Our forward line

JR is a dual sided, thinking footballer and simply is the best man for the job. Remember that CHF these days still can kick 50 goals a season.

Agree with your logic Flea, but I will be very surprised if he is still not regularly rotated through the full forward line to unsettle opposing defences.

Has the best party tricks of any big man in the league IMO, and can conjure something out of nothing when he's close to goal.

JR is a dual sided, thinking footballer and simply is the best man for the job. Remember that CHF these days still can kick 50 goals a season.

Fair call theflea, at this stage. I think TV is a thinker as well and over the next couple of seasons they will become a formidable combination. I don't think TV is as good on both sides at this stage, but am happy to be corrected. Just finished watching the Rd 1 2013 V Blues game where JR came up the ground and TV kicked 3 or so and was just clunking them from all over. I can just see them alternating the FF- CHF roles depending on the match ups etc and really reeking some havoc....:thumbsu:

Jack is going to be the CHF so ty will play FF, with Maric/Hampson the 3rd tall.

So

Dusty, jack, Resting mid
S. Edwards, Tyrone, Maric

isn't Dusty the resting Mid in this situation?

for me,

HFF Knights, Jack, Titch/resting mid
FF Azza, Vick, Maric/Hampson
king and arnot on the pine

I would say that yes according to opposition defences we have the freedom and flexibility of switching that FF and CHF position and both these guys TV and JR can play that role, I'm guessing that with JR losing weight and looking lean he may be given more freedom around the ground and we are looking for big BEN to step up to fill that CHF, also we got class now available on the flanks with KNIGHTS and LENNON and DUstY, for me I want TITCH to challenge for the defensive forward pocket position, but as said KINGY puts fear into defenders and we don't have anyone else that does that. The key for us is that we finally have options and flexibility that are genuine quality. Got massive hopes on GRIFFS to come good... And also the BEAN... Question what about DUSTY as that defensive forward?

MARIC TV DUSTY
LENNON JR KNIGHTS

HAMPSON TV ARNOT
DUSTY JR KNIGHTS

MARIC TV KINGY
TITCH JR KNIGHTS

It's really good to see that all these players can damage oppositions

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Xparent Skyblue Tapatalk 2

Will be really interesting to see how other teams try defending the 3/4 tall combination that we may have playing foward
Hampson - 202 cm
Vickery - 200cm
Maric - 200cm
Riewoldt - 195cm

I cant see any team with 3 BIG backman and 1 foward is likely to have a massive mismatch

And with Riewoldt playing a running loose game he is going to be impossible to match on - they play a small running player on him and he out-marks them, they play a big backman on him and he out ground-plays them.

So many combinations and possibilities. In just excited to see what actually happens.

Fair call theflea, at this stage. I think TV is a thinker as well and over the next couple of seasons they will become a formidable combination. I don't think TV is as good on both sides at this stage, but am happy to be corrected. Just finished watching the Rd 1 2013 V Blues game where JR came up the ground and TV kicked 3 or so and was just clunking them from all over. I can just see them alternating the FF- CHF roles depending on the match ups etc and really reeking some havoc....:thumbsu:

Yeah agree, I think TV isn't a dumb player per se but Jack thinks far quicker than most players and the fact is this dual sidedness can make all the difference as TV is very Hymey like!

isn't Dusty the resting Mid in this situation?

for me,

HFF Knights, Jack, Titch/resting mid
FF Azza, Vick, Maric/Hampson
king and arnot on the pine

Yeah you could say that but he tends to play more HFF than midfield plus the resting mid has also been there at the same time. Definite possibility as it gives us more options.

Will be interesting to see how long it takes us to figure out that Hampson isn't a forward..... Took Ratten a while.... took Malthouse about six games. Both Coaches tried.... apparently we have some magic potion at Punt rd to give Hampson that will magically make him work as a forward.

IMO he will play a lot more ruck than fwd ... maric will be 2nd ruck .... i reckon maric a better fwd than hampson - he's pretty slow but can take a grab ... if maric can get an inch on a defender i think he will win 8/10 one on one contests ...

Yeah agree, I think TV isn't a dumb player per se but Jack thinks far quicker than most players and the fact is this dual sidedness can make all the difference as TV is very Hymey like!

I think I get what your saying, I think JR is just that little bit quicker than most in his thinking. He doesn't have that explosiveness that some FF/CHF have but his thinking and positioning (footy smarts) give him the time/space he needs to win the contest. One of the things I really like about Jack. It might take a little time for him to settle into the CHF role, but he could be something very special as a CHF.

