FB: Livingston
CHB: Whitnall/Thornton
C: Bentick/Stevens/Murphy
CHF: Waite/Whitnall
F: Fevola

With pick 1 in this year's Nat Draft we will most likely (and hopefully) take Mark Murphy, a classy midfielder with all the right attributes to be a success. With pick 4 we can take another classy midfielder in Hurn, Ellis or Swallow (whoever is left) or we can build our spine with a player such as Kennedy, Ryder, Clark or Hughes.

With Hartlett, Setanta and Raso our long term KPP prospects we are a bit bare, particularly down back. Waite, Fisher, Fevola, Whitnall and Thornton are all very good players, Livingston struggles and Saddington is a bit iffy at this stage.

Having said this, is it more important for us to draft a classy midfielder and a genuine KPP with our first 2 picks? Much will depend on who is taken at 2 and 3 but a case can be made for taking one of each rather than 2 mids or 2 KPP.

Hopefully we get 2 of Murphy, Hurn and Kenendy IMO because they appear ready for next year and provide leadership and class. Kennedy and Hartlett both at 195cm developing together over the next couple of years at the CFC is a nice thought, but also Murphy and say Hurn developing together with Walker, Russell, Simpson, Bentick, Betts, Blackwell and Carrazzo in our midfield is also mouth watering.

Will be a tough decision for Pagan, Hughes and co. but hopefully will be a positive outcome with all up 4 players from the Nat Draft going on to play 100+ games for the CFC.

Paddy Hicks said:

With pick 1 in this year's Nat Draft we will most likely (and hopefully) take Mark Murphy, a classy midfielder with all the right attributes to be a success. With pick 4 we can take another classy midfielder in Hurn, Ellis or Swallow (whoever is left) or we can build our spine with a player such as Kennedy, Ryder, Clark or Hughes.

With Hartlett, Setanta and Raso our long term KPP prospects we are a bit bare, particularly down back. Waite, Fisher, Fevola, Whitnall and Thornton are all very good players, Livingston struggles and Saddington is a bit iffy at this stage.

Having said this, is it more important for us to draft a classy midfielder and a genuine KPP with our first 2 picks? Much will depend on who is taken at 2 and 3 but a case can be made for taking one of each rather than 2 mids or 2 KPP.

Hopefully we get 2 of Murphy, Hurn and Kenendy IMO because they appear ready for next year and provide leadership and class. Kennedy and Hartlett both at 195cm developing together over the next couple of years at the CFC is a nice thought, but also Murphy and say Hurn developing together with Walker, Russell, Simpson, Bentick, Betts, Blackwell and Carrazzo in our midfield is also mouth watering.

Will be a tough decision for Pagan, Hughes and co. but hopefully will be a positive outcome with all up 4 players from the Nat Draft going on to play 100+ games for the CFC.

I don't believe we are ina position to be speculating with our first two picks this year. We simply need to pick the who we consider to be the best to players available regardless of what position they play.

We have so many holes in our list at present, that whoever we get at 1 & 4 will have vastly improved the quality and depth of the list.

With regards to the midfield, I think the young guys like Simpson, Walker, Bentick & Blackwell still have a lot of work to do before we can consider our midfield mouth watering. They are on the right track, but really need to get some runs on the board this coming season.

WTTF said:
I don't believe we are ina position to be speculating with our first two picks this year. We simply need to pick the who we consider to be the best to players available regardless of what position they play.

We have so many holes in our list at present, that whoever we get at 1 & 4 will have vastly improved the quality and depth of the list.

With regards to the midfield, I think the young guys like Simpson, Walker, Bentick & Blackwell still have a lot of work to do before we can consider our midfield mouth watering. They are on the right track, but really need to get some runs on the board this coming season.

I agree with this.

However apart from Marc Murphy there are question marks on all the other proposed top 10 picks.

- Xavier Ellis will he gain weight and fill out? Will he get slow like Goddard when he has built up? Lets his man lead him to the ball a lot. Some of his stats in the TAC are from kickouts as well.

- Shannon Hurn. 3.04 for 20m is good but what is his pace over 5 meters? Is his body type going to be a problem as he gets older. Possible oestitus pubis problems for the rest of his career. May never be able to run the kms needed to get fit enough to play midfield without breaking down.
Luke Hodge also has this problem and is on a modified program.
Hurn is slow to change direction.

- Josh Kennedy. Slow. Not very agile. Physical player and a good kick but nothing special when you see him play. Top aged and more developed and perhaps not much more left in him to develop. Draft camp tresting was very very poor.

- Patrick Ryder. What position is he suited to? Ruck cannot be in the AFL full time. Will he grow more? Will he want to go home to WA after his 2 years are up like other aboriginal players seem to. Can he play KPP? Does he have enough mongrel in him? Is he just a nice athletic type player who will be smashed in the AFL? Draft camp testing was not great.

there are just a few. Can write up some more if anyone wants.

