News Patersons Stadium

Bears, Bulls, B'Hawks & Cubs
Looks like along with a new look Dockers the stadium will have new look (besides the name) too.
SOURCE: afl.com.au

PStadium_returf_246a.jpg

Interesting to note was voted 3rd best yet has been 'updated'. Maybe the Egirls complained :)
Rated the third best playing surface by the AFL Players' Association in 2010, it will be further improved in a major project that will cost the stadium between $600,000 and $700,000.

Imagine... an even more sublime Hill on the new surface.,

I thought this thread was going to be about an announcement of a new/re-developed stadium but that's unlikely while Crazy Colin's running the state.

supercolinblog.jpg

Being the third best stadium isn't a huge achievement really. The dome has always been an issue and the GABBA has the hard centre wicket area so that only leave the MCG, SCG, Subi and AAMI as regular venues.

What about the rest of the stadium? Worst in the county by a mile.

I thought this thread was going to be about an announcement of a new/re-developed stadium but that's unlikely while Crazy Colin's running the state.

Couldn't agree more - WISH it was about a new stadium build! But now we should be hearing:

"Look the stadium had a major surface refurbishment recently, we won't be looking at a new build for about 20yrs.."

:mad:

I think we are all in the same boat on this issue,

Knock the shit-box over and give us something that doesn't represent 1972.

Toilet facilities, food outlets, concrete seats, etcccc............:thumbsd:

I hate politicians, either too pastie to make a commitment, or tell bare face bullshit lies to win votes.

Colin was quoted a week ago saying a decision on the new stadium would be made early in the new year. By him. He's now happy that the State is in good enough shape to fund it.

Fortunately (since it cost millions of $)he's going to use the Labor Party Langalant report to come up with HIS decision and not start a new task force committee.

Give him his due, Colin sent people to look at 6 of the best recent new staiums around the world - Yankee stadium, Dallas etc. No fanfare, no false expectation just do the job and report back.
Of course that has to translate into something worthwhile but I think it is a more positive way of doing things.
Also stops all the negative press.

Beside the fact most of the seating in the stands is crap, the article (in the OP) does say about the surface... 'The entire playing surface has been laser leveled and new turf will be laid this week.'

Having a level surface will itself make watching the game heaps better for most of the spectators. 1st thing I noticed when I went the G was how having a level surface had a positive affect watching the footy.

Might even try to get along to a Union game this year.

Beside the fact most of the seating in the stands is crap, the article (in the OP) does say about the surface... 'The entire playing surface has been laser leveled and new turf will be laid this week.'

Having a level surface will itself make watching the game heaps better for most of the spectators. 1st thing I noticed when I went the G was how having a level surface had a positive affect watching the footy.

Test matches only at Patersons. Super15, Force over at ME :thumbsu:

I might be wrong but I think laser levelled is more a term indicating that they used laser levels rather than they're making the surface totally level.

We need taper on our grounds to allow for drainage.

Melb can get away with a much more level surface due to their rain fall generally being less intense and more of a soaking nature whereas in Perth we have the same annual rainfall but its condensed into pretty much 3 months of the year (footy season) therefore more intense.

Give him his due, Colin sent people to look at 6 of the best recent new staiums around the world - Yankee stadium, Dallas etc. No fanfare, no false expectation just do the job and report back.
Of course that has to translate into something worthwhile but I think it is a more positive way of doing things.
Also stops all the negative press.

How do you get that job ??
"You're task Mr Dominguez is to travel the globe watching sporting events."

The elevation of the seating makes a huge difference too mate. At the G you're eyes are almost 2 metres above the ground in the first row, while in certion sections particularly the 3 tier stand end at Subi the concrete of the front row is lower than the grass so eye level is only about 2 feet above the playing surface. :thumbsd:

How do you get that job ??
"You're task Mr Dominguez is to travel the globe watching sporting events."

Have the name John Langalant or be a mate of his or Alan Carpenter as I think JL had a comittee of about 6 travelling with him. No wonder his report cost us millions!

The 20,000 square-metre surface will be completely re-turfed within six days, with a further week set aside to allow it to knit and grow.
Taylor said the AFL would then test the surface, with West Coast and Fremantle possibly training on the ground by the end of January.

I wouldn't be keen on our players training on newly laid turf that had been given a week to knit. At that point in time you could still expect large slabs of turf to move during sudden stopping etc.

Have the name John Langalant or be a mate of his or Alan Carpenter as I think JL had a comittee of about 6 travelling with him. No wonder his report cost us millions!
Carpenter acted on the report,saw the need for a new stadium and rubber stamped the go ahead
Barnett torpedoed the plan on the premise that the state couldnt afford it
Said the money could be more wisely spent on health
Strange that our health system is in a bigger mess now than when he took over
Barnett is a sport and events hater and as long as he is in power all we will get from him on a new stadium is rhetoric and empty promises:mad:

Where did the Langoulant taskforce travel? This junket was during Barnett's term. Looks to have been at least partially funded by an electronics scoreboard firm.

It is understood Mr Barnett was particularly taken with the New Meadowlands Stadium in New Jersey, a $1.6 billion facility for 82,500 spectators that is shared by the Giants and Jets football teams.

Now we're talkin'.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/breaking/8584283/barnett-briefed-on-us-stadiums/

I wouldn't be keen on our players training on newly laid turf that had been given a week to knit. At that point in time you could still expect large slabs of turf to move during sudden stopping etc.

Nah, the fact that we're getting some nice hot weather it'll grow like mad. You're confusing it with the Dome in Melb during winter where parts of the ground are in shade for most of the day.