You may be right nut, if he doesn't improve his kicking. However if he can cause a defence to become nervous or dish off after marking so our smalls can reek a bit more havoc our forward line becomes more of a weapon.

Or
You may be right nut, if he doesn't improve his kicking. However if he can cause a defence to become nervous or dish off after marking so our smalls can reek a bit more havoc our forward line becomes more of a weapon.

Or watch the defenders run off him all day while our forward line leaks like a dodgy Indian curry.

Or

Or watch the defenders run off him all day while our forward line leaks like a dodgy Indian curry.

:D funny to read , not so funny if you've had one.......

I hear you and agree it's a possibility, then I started wondering if our HF could become a lot more defensive minded along with small forwards to counter this possibility ? Just a thought....

I reckon we need to go to school on how the hawks managed theirs, they had Buddy, Roughy, Hale and Gunston whilst Bailey was in the side rucking....

:D funny to read , not so funny if you've had one.......

I hear you and agree it's a possibility, then I started wondering if our HF could become a lot more defensive minded along with small forwards to counter this possibility ? Just a thought....

I think that goes totally against what Dimma has been installing into every player. Accountability ..... If Hampson comes in and is given they luxury of not being accountable it goes against everything Dimma has been preaching and it would have a negative affect on the entire group.

HF Dusty (resting Mid) Jack Tich
FF Maric (resting Ruck) TV Arnot

Maybe King on bench, but by rod 5 or so (like Vlas) I expect Lennon to be on the bench for King if the Push-up cant have a huge impact on the scoreboard. I expect Biccies to take over the forward pressure role from King.

I also wouldnt be suprised to see TV come out to HF and let Lids or Cotch go to FF through the odd mid-field rotation.

If Maric/Hampson doesnt work, expect McBean to given a go (may not work just yet) at FF and TV become the 2nd (and resting) ruckman up forward

I think that goes totally against what Dimma has been installing into every player. Accountability ..... If Hampson comes in and is given they luxury of not being accountable it goes against everything Dimma has been preaching and it would have a negative affect on the entire group.

What I'm thinking is, He (Hampson) can have shots but also look for dish off opportunities as well. Creating less predictability & bringing other team mates into the game. Could you elaborate on what you mean by being less accountable ? Because part of Dimma's mantra has been a more even spread of contributors so I'm not completely clear on your point. Not being provocative, just seeking clarification. cheers nut......

If we can arrange our forward line so that JR has freedom to roam then we might see something amazing. He just has ausch a big bag of tricks, and can play supplier, KPF and crumber, as well as being good defensively. I don't see teh resting rucks as beign central to that. Having another tall fill that role is key. But it si starting to look good anyway. Hoping for a great ride into the future.

Interesting topic.

For me, King is a lock until another defensive forward goes past him, and I reckon that could be Arnot.

Question what about DUSTY as that defensive forward?

IMO, I don't think Dusty has it in him. I can't remember seeing him chase the ball leaving the centre square, let alone multiple, repeat, manic efforts.

What I'm thinking is, He (Hampson) can have shots but also look for dish off opportunities as well. Creating less predictability & bringing other team mates into the game. Could you elaborate on what you mean by being less accountable ? Because part of Dimma's mantra has been a more even spread of contributors so I'm not completely clear on your point. Not being provocative, just seeking clarification. cheers nut......

I'm saying that Hampson is not a forward and we can't play a player hoping he makes opposition defenders "nervous"????

If we can arrange our forward line so that JR has freedom to roam then we might see something amazing. He just has ausch a big bag of tricks, and can play supplier, KPF and crumber, as well as being good defensively. I don't see teh resting rucks as beign central to that. Having another tall fill that role is key. But it si starting to look good anyway. Hoping for a great ride into the future.

Sorry to pick on you Dr T, because there are heaps of posts talking up JR playing a floating role. I just picked one at random to reply to, and I apologise that it was yours.

He didn't get a kick playing that role in the EF. He really can go missing when he has to position himself somewhere in a big area.

For mine, JR plays his best footy parked in the goal square and leaping at the footy.

That's when he plays his most spectacular footy - not necessarily his best team footy and it's his best team footy with that footy brain of his making the most of situations and his team mates that we need. He started on that path last year and Dimma and co appear to be expanding it this year. I reckon they spent last year teaching him how rewarding it can be to play that team role and will now make him take it to the next level - dare I say it - the Royce role ! I'm looking forward to seeing what they put in place.