I tried to dwell on the negatives for the sake of the post.

I would clarify 1 thing though with the draft camp. Players like Ellis/Ryder/Kennedy had just finished there seasons after playing underage grand finals and would not have been able to train for it. May have had niggly injuries and been sore. So hard to know how much to read into them.
Not really a level playing field for all of them.

-

WTTF said:

I said these players developing in our midfield together was mouth watering. I think this is the case considering we've tried guys like Hulme, Franchina, Wiggins, Bannister, McGrath, Sporn, Bowyer, Clarke, ect in recent seasons developing in our midfield. I find the young kids very exciting, we haven't had this for a long, long time.

Ofcourse they need to get runs on the board, that goes withour saying but 6-8 youing midfielders with a mixture excitement, skill, poise, pace, youth and determination developing together is extremely mouth watering. At the CFC we haven't had this for a long while, time to get excited about it IMO.

Our midfield isn't mouth watering in terms of output just yet but in terms of development and potential it certainly is.

Paddy Hicks said:
i don't think whitnall will play much at CHB, maybe a cameo appearance once in a while

FB: livo
CHB: thornton/saddington
C: (finally some rotation in there)
CHF: whitnall/waite
FF: fevola
RUCK: french/mclaren

the back 3 livo, thornton, saddington will be based on match ups
saddington will be similar to thornton both trying to provide run, so we can use thornton at FB (when required) and leave livo on the 3rd tall (or better suited match up)

note: saddington was recruited as a KP tall not a flanker

bibi01 said:
i don't think whitnall will play much at CHB, maybe a cameo appearance once in a while

FB: livo
CHB: thornton/saddington
C: (finally some rotation in there)
CHF: whitnall/waite
FF: fevola
RUCK: french/mclaren

the back 3 livo, thornton, saddington will be based on match ups
saddington will be similar to thornton both trying to provide run, so we can use thornton at FB (when required) and leave livo on the 3rd tall (or better suited match up)

note: saddington was recruited as a KP tall not a flanker

Saddington is ok at times as a key position defender by is better as a flanker/pocket type who can play CHB well when the match-up is right. Thornton is much better there, the team plays better when he is there and Livo at FB, cant afford to play Thornton at FB much if at all as he is too good up the ground providing run. Maybe Saddington can play FB a bit more than Thornton?

Looks like we have McLaren signed, where does this leave Bryan and De Luca?

personally would love to see Bryan develop into a KPP backman but atm can't see him been ready for that - gotta love his skills, want them in the ones!!!

De luca im still not sure about, to gimpy for me - he needs to start holding his contested marks and bulking up even.

Reality is there will only ever be room for one of them at most, quiet often both will probs be in the twos...

Livo is not good enough to play FB he gets led to the ball every time as he can not read the play, hopefully Hartlett can step up over the next 2 years as he has the attributes to play FB. Whitnall should stay at CHB as he reads the play well and directs the others as to where to go plus it frees up tbird to give us run from HB, Hurn will be a gun on a half back flank like Hodge if we get him and will almost make up for not picking a kpp with his versatility. So i would take Murphy at 1 and Hurn at 4. :thumbsu:

murphster said:
Livo is not good enough to play FB he gets led to the ball every time as he can not read the play, hopefully Hartlett can step up over the next 2 years as he has the attributes to play FB. Whitnall should stay at CHB as he reads the play well and directs the others as to where to go plus it frees up tbird to give us run from HB, Hurn will be a gun on a half back flank like Hodge if we get him and will almost make up for not picking a kpp with his versatility. So i would take Murphy at 1 and Hurn at 4. :thumbsu:

:thumbsu:

Each time Livingston's name is mentioned in our spine just drives home the fact that we'll be terrible for years to come.

Guys i can tell you know that youe number 4 pick will be Andrew Swallow. Pagan loves him, speed to burn a ball magnet.

I for one wouldn't be too disappointed with that, any one of Hurn/Swallow/Drum running off the half back line would be a good choice for us :thumbsu:

Swallow has some very good runs on the board at juniour level., seems like he has the right level of application and dedication.

breswe said:
Guys i can tell you know that youe number 4 pick will be Andrew Swallow. Pagan loves him, speed to burn a ball magnet.

Would be very happy with that. Hurn or Swallow as potential no.4's is great. The thing he has on Hurn is that he is super quick and more of an in & under player. Hurn on the other hand is a beautiful kick and damaging with his skills and nous. They are both natural born leaders so win-win with whoever we get I reckon.

I know that carlton wants Swallow. Have told him that they are propared to pick him at 4. My brother knows Andrew, and told him that Carlton , hawthorn and essendon are interested. He has had more conversation with the blues. dennis wants him. I will remind you all after the draft that you hear it first.

