Passengers

Honestly, it his first game back, we have missed his run and carry.....do you not understand?
Yes i know it was his first game back. Yes I know we missed his run and carry. But fact remains his form wasn't up to it on Fri night because he's been injured. A run in the seconds would've done him a lot of good I reckon

Hartung has been the most frustrating over the past 3 weeks he seems to hold back and wait for a handball rather than put his head down and go when it's his turn, I understand he is playing to his strengths but it just looks bad when he gets caught spectating. Don't think do Billy!!

They often say that the end can come quickly and I fear that may be the case for Jordan Lewis. He has never been quick but he seems to have lost any run he had. There are times when he just looks like a statue out there as he watches the opposition speed by.
All the talk is about how long Hodge, Mitchell and Burgoyne have, but I reckon Lewis may be the first to go.

Can someone please start a 'Jordan Lewis, where's he at?' thread so we can all ridicule it later in the season. Bloke hasn't set the world on fire this season but is coming off the two best seasons of his career and is a 4 time premiership and people are jumping on board to put him to pasture. This is up there with the folk who want to get rid of Birchall, trade Stratton and Breust and think Roughie 'doesn't do enough'.

I'm with you. As the company secretary of the Jordan Lewis Mafia Pty Ltd, I'm tagging all the posts criticising him. Once Realist came in and bagged Lewis, I knew we'd hit rock bottom.

I don't think any of these posters have any idea of his role. At the game, you see him at the bottom of every second pack, doing all the bullocking work. He's not getting outside, he's doing the heavy work.

Try watching the game, or get to Specsavers.

I'm with you. As the company secretary of the Jordan Lewis Mafia Pty Ltd, I'm tagging all the posts criticising him. Once Realist came in and bagged Lewis, I knew we'd hit rock bottom.

I don't think any of these posters have any idea of his role. At the game, you see him at the bottom of every second pack, doing all the bullocking work. He's not getting outside, he's doing the heavy work.

Try watching the game, or get to Specsavers.

It's like when people would criticise Judas and nower days Roughie for 'not doing enough' if they hadn't kicked a bag of goals. Both of them, particularly Rough, play around the ground and will actively hunt the ball if it's not coming forward - and Roughie will lend a hand in defence.

It's like how Gunston has been spending a lot more time down back this year. Players get new roles and because it sometimes doesn't translate on TV people start slamming a player because they aren't getting 90+ DT points.

Other than Mitchell no one has played their best overall this year.

We're getting by with enough intermittent brilliant play and a big of luck.

I don't think it's a case of certain players letting us down but rather everyone being 10-20% off and coming in and out of games.

Tackling, contested ball and fumbling especially need to improve.
Gibbo has been good - and Strats - and Frawls

Pops and Sizzle are generally good too.

Putting aside the Cats game that is

Don't often see Lewis, Sheils or Langford shirking from a contest, so no.

As for Billy and Hill, mate they weigh like 50kg. You're not going to see them crashing packs or being too physical. That is not their role.

Play your role.

Not sure where you are going with this.
While I agree that they are not meant to play like Hodge and bash bodies all day, but it is EVERY player's role to "Go when it's your turn" absolute non negotiable of the Hawthorn Football Club (excluding pretty boy era mid 90s - 05)

At one stage last year we were 4-4 and dropping the close games. I'm pretty sure the same criticisms were levelled back then and look how that year unfolded.

Yes questions have to be asked about the performances of some of our key players but there is still a long way to go before we write guys off.

But I agree with the Hill assessment. Not even sighted between rounds 1-4. :rolleyes:
Last year we were 4-4 with the bast percentage in the comp due to big wins and narrow loses. now we are 4-1 but with the WORST percentage of the top 10. Percentage tells a tale and sees between the lucky wins look at Geelong 2014, finished equal top on points but were really a 6th-10th side as proven by their straight sets exit in finals.

While I agree that they are not meant to play like Hodge and bash bodies all day, but it is EVERY player's role to "Go when it's your turn" absolute non negotiable of the Hawthorn Football Club (excluding pretty boy era mid 90s - 05)

And what happened to Ellis when he adopted your "go when it's your turn"? He gets injured, we are a player down, screws with our rotations and we lose the game in the last quarter because we're out of legs. Leave the coaching to Clarko & Co and just enjoy the pies mate

Last year we were 4-4 with the bast percentage in the comp due to big wins and narrow loses. now we are 4-1 but with the WORST percentage of the top 10. Percentage tells a tale and sees between the lucky wins look at Geelong 2014, finished equal top on points but were really a 6th-10th side as proven by their straight sets exit in finals.

