Outsider's Perspective

Aussies, Bushrangers
Having today read a thread on the main board, a lot of posters listed Essendon as one of 3 teams they disliked/hated, which i didn't mind seeing. However the reasons they gave were disappointing; most posters had the opinion that the supporters of Essendon are quite rude/arrogant/disillusioned about the state of our list, etc.

I personally dont mind opposition supporters hating Essendon as a result of our success but to see them hate our club because of our supporters is disappointing.

The point im getting at is are we really that bad? I feel we are just the same as most other clubs with some feral supporters and some humble supporters, but am i too bias to give an accurate representation?

All clubs have feral supporters and decent supporters, we just have greater numbers at most of our matches compared to other teams so we stand out more.

Exact same reason we all think Collingwood are a pack of ferals.

Feral supporters sometimes make the day fun. I have a shameful admission to make... because I've lived in Queensland most of my life, and for various reasons of inconvenience, I've never been to an Essendon game:(

I did go and see Brisbane and Hawthorn when I was last in Brisbane though, and some of the Hawks supporters were sledging the crap out of Travis Johnston, who I think kicked three(?), and even Rohan..... what's his name, former Bulldogs guy, now boundary rider...

Feral supporters sometimes make the day fun. I have a shameful admission to make... because I've lived in Queensland most of my life, and for various reasons of inconvenience, I've never been to an Essendon game:(

I did go and see Brisbane and Hawthorn when I was last in Brisbane though, and some of the Hawks supporters were sledging the crap out of Travis Johnston, who I think kicked three(?), and even Rohan..... what's his name, former Bulldogs guy, now boundary rider...

Rohan Smith

Obviously there are supporters from any club that over rate thier lists, and we're no different. The only problem for us, like other clubs with young players (Carlton, Melbourne, WC, etc) is that we look at our younger players to make us a better team next year, so therefore we spruik them a bit more than other teams..

Rohan Smith. The Lions supporters are hopeless up in Brisbane. I lived there for close to 10 years and went to a fair few matches during the Lions dominant period and the crowd had no idea about the basic rules of footy. Bandwagoners comes to mind.

DapperDon is on the money IMO.

I couldn't give a flying **** as to what people think about us.

As Dapper said, each supporter base has good and bad just like nationalities. I think our hope/demand for success and passion rubs them up the wrong way. On BF and the real world by the way.

If i interpreted the OP post correctly i think he is talking about Essendon supporters on BF rather than at the footy.

The only problem I have with a few Essendon supporters is that they overrate our list. Other than that, we have a right to be arrogant. We're the most successful team in the league.

I agree with DapperDon's post as well.

All clubs have feral supporters and decent supporters, we just have greater numbers at most of our matches compared to other teams so we stand out more.

Exact same reason we all think Collingwood are a pack of ferals.

Agree with this.

However, for what it's worth I'm one of the Essendon haters and I haven't found the fans particularly bad. I even married one.

But for me it's about the 93 preliminary final (bulldogs supporters probably hate Adelaide for the 97 prelim as well so goes both ways). I was just starting to get over it when round 22 last year arrived. No chance of Essendon losing by more than 100 points and costing Adelaide a chance in the top 4 I thought. I knew they had injuries but with 4 players playing their last game, especially rama with all the history, surely not. Then they came up with such a spineless, gutless performance I realised i would hate them forever...

Agree with this.

However, for what it's worth I'm one of the Essendon haters and I haven't found the fans particularly bad. I even married one.

But for me it's about the 93 preliminary final (bulldogs supporters probably hate Adelaide for the 97 prelim as well so goes both ways). I was just starting to get over it when round 22 last year arrived. No chance of Essendon losing by more than 100 points and costing Adelaide a chance in the top 4 I thought. I knew they had injuries but with 4 players playing their last game, especially rama with all the history, surely not. Then they came up with such a spineless, gutless performance I realised i would hate them forever...

