i cried when we lost the 1997 GF, i cried when we won in 96 ( on my birthday)
i have yet to do that with the Power...i cried when we didnt make the finals in 97, and that was it, oh and after showdown 2.

Port magpies will always be my number one team...Port Power second.

But as i said at the start, your opinio ni syour opinion, and i respect and understand how you come to that opinion. Lets just say im a Port Adelaide football lover!!

Originally posted by Macca19:
This is where you and me will differ always PA1870. I respect your views immensly...but to me the Magpies will always ALWAYS be the REAL Port Adealaide. To me the Power is the new team...not the Magpies. The Power has the old name PAFC, but it isnt the same club as such. Power has no tradition, no rival other than the crows, its new, people are still getting used to it i feel. The magpies has the tradition, the rivalry, the history, the premierships. PAFC has 36 falgs, none of which belong to the power. I was brought up on the magpies..ive been to over 400 magpies games i reckon in my 19 years, ive cried over them many a time, i cried when Scotty kicked that goal in that prelim, i cried when we lost the 1997 GF, i cried when we won in 96 ( on my birthday)
i have yet to do that with the Power...i cried when we didnt make the finals in 97, and that was it, oh and after showdown 2.

Port magpies will always be my number one team...Port Power second.

But as i said at the start, your opinio ni syour opinion, and i respect and understand how you come to that opinion. Lets just say im a Port Adelaide football lover!!

Ditto to everything macca...Ive been doing it since the mid sixties.......

We must never ...Never allow any Crows or Victorian supporter tell us that Port Adelaide havent won 34 SANFL premierships prior to leaving the SANFL...because they did !!!!!!!!!

however we must also never allow SANFL or Crows supporters the belief that the " Magpies havent won 36 Premierships...

Even though Our chief executive aknowledges that we have only one2 since being admitted to the SANFL in 1996.

Believe...because if you truly believe............

ptw...I am at all the parties..............

and I wont stop giving the enemy my thoughts...

PA1870

Our biggest problem....PROMOTION