Ashb23

Ok, I know its only round one, but I read Dermie's analysis of the team this week, and he stated we were overrated by many. Given his uncanny ability to be on the money when it comes to Geelong, I can't help but wonder. One thing though, I'm not sure if the players are no good, or if its the coach? Either way, I think we could be in for a long season. Believe me, I hope to be eating my words........
We have a good team I'ts just the coach.

I hope you're right. Because if you are, it may be a season of pain for the long term gain (both because the coach will be sacked and potential draft picks). I think the worst thing that could happen would be 5-8, win the first final and then sign up Thompson.

I still feel that we have the right players on the list. It's something else. I'm not sure if it's attitude or what but yeah maybe it is the coach.
It's only round 1, but if we play that bad again I don't think I'll survive the year and neither will Thompson. Lets all get finger pointing and stuff the cats up again. Whats the best a million rumors will be coming out of g-town this week. Hold on guys... the roller coaster might be on it's may down down down. :( Sorry, I think I've lost most of my optimism.

I reckon you guys should chill out.

I don't think Geelong are top 4 material, but a 20-point loss in R1 is hardly a good reason to abandon hope.

If you thought the Cats were set for a good season before today's game, I don't see why you would suddenly change your minds.

I reckon you guys should chill out.

I don't think Geelong are top 4 material, but a 20-point loss in R1 is hardly a good reason to abandon hope.

If you thought the Cats were set for a good season before today's game, I don't see why you would suddenly change your minds.

Because they dished up the same **** as last year. Yeh, 20 points doesn't sound too bad but if your saw how they played... well you know there just missing that spark that we use to have.

It's one game.

You're probably going to produce a worse performance than that at some point this year.

I just reckon you should reserve judgement until you're at least a month in.

If the Cats come out and win by 10 goals next week, all these doomsayers are going to look pretty silly.

Come to think of it, losing by 20 points to the best Victorian team on their own dunghole after serving up that crap isn't too bad. Not that I'm accepting that effort at all, but when you consider we had the likes of SJ, Rooke, King, Kelly and Stokes missing....put them back in and we'd be a 4-5 goal better side than we were today, and that was pretty much the difference between the sides this arvo.

I agree with the West Coast man you guys need to chill out, you will learn alot from last year and sorry but you are not as good as the doggies anyway. The doggies are a chance to win the flag this year they are fast, exciting and have some great players. so hold your heads up and move on to next week.

Come to think of it, losing by 20 points to the best Victorian team on their own dunghole after serving up that crap isn't too bad. Not that I'm accepting that effort at all, but when you consider we had the likes of SJ, Rooke, King, Kelly and Stokes missing....put them back in and we'd be a 4-5 goal better side than we were today, and that was pretty much the difference between the sides this arvo.

Yeah I have to agree. I thought it was just the that period in the second quarter that mainly killed us.
We won the second half, so it's not like they didn't try, which I think was a big difference to last year. Last year, that could have easily continued for the whole game. Also missed quite a few easy goals.
Some of Geelongs problems were glaringly obvious, with the ball coming straight back out of the forward line etc. but in the end to lose by 20 - is that saying the Dogs weren't so good, or we weren't so bad. Personally I thought the Dogs looked great today.

Yeah I have to agree. I thought it was just the that period in the second quarter that mainly killed us.
We won the second half, so it's not like they didn't try, which I think was a big difference to last year. Last year, that could have easily continued for the whole game. Also missed quite a few easy goals.
Some of Geelongs problems were glaringly obvious, with the ball coming straight back out of the forward line etc. but in the end to lose by 20 - is that saying the Dogs weren't so good, or we weren't so bad. Personally I thought the Dogs looked great today.

The difference today IMO was that the Bulldogs played to their strengths (pace and quick movement of the football) better than we played to our strengths (our tall forwards).

It's one game.

You're probably going to produce a worse performance than that at some point this year.

I just reckon you should reserve judgement until you're at least a month in.

If the Cats come out and win by 10 goals next week, all these doomsayers are going to look pretty silly.
We're playing against Carlton :rolleyes::p

I hate to be the one responsible for sending you into therapy inferno....but 2006 pies, kangas, hawks....yeah, we can be pretty bad.

Yep that's the spirit - lose a game we should win and then wax lyrical about how good the opposition were. That'll make me rush out to buy a membership.

Sorry mate, but that's bullsh*t. We had our chances and blew them. Brad Johnson kicked 8.0 at one stage whereas none of our forwards consistently converted. Also we couldn't hit the side of a barn with our disposal.

Basically, despite all the spin and publicity and whatever else - Thompson is still tactically clueless and has no idea what to do when things go wrong. Mind you, he can't even get them to attack those big guys called forwards either.

Carlton beat Richmond today, who beat Collingwood last week... And the last time we played them they beat us by 100+. Danger game.
That's ******ed. By the same train of logic, last year Richmond got flogged by the Dogs and then beat us so ergo we should have been pounded by the Dogs. Instead we got up by a point. It is a danger game in the sense that they're high on confidence and we're not. But in talent? No contest. They beat an undermanned Richmond side. Even if we play like we did today, we'll still should beat them/

Yeh, I know. I was being deliberately stupid. Every game is a danger game though. If we lose to Carlton next week I will be completely drained of any kind of optimism that existed in the pre-season.

From my point of view Geelong are an average side. You shouldn't be in panic mode yet, you weren't bad today you were just outplayed by what is currently a better side than yours. You have a good defence, solid but slow midfield and a reasonably strong attack, however you dont have many players that break games open.

You guys could finish anywhere from top four to bottom four, but there were positives today. Nathan Ablett to me looked very good, he got a few touches and used them well. He will be a good player for you. However, you lack confidence through the middle and you dont seem to back yourselves. You also have to be more direct, Ottens one out on Cameron Wight should be able to beat him, but you never got the ball up there quick enough and when you did it wasn't a great pass. I think Wight played excellently on Ottens today but was helped by your indecisive midfield.

I also get the impression that there isn't much self-belief in the team and nobody wants to take responsibility. The culture of the club at the moment is one where everybody is being heavily scrutinised and backstabbing is waiting to be done. The club needs to get a feeling that everybody is working towards a common goal and are helping eachother get there, instead of waiting until somebody screws up (eg. Bomber) and heaping the blame on them.

Send the soupaman an GFC jumper to wipe his bum on for the rest of the year. He's pretty much nailed it.

We're not a bad side, just not a great one. Man for man we're almost as good as Sydney without the committment and passion. Their game aginst WC was almost the same as ours except they had the belief and bottle to nearly pinch it after being 6 goals down.

We're not slow. We look slow because we move the ball slowly.

We appear to have no plan in the half-forward area and fall down constantly. These same half forwards appear to have no defensive abilities as the ball rebounds quicker than it goes in.

I think we'll do O.K. this year. We lost today because the doggies are the best rebounders in the comp, and Johnson had a blinder. In short our biggest weakness matched up perfectly with their biggest strength.

There also seems to be a problem with people understanding exactly what is expected of them. This could be just because its the first round but there seemed to be alot of kicks that were aimed directly at spaces others had neglected to run into and NAblett and Mooney appeared to compete with each other a bit to much.

I think Hinkley needs to shape up really quickly!

I agree with the West Coast man you guys need to chill out, you will learn alot from last year and sorry but you are not as good as the doggies anyway. The doggies are a chance to win the flag this year they are fast, exciting and have some great players. so hold your heads up and move on to next week.

Erm, i know everyone wants the fairytale, but i DONT rate the Dogs just yet as a flag chance. Do you honestly see them defeating a full strength Sydney or WCE? Because i dont.