Maximus76

Jazz
From an outsides perspective - I may be way off the mark - this is the areas I believe Freo need to address:

1. Smart (or not so Smart) - why is this guy still at your club making trade and recruiting decisions. Any half backed moron realises this guy is useless - but after many years of trying he is still there. Freo are the joke of AFL in regards to PAST trades and recruiting (if you think your not then your kidding yourself) and the biggest contributor to this poor record is Mr Smart...Get him out- he had his chance and failed.

2. Bell...dont get me wrong he is a great player and will give you many more years of service BUT he is the wrong choice of Captain. A guy who has openenly admitted to disliking footy and anything to do with it outside the field. He is a weak captain who seems to emphasis the culture of Freo - "its not life or death - let just try really hard"

3. You need a tough coach who will name poor performing players - a coach who doesn’t make the WAFL a banishment but a place where players go when they need to get form. There doesn’t seem to be major competition for places at Freo (I know at the moment you have heaps of injurys). Woosha uses the WAFL beautifully - if your a listed player and playing well in the WAFL you will get a shot - if your preforming poorly you go back and need to perform to get better. Connolly doesn’t use the WAFL correctly.

4. Are freo too scared to name players and kick A@@s incase player will leave the club? I have a feeling that past action of players wanting out of the club has forced the club to take the softly softly approach with players. And from other posts inrgards to pav and other leaving it doesn’t look like this will change.

Anyway that’s my two cents ... I could be way off the mark..

Maximus76 said:
From an outsides perspective - I may be way off the mark - this is the areas I believe Freo need to address:

1. Smart (or not so Smart) - why is this guy still at your club making trade and recruiting decisions. Any half backed moron realises this guy is useless - but after many years of trying he is still there. Freo are the joke of AFL in regards to PAST trades and recruiting (if you think your not then your kidding yourself) and the biggest contributor to this poor record is Mr Smart...Get him out- he had his chance and failed.

Rumour has it the Cam is the one who has the final say on drafting & trading Smart reports directly to cam

Maximus76 said:

2. Bell...dont get me wrong he is a great player and will give you many more years of service BUT he is the wrong choice of Captain. A guy who has openenly admitted to disliking footy and anything to do with it outside the field. He is a weak captain who seems to emphasis the culture of Freo - "its not life or death - let just try really hard"

3. You need a tough coach who will name poor performing players - a coach who doesn’t make the WAFL a banishment but a place where players go when they need to get form. There doesn’t seem to be major competition for places at Freo (I know at the moment you have heaps of injurys). Woosha uses the WAFL beautifully - if your a listed player and playing well in the WAFL you will get a shot - if your preforming poorly you go back and need to perform to get better. Connolly doesn’t use the WAFL correctly.

4. Are freo too scared to name players and kick A@@s incase player will leave the club? I have a feeling that past action of players wanting out of the club has forced the club to take the softly softly approach with players. And from other posts inrgards to pav and other leaving it doesn’t look like this will change.

You are way off the mark.

1) Smart has had success and failure. Freo has actually been one of the smartest and best performed clubs when it comes to utilizing the rookie draft.
Of course Freo has made trade blunders but so have all clubs.

2)Bell has leadership qualities in spades. Your slagging him off as a "weak captain" just shows your ignorance of his character and his contribution to the club.

3) Again you have no idea of the lack of depth at the club in years past. Underperforming players were continually given a spot in years past because there was no one else ready to step up. This has changed now, and senior players have been dropped back to get form this year, and players burning up the wafl have been given a chance. Every coach gives underperforming players a chance before they are dropped. Woosha included. Backing players in when they are out of form has met with success and failure at Freo and at all other clubs.

4) If players are under pressure then it is made known to them. What are you suggesting? Should players be bagged by the coach in front of the media? Just another stupid point you have made to lay the boot in.

Even it you try to disguise it as constructive criticism, condescension is still condescension. And frankly when you support a club that has been flagless for as long as Geelong, your condescension is a bit baffling.

Maximus76 said:

Apart from your point number 2 (couldn't have been more happier with Bell as captain, he has got exceptional qualities), you bring up some fine points.

Maximus76 said:

Unfortunately, there are many who live in a bubble world here in WA.
A bit of bitch slapping from external sources is needed now so the narrow minded can finally understand.

spitlizard said:
Unfortunately, there are many who live in a bubble world here in WA.
A bit of bitch slapping from external sources is needed now so the narrow minded can finally understand.
I think those you refer to have purposefully sealed the bubble. Hell maybe we all should seal ourselves into a bubble of happiness, instead of a bottle that I usually go for.