Yeah. That's too bad.

At games, I don't see that many bad Essendon supporters. I agree they are there, but no where near as much as Carlton, St.Kilda or Collingwood supporters.
I have noticed recently that heaps of Essendon supporters think that ever AFL umpire is against us. I find that a bit annoying.

At games, I don't see that many bad Essendon supporters. I agree they are there, but no where near as much as Carlton, St.Kilda or Collingwood supporters.
I have noticed recently that heaps of Essendon supporters think that ever AFL umpire is against us. I find that a bit annoying.

I think every supporter thinks the umpire is against them, regardless of who you follow. You only remember the decisions that go against you.
At the Adelaide Carlton MCG game last year the free kick count was something like 14 to 6 in favour of Carlton at half time and I was ropeable. Adelaide got the first 2 free kicks in the 3rd term and the Carlton supporters started going off about unfair umpiring and how they were being ripped off. I'm the first to admit that I've done the same when the situation is reversed.

I think every supporter thinks the umpire is against them, regardless of who you follow. You only remember the decisions that go against you.
At the Adelaide Carlton MCG game last year the free kick count was something like 14 to 6 in favour of Carlton at half time and I was ropeable. Adelaide got the first 2 free kicks in the 3rd term and the Carlton supporters started going off about unfair umpiring and how they were being ripped off. I'm the first to admit that I've done the same when the situation is reversed.

Spot on, everyone takes more notice of opposition fans erratic behaviour than their own fans so it seems like all other teams fans complain and whine when your own colours are just as bad.

I'm the first to say I have two different personality's, football and non-football. Mr Football is a jerk

I used to think they were against us for years, seriously we got a bad 10 years, but in the last couple of years the tides are turning we have finally came on the good end of some one sided umpiring.

Interesting chapter "The Sworn Enemy" at the end of "An Illustrated History of Essendon Football Club". For those who haven't read it, the chapter is written by John Harms, a cat fan, and it is his take on the EFC.

"The Bombers beat you nicely. They beat you because they think they should; because they believe they're entitled to."

In Marcus Allen's (LA Raiders/Kansas City Chiefs) autobiography, he tells how Cleveland Browns running back Jim Brown would simply hand the ball to an official when he scored touchdowns. "What Jim was telling everyone was that he'd been in the end zone before and damn sure wasn't surprised to be there again."

That is the way i want our club to be seen.

alot of those opinions would have been from those that have never had the pleasure of being at a carlton game when they lose a close one

joy can come in many different forms;)

We were arrogant after the 2000 flag, but what team' supporters isn't after winning a premiership? Have a look at Hawthorn 08...

I'll be the most cockiest, arrogant, in your face, the most hated poster on these boards when Essendon win their next flag. BEWARE! :D

+ 1

People thought Essendon fans were smug and cocky after 2000, wait til we win flag no 17 and become the most successful club in the league. :D

I don't think we are overly arrogant it is just that we expect to win. No matter how crap our list is I still go into each season thinking we will win. When we start thinking that just making the finals is a good thing its time to give up the game.

We don't tank and we don't buy flags and we definately do not have any asterixes against our flags. . That is what makes us so great!!

go dons!!!

The only problem I have with a few Essendon supporters is that they overrate our list. Other than that, we have a right to be arrogant. We're the most successful team in the league.

I agree with DapperDon's post as well.

Maybe in VFL/AFL history, but certainly not in AFL history.

We don't tank and we don't buy flags and we definately do not have any asterixes against our flags. . That is what makes us so great!!

I certainly recall some salary cap breeches.

"Friday, 3 October 2003: The AFL has charged Essendon with breaching the salary cap during the 2002 season."

"In 1999 Essendon was fined around $280,000 for salary cap breaches between 1992 and 1996."

I don't think we are overly arrogant it is just that we expect to win. No matter how crap our list is I still go into each season thinking we will win

Which is an awesome quality to have.