Paddy Hicks said:
Saddington is ok at times as a key position defender by is better as a flanker/pocket type who can play CHB well when the match-up is right. Thornton is much better there, the team plays better when he is there and Livo at FB, cant afford to play Thornton at FB much if at all as he is too good up the ground providing run. Maybe Saddington can play FB a bit more than Thornton?

Does anyone else think we should try and get John Baird to the Blues? A tall strong defender would really be good thing.Could you imagine Livo on the 4th forward not on the 2nd anymore.It was Pagan who recruited him to Roos.It would really stack up the back line allowing Lance,Lappin etc: to play in their natural positions.

breswe said:
I know that carlton wants Swallow. Have told him that they are propared to pick him at 4. My brother knows Andrew, and told him that Carlton , hawthorn and essendon are interested. He has had more conversation with the blues. dennis wants him. I will remind you all after the draft that you hear it first.

183cm and 75kg (pre-season weight)....he puts on 9kgs and is Luke Ball size, a ball magnet (pardon the pun) and pace to burn. He and Murphy and Stevens running around the midfield :thumbsu:

I still wouldn't believe anything unti the 26th though, anything could happen this year.

sperosvlahos1 said:
Does anyone else think we should try and get John Baird to the Blues? A tall strong defender would really be good thing.Could you imagine Livo on the 4th forward not on the 2nd anymore.It was Pagan who recruited him to Roos.It would really stack up the back line allowing Lance,Lappin etc: to play in their natural positions.

Welcome aboard mate!

I rate Baird (192cm/95kg) but it looks like we are only going to use picks 1, 4, 20 and 36 at this stage which rules him out of contention. We need kids , good kids desperately. Also, lookds like we will take McLaren in the PSD. Cheers mate.

Paddy Hicks said:
Welcome aboard mate!

I rate Baird (192cm/95kg) but it looks like we are only going to use picks 1, 4, 20 and 36 at this stage which rules him out of contention. We need kids , good kids desperately. Also, lookds like we will take McLaren in the PSD. Cheers mate.
have read somewhere we were only going to pick up 1 rookie this year
and i have been looking through the numbers and I thought clubs could have 44 players on their list with a maximum of 6 rookies in the 44

with campo going we have 37 players remaining- leaving us with
pick 1
pick 4
pick 20
pick 36
psd 1
rookie pick 1

and 1 spot remaining to make up 44

are we going with 43, or 2 rookies or am i missing something?

bibi01 said:
and i have been looking through the numbers and I thought clubs could have 44 players on their list with a maximum of 6 rookies in the 44

pick 1
pick 4
pick 20
pick 36
psd 1
rookie pick 1

2006. 39 players and 5 rookies.

Kouta listed as a veteran but outside the 38 players for 2006. You can list veterans outside or inside the 38 players and it does not have any effect on the veterans list for salary cap.
So all it does is reduce the number of rookies.

So when Campo leaves as he is also listed as a veteran and outside the 38 players we will have 2 rookie spots to fill.

5 spots on the senior list and 2 on the rookie list.

Hope that explains it.

bibi01 said:

pick 1
pick 4
pick 20
pick 36
psd 1
rookie pick 1

Ive heard we are going with picks 1, 4, 20 and 36 in the nat draft and using only 1 pick in the psd. We have 3 rookies left in Smith, Baston and Aisake and am led to believe that we will take 2 more so we have 5 in total.

Paddy Hicks said:
Ive heard we are going with picks 1, 4, 20 and 36 in the nat draft and using only 1 pick in the psd. We have 3 rookies left in Smith, Baston and Aisake and am led to believe that we will take 2 more so we have 5 in total.
thanks

taking 2 rookies answers that

i read the same re picks 1, 4, 20, 36 and psd 1 on carltonfc.com.au, but that had campo in the equation.... oh well couple of weeks and all will be revealed.

Anyone think guys like Bower, Spangher, Lucy and Mills could play senior footy next year?

Paddy Hicks said:
Anyone think guys like Bower, Spangher, Lucy and Mills could play senior footy next year?

People are forgetting about Beau Muston - prior to his knee injury he was tipped to be a top 5 pick. perhaps the Blues will look at taking him at pick 20 IF he was still available. Thoughts anyone, and preferably anyone seen him play?

You'd think Hawthorn would take him with one of their many first round picks

Imagine if we had traded for an extra first round pick, say pick 12.....get one of Varcoe/Bower/Lucy/Higgins/Douglas.

Bluemike said:
Imagine if we had traded for an extra first round pick, say pick 12.....get one of Varcoe/Bower/Lucy/Higgins/Douglas.

And we wouldn't have had to spend the next 2 years, worried about how much weight Lance will put on.