We're a better team than Geelong 2014

Yes but some Hawks fans have become the Veruca Salt of footy fans. "Daddy I want the premiership now! Give it to me, don't care how, I want it now".
In Papa Clarko we trust. ;)

Hartung has been the most frustrating over the past 3 weeks he seems to hold back and wait for a handball rather than put his head down and go when it's his turn, I understand he is playing to his strengths but it just looks bad when he gets caught spectating. Don't think do Billy!!

I think matters like this are often the result of a player (employee) receiving different objectives.

I.e. He may well be under instruction to create extra run & so has decided that he'll achieve such by remaining uncontested & receiving outside ball.

if this is not the case then we'll likely see him return to BH to work on the issue. If it isn't, it may well be a matter of "don't think, sports-fan, watch!"

Hartung put in some deplorable efforts last night, looked like a boy vs men.

Langford worked hard and won some hard ball, it was just a few skill errors that let him down. But you know he's going to go hard which is more than what you could say for Billy.

Lewis is in a real bad form slump. Not sure what role he is playing ATM. At the very least he needs to stop with going 3rd man up, it hasn't worked once this season and just takes him out of the contest. We can't afford carrying Lewis in this form so he needs to pull his finger out and go in hard, I noticed him constantly waiting outside the pack looking for the easy dish-off kick.

I have noticed Billy lets a few get past him; he needs to make more tackles stick.

Hill missed a couple too, last night, but I wouldn't ridicule him as he has had a wrist injury.

Shiels and Will are two of our hardest contested ball winners, so I disagree with the OP. I thought all Hawk supporters knew Shiels was give a role each week, and the coaches applaud his work.

As for Lewis, well he does worry me a little, and as long as he is going third man up there is one extra opposition player around the ball, so unless he gets the ball to a team mate we are in trouble.

They often say that the end can come quickly and I fear that may be the case for Jordan Lewis. He has never been quick but he seems to have lost any run he had. There are times when he just looks like a statue out there as he watches the opposition speed by.
All the talk is about how long Hodge, Mitchell and Burgoyne have, but I reckon Lewis may be the first to go.
At the end of last year I thought Lewis might drop off. But I watched him closely on Friday night and he was always pushing hard to make position and give options. He most certainly was not a statue.

I have noticed Billy lets a few get past him; he needs to make more tackles stick.

Hill missed a couple too, last night, but I wouldn't ridicule him as he has had a wrist injury.

Shiels and Will are two of our hardest contested ball winners, so I disagree with the OP. I thought all Hawk supporters knew Shiels was give a role each week, and the coaches applaud his work.

As for Lewis, well he does worry me a little, and as long as he is going third man up there is one extra opposition player around the ball, so unless he gets the ball to a team mate we are in trouble.
Holy Jeebus, ThaiHawk - don't leave this thread or you'll find that your precious little Shiels is trade-bait:eek:
(Apparently...:rolleyes:)

Yes i know it was his first game back. Yes I know we missed his run and carry. But fact remains his form wasn't up to it on Fri night because he's been injured. A run in the seconds would've done him a lot of good I reckon
**** me
He had 9 possessions in the 1st 1/4 iirc before kicking an oppo in the leg while trying to kick the ball
He then struggled to run but came good in the last.
Again, iirc he ended up with 17 @ 70/75% efficiency
What more do you want off the kid in his 1st game back from injury & getting injured again

When the outside runners dive in to the pack, who do Langford and Shiels pass the ball to?

There is a pretty simple reason why they hang back.

The only time they should be diving in is when they see us about to lose the ball.

Hartung was off, and needs to improve. But there is plenty of time.

He is used to coming on when players are half spent and blitzing away. Now he has to pace for a full game.

Lewis is doing the same. Watch him. Far less active early but everywhere later in the game. He seems to be conserving energy because he cant go tot he bench every 5 minutes.

And its a bloody long season.

8 day break will be very nice for the boys.

Reckon Breust has had a quiet start to the year, but thought he was pretty good on Friday. Not many goals but 20 odd possessions. Perhaps a different role to last year which makes sense
Yep, agree. I didn't notice him on the night, but re-watching the replay he did some pretty good stuff.

Reckon Breust has had a quiet start to the year, but thought he was pretty good on Friday. Not many goals but 20 odd possessions. Perhaps a different role to last year which makes sense
Reckon Breust misses Roughy the most of all our forwards. Most of his goals are the result of crumbing the ball Rough brings to ground, or the handballs Rough gives him over the top as he runs into an open goal, and of course the marks he can take in the vast space left in Roughy's wake as he leads up the 50.

Not sure how we'd be going in contested ball if Langford wasn't playing

Langford is a necessity at the moment because our contested ball is so bad, and we really have no other options. But he has still only been ok. He still needs to find more of the ball as an inside mid, and his disposal is atrocious.

There is a place for him in our team. But he must play to his limitation. He needs to take the easy kick, or feed the ball out to the outside players.