Maximus76 said:

Of course no matter how uninformed your criticism is, you will find favour with some of the more massochistic supporter base who seem to always enjoy a good flagellation and are more than happy to hand around the whip.

I've posted recently about Smart and our recruiting team.
Get Ray Jordan.
Get the young kid who wrote the reports for Big Footy last.
Me, I'll do it for free.
Many of has have lamented the fact that our midfield just doesn't cut the mustard as a unit. Individually all good players but as a unit they are too similar.
I remember Mal Brown when coach of South sacked about 6 players mid season. At the time he said they had to go because if he kept them at the club they were too good not to pick. But he couldn't afford to keep them as they were stopping the club developing. Short term pain for long term gain.
Freo are in a similar position.
That group needs some pace and strength.
How do you make it happen?

If we look back over the past few seasons, we're looking at a 50-50 win-loss ratio. Thats not going to win us premierships, so obviously we need to give some thought to what needs to change. I don't have any answers particularly, but one of Maximus' points got me thinking, so I'll share my thoughts.
Maximus76 said:
The current trend in the AFL seems to be to have footballers who are 100% focussed on footy, and who have no independent existence. Personally, I like to see players like Bell and Parker who have careers that are more or less indpendent of footy, but that does mean that their footy careers are not life or death for them. Does that reduce their ability to produce good footy? I prefer to believe that it doesn't, but perhaps it does.

I think its particularly easy for someone to interpret a commitment to interests outside the club as a lack of commitment to the club. I think thats what Maximus is implying, and perhaps that is the effect that some of the senior players have on the youngsters as they come into the club. Even if that is whats happening, I don't think replacing Bell as captain would change it - he'd still be a role-model with or without the (c) next to his name in the Footy Record.

Roundhouse said:
Of course no matter how uninformed your criticism is, you will find favour with some of the more massochistic supporter base who seem to always enjoy a good flagellation and are more than happy to hand around the whip.

Was not trying to stick the boot in just giving you my observations...and yes I do follow Geelong and am happy to take the criticism back..

I assume Roundhouse that you happily clapped the Dockers off after last week game - even belly didn’t come out of the dugout during three qtr time. And the fact that you defend smart just shows that you have no idea- it doesn’t matter if he hides behind a comment such as "i am not officially responsible for trades" - he has been with the club since day dot - how many coaches/coaches assistance/fitness trainers/etc... have been turned over in that time ? given me a break....

Maybe Smart should become your next coach - seems that’s the only way the "untouchable one" will ever be given the boot !!

No point arguing with someone who seems to be unbelievable happy with mediocrity...

inferno66 said:
Maximus you are so right about Smart. Theres needs to be a definite change in recruting at Fremantle.

So... given that we Freo supporters actually think we have a list that is under-achieving, and which won 2 games in a season not so long ago, and that CC has absolutely nothing to do with that,.....how did we get the list we have?

Agree we need better skill and pace in the midfiled. Badly. The lack of development of Dunn who as high draft pick should be a regular hurts us. Not excited about options oputside the regular playing midfiled for the future.

When you are as obviously out of form as the dockers are then all aspects of the club come under scrutiny (fairly or unfairly). While we have had more than our share of trading blunders early on in our history it is my opinion that this is not currently a key problem and not something that relates directly to our lack of form.

Basically, I don’t think we are extracting the best from our players.

I was having a look at that thread on the WC board about a combined Freo/WC team, many WC punters had selected teams that were dominantly WC. At first I thought bias, but then reconsidered when most objective observers would have done the same thing. However, say you combined the squads together, trained them under the same coach for a time, then selected a side? I’d suggest that the selected team would have a much more even contribution from the two clubs.

I freo was so far behind WC in the talent stakes the derby result should have been different.

Slacker said:
When you are as obviously out of form as the dockers are then all aspects of the club come under scrutiny (fairly or unfairly). While we have had more than our share of trading blunders early on in our history it is my opinion that this is not currently a key problem and not something that relates directly to our lack of form.

Basically, I don’t think we are extracting the best from our players.

I was having a look at that thread on the WC board about a combined Freo/WC team, many WC punters had selected teams that were dominantly WC. At first I thought bias, but then reconsidered when most objective observers would have done the same thing. However, say you combined the squads together, trained them under the same coach for a time, then selected a side? I’d suggest that the selected team would have a much more even contribution from the two clubs.

