Our chances this week

• Thread starter Thread starter Crows.ok

Crows.ok

I'd say Richo has done his dash. Welsh in, Richo out. Is there any room for Skipworth as well? I wouldn't like to see Bienke lose a place though, and I'm not sure I can think of anyone else who is up for a holiday in the SANFL.

I see where Brisbane are a tad over-confident, with their captain saying he would like to have had another game in Melbourne this week because "Brisbane have nothing to gain by beating Adelaide at the Gabba". Be great if the cocky so&so got his comeuppance, and Brisbane in fact did manage to prove something - that they are overrated.

I give Adelaide a fair to middling chance at a win. I see where our betting odds to make the eight have shortened, and Bunji is now second favourite to get the Brownlow. Hope that hasn't put the kybosh on things.

Form against Brisbane

I agree Crows _ok. Richo out Welshy in.
Richo hasnt shown anything to me apart from a palm down goal to Edwards and the fact a tall must stand him.
In a nutshell=wont chase/tooslow/cant bend
Welsh on the other hand has kicked 4 and 4 in the last two Gabba games I THINK.
Theyll be ready ..........but we'll be waitin
:cool:

Yeah well, I've been thinking about it too and against most trains of thought, I reckon we probably need a smaller defender, to take either Power or McRae if they come back. So I think Shir should come in there, to fill that void (just a personal opinion, probably won't happen). I'd also like to see Bassett come in as well, he's very solid defender who can play also as a leading forward. I believe for team balance having Bassett is crucial. Welshy was good on the weekend but I reckon another week in the SANFL can't hurt him, also he played on Monday.

Not sure who'd come out apart from Richardson, maybe Beinke or Bown. Beinke didn't do a lot against Freo (kicked a goal at the end) and spent a lot of time on the bench against the Tigers. It doesn't bode well.

Anyway, who knows what will happen, I wouldn't mind seeing Welsh in so that could very well eventuate. As for our chances, I still think Brissie will pull it out, but I hope our guys go over there, play good hard, confident footy, and really give the Lions a tough contest.

In todays paper, it said it may be Welsh in, Bown out. They said they liked rocho's toughness in contests, :D

Anyway I think we will win, and did voss really say that? hahaha what a w***er!

CARN THE CROWS

Originally posted by Crows.ok

I see where Brisbane are a tad over-confident, with their captain saying he would like to have had another game in Melbourne this week because "Brisbane have nothing to gain by beating Adelaide at the Gabba". Be great if the cocky so&so got his comeuppance, and Brisbane in fact did manage to prove something - that they are overrated.

Geez, talk about taking a quote out of context. What Alistair Lynch (not Michael Voss) stated in full (and I quote) was:

"I'd like to be playing away again to prove some points. If we happen to win the game (against Adelaide) it won't answer any questions and people will still have a doubt over our head and I'm looking forward to getting away from the Gabba and proving a few points to a few people around here and interstate."

"If we happen to win the game..........." Hardly cocky or over-confident.

By the way I agree Brisbane ARE over-rated by the media and the general footballing public. The way they are playing at the moment there's no guarantee Brisbane will win this weekend, although they do have a very good record at the Gabba.

Re: Re: Our chances this week

Originally posted by Roylion

Geez, talk about taking a quote out of context. What Alistair Lynch (not Michael Voss) stated in full (and I quote) was:

"I'd like to be playing away again to prove some points. If we happen to win the game (against Adelaide) it won't answer any questions and people will still have a doubt over our head and I'm looking forward to getting away from the Gabba and proving a few points to a few people around here and interstate."

By the way I agree Brisbane ARE over-rated by the media and the general footballing public. The way they are playing at the moment there's no guarantee Brisbane will win this weekend, although they do have a very good record at the Gabba.

Still though - they have a hell of a lot to lose if they do lose the game (four points for instance and a spot in the eight)

So if you have a lot to lose - there is a lot to gain - ie you don't lose a lot. (

Its suggests that a win will be less than hard and won't gain them respect

I understand his point though but he should be careful not to provide us any extra motivation

Crows are a huge chance.

Re: Re: Our chances this week

Sorry, yes it was Lynch not Voss.

It probably wasn't meant as cocky, but in a certain way, reading betwen the lines and following the thought process behind it, it was (unintentionally) cocky in a way. In my view anyway. Jars expresses it best above ... of course you have got a lot to lose, and it is definitely at risk.

Its suggests that a win will be less than hard and won't gain them respect?????? Unintentionally cocky????

Nowhere in the whole interview could I find any evidence that Lynch was denigrating Adelaide nor could I find any skerrick of a suggestion that he didn't regard this as an important game, keeping in mind that we play Essendon the week after.

Lynch was making what I thought was a very valid point that IF (and he did say IF!) they won against Adelaide, there would still be lingering doubts about the Lions given their poor away record this year. And he's right there will be. Even if the two sides play the match of the year and Brisbane win by a point they won't gain respect. Even if they win by 100 points they won't gain respect. That's the point Lynch was making.

He was also making the point that he wished that this week the Lions were playing away, to see if the side could win away from the Gabba and silence some of the criticism the Lions had been getting from the media and their own supporters. If that could start to happen, then the Lions might start to be respected seriously as a Top Four contender, a genuine finals threat and a tough, committed and skilled team. At the moment that's not happening.

Its suggests that a win will be less than hard and won't gain them respect?????? Unintentionally cocky????

Nowhere in the whole interview could I find any evidence that Lynch was denigrating Adelaide nor could I find any skerrick of a suggestion that he didn't regard this as an important game, keeping in mind that we play Essendon the week after.

Lynch was making what I thought was a very valid point that IF (and he did say IF!) they won against Adelaide, there would still be lingering doubts about the Lions given their poor away record this year. And he's right there will be. Even if the two sides play the match of the year and Brisbane win by a point they won't gain respect. Even if they win by 100 points they won't gain respect. That's the point Lynch was making.

He was also making the point that he wished that this week the Lions were playing away, to see if the side could win away from the Gabba and silence some of the criticism the Lions had been getting from the media and their own supporters. If that could start to happen, then the Lions might start to be respected seriously as a Top Four contender, a genuine finals threat and a tough, committed and skilled team. At the moment that's not happening.

In saying that IF Lions beat Adelaide they still would not prove themselves ... he (perhaps unintentionally) seems to reveal an underlying assumption that Adelaide at the Gabba will be easybeats.

It all depends on how you look at it. It matters not if it was or was not a cocky attitude ... all that matters is if Lynchs opponents, Adelaide, see it as cocky and use it as motivation.

I hope this clarifies the point a little.

Originally posted by ant
What if Brissie were playing Essendon, or Port, or the Hawks?? Would he have said the same thing??

Dont worry Ant, let Brisbane do what Carlton and Richmond did, and underestimate us, and then lets see what Voss or Lynch or whatever dickhead made that comment, say when they get thumped by the mighty Adelaide crows!!

CARN ADELAIDE!;)