I freo was so far behind WC in the talent stakes the derby result should have been different.

In my opinion i would say that Freo do have a talented team.They have shown on various occasion's that they can mix it with the best.
The biggest problem come's from their lack of consistency and self belief.
Part of the problem come's from well inside the Dockers Management Structures.
Your asking how would i know!!!
A very close friend of mine is a major sponsor of the Dockers and on many occasion's has told me that there is a core group of players who struggle with CC ( especially how he favours certain players) , CS and some other Senior Managers and have done so since 2004!!

By the way if Docker Brat is reading this could he just make sure my spelling and gramma is ok !!!!!:p

wehavethepassion said:
Rumour has it the Cam is the one who has the final say on drafting & trading Smart reports directly to cam

So the CEO is doing some of the senior coaching duties??? No wonder why he has to cop it for our **** on field performances.

Why doesn't Smart report to the SENIOR COACH?

Maximus76 said:
Was not trying to stick the boot in just giving you my observations...and yes I do follow Geelong and am happy to take the criticism back..

I assume Roundhouse that you happily clapped the Dockers off after last week game - even belly didn’t come out of the dugout during three qtr time. And the fact that you defend smart just shows that you have no idea- it doesn’t matter if he hides behind a comment such as "i am not officially responsible for trades" - he has been with the club since day dot - how many coaches/coaches assistance/fitness trainers/etc... have been turned over in that time ? given me a break....

Maybe Smart should become your next coach - seems that’s the only way the "untouchable one" will ever be given the boot !!

No point arguing with someone who seems to be unbelievable happy with mediocrity...
If you don't accept anything less than perfection from all involved in a footy club, then how do you stomach following a team who hasn't won a flag in over 50 years? Even when the VFL was a state comp, they still didn't have what it takes. Supporting a club through thick and thin is called loyalty my friend.
If you wanna know what accepting mediocrity is, I'm sure your significant other could give you an insight.

Maximus76 said:

1. Smart (or not so Smart) - why is this guy still at your club making trade and recruiting decisions. Any half backed moron realises this guy is useless - but after many years of trying he is still there. Freo are the joke of AFL in regards to PAST trades and recruiting (if you think your not then your kidding yourself) and the biggest contributor to this poor record is Mr Smart...Get him out- he had his chance and failed

I agree Freos trading was a debacle in the early years however there has been some quality players recruited over the last 4-5 seasons which suggests that the rexruiting team ius getting better at their job. I think the problem is that there is a philosophy of developing players which I think is bollocks. If you recruit someone as a CHF, ala Pav, play him at CHF, don't wait three years befor the penny drops playing him all over the ground. Pav is just one example, Spud fits that bill also. I think this is a coaching philosophy which blows.

Belly is an outstanding Captain but perhaps the team needs a fresh approach, I don't think Belly would be that gutted to hand over the reins for the future development of the club.

You may have a valid point there, Woosha cut his teeth in the WAFL and would have a greater faith in the system than CC. I do however think that there are players who would step up if given a fair dinkum oppurtunity. As the callups are usually for 1 game there is little pressure on existing players.

You may be right on this point, I also think that there is no hard distinction between the Executive and Football departments which is creating a matey atmosphere down there.

Thanks for the input!

Fremantle board is by far the most entertaining, congrats!

A big SHAKE Rattle and Roll is necessary (AGAIN!)

The Cat was trying to be constructive and objective. Just look at some of your own fans posts "sack cuddles, change jumper, sob sob JWhite etc"

1. I have sympathy for any senior coach, they must WANT to be successful in a difficult job, but if its too hot in the kitchen , HEAVE HO WAY TO GO! I agree a tough ruthless experienced AFL level coach who has been around success is needed. CC has had 5+ yrs chance? Compare with: a) "Hollywood Wallace" seems to have made some inroads in 2 yrs with toothless tiggers; b) Rocket got a good young list OK, but despite major injury devastation, still turning Dogs around and winning!.

Its obvious Harvey who resisted many chances in 7yrs to leave Bummers despite having no chance at getting a head job there, would not have taken on Shockers unless pretty sure he would get one soon. Hope for your sake he is up to it! Give him his head job honeymoon period now, then re-apply with all comers at end of the year c) Ala .. Roosey.. "Here it is!" < 3yrs

2. Change the song, blood@ …woeful :o

3. Change the Guernsey, Heritage on the right track IMO. Freo more than any other side need too look like tough hard footballers , not clowns with lollypops :eek: !

4. Recruiting and list management absolute priority. Maybe it is now fixed? But whoever responsible for past (more stuff-ups since inception than all other clubs combined) HEAVE HO !:thumbsd:

5. Use the talent available and give them time to settle, several weeks IN

6. PAV would be : “Bigger than Texas” had he had option to remain SA based club, or anywhere else than Shockers. Give him the captaincy, NO BRAINER, he already carries the side.:thumbsu:

Motivation , yes it is fun, but seriously had the pleasure of meeting Cookie when he was at Swans, went to Shockers and won B & F almost instantly... have several tapes of him kicking goals and although wobbly could pass 35m because team made sure they made effort to lead to space for him. Under Cuddles seems to have lost confidence, reduced to handball only? and he is one of the few who can get the pill. He is just one example

Come on you rock and rollers HEAVE HO, the only WAY TO GO!

You know it make sense, no offence intended.;)

Whats the deal here? If there is one thing I hate its that some way, some how the performance of a supporters teams is directly related to there knowledge of footy. Are we that pathetic as a supporter group that anyone that supports another team can be seen as an expert?

And on point 2....

If you look at Phil Smarts work you'll see that he isn't the one that pulls the trigger when it comes to drafting and trading.

Schwab and Connolly currently make the deals (Schwab directly traded for Croad and Farmer when we didn't have a coach). Is there a conincidence that most of our draft picks come from within a 80 km radius of Shepperton, Country Victoria? It's Connolly's home area. Don't tell me Smart has the final say.

Another example... Neesham filled us with Claremont players. Smart would have his rankings and then Connolly and Schwab make the deals. Thats how I've always seen it.

Point number 2 is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard.

When you start listing club songs and uniforms as reasons for poor performance, really the rest of your post loses any little credibility it had left, which is initially low when you're an outsider posting on an individual club's board.

For such a long post, why bother.

Corpuscles said:
Fremantle board is by far the most entertaining, congrats!

A big SHAKE Rattle and Roll is necessary (AGAIN!)

The Cat was trying to be constructive and objective. Just look at some of your own fans posts "sack cuddles, change jumper, sob sob JWhite etc"

1. I have sympathy for any senior coach, they must WANT to be successful in a difficult job, but if its too hot in the kitchen , HEAVE HO WAY TO GO! I agree a tough ruthless experienced AFL level coach who has been around success is needed. CC has had 5+ yrs chance? Compare with: a) "Hollywood Wallace" seems to have made some inroads in 2 yrs with toothless tiggers; b) Rocket got a good young list OK, but despite major injury devastation, still turning Dogs around and winning!.

Its obvious Harvey who resisted many chances in 7yrs to leave Bummers despite having no chance at getting a head job there, would not have taken on Shockers unless pretty sure he would get one soon. Hope for your sake he is up to it! Give him his head job honeymoon period now, then re-apply with all comers at end of the year c) Ala .. Roosey.. "Here it is!" < 3yrs

2. Change the song, blood@ …woeful :o

3. Change the Guernsey, Heritage on the right track IMO. Freo more than any other side need too look like tough hard footballers , not clowns with lollypops :eek: !

4. Recruiting and list management absolute priority. Maybe it is now fixed? But whoever responsible for past (more stuff-ups since inception than all other clubs combined) HEAVE HO !:thumbsd:

5. Use the talent available and give them time to settle, several weeks IN

6. PAV would be : “Bigger than Texas” had he had option to remain SA based club, or anywhere else than Shockers. Give him the captaincy, NO BRAINER, he already carries the side.:thumbsu:

Motivation , yes it is fun, but seriously had the pleasure of meeting Cookie when he was at Swans, went to Shockers and won B & F almost instantly... have several tapes of him kicking goals and although wobbly could pass 35m because team made sure they made effort to lead to space for him. Under Cuddles seems to have lost confidence, reduced to handball only? and he is one of the few who can get the pill. He is just one example

Come on you rock and rollers HEAVE HO, the only WAY TO GO!

You know it make sense, no offence intended.;)

I thought that was a pretty good analysis. Everything is pretty much on the money except points 2 and 3.

I don't think changing the club song/jumper is going to change much, you might as well take away the club's licence ahnd start from scratch all over again.