Injury Paul Chapman - hamstring injury

• Thread starter Thread starter AM

This tells me the MC have yet to work out who is best 22 and who is the next best if we have an injury or suspension. Are we a bit desperate looking at Vardy and Brown and Smedts who have really yet to show enough to be best 22 ?

No. Brown has battered the door down this season in the VFL and has demanded inclusion. There's no desperation in that move. Vardy and Smedts are obviously adored by the match committee. Perhaps not the output we'd like yet, but they'll figure their talent makes up for that.

Is it Blicavs, Vardy or West in the ruck ?

Is it Chappy, Caddy or Smedts down forward ?

Is it Guthrie, JHunt or Rivers down back ?

Is Varcoe going to come good ?

Seems a few too many questions late in the season for me to feel comfortable.

1. Either West or Vardy for me personally.
2. In order, Smedts then Caddy. I don't think Chapman will play this year.
3. In order, Guthrie, then Josh Hunt, then Rivers. The best thing for the club would be if Mitch Brown plays well and keeps Rivers out. Not just for this season but long-term.
4. Have no idea. Can't be kept in on performances like last week.

I can't see that it would be a lie that it is Chappy's other good hammy that has a an issue now.

For me, like others have written, is basically good news. Maybe the bad hammy is ok - which is surely the main concern. If a good hammy has a niggle - it surely will not take long for it to come good - if it is a niggle.

I will however not be convinced until he plays a full VFL game and comes up ok.

Enough games left still if he plays this week I reckon.

Reckon we may need him and his leadership on the field given what we have seen against Brisbane and Crows. Would be a good addition if he is match fit and playing well. Smedts, Murdoch, GHS and even Caddy will get their go next season if he keeps them out of the side.

Time to focus on a Finals run and put the best side together and get a Premiership - youngsters will still get some senior time this season and have all next season to cement their place.

If Chappy will make a difference he must be picked and given a go.

Problem is it seem that the MC are not sure who the best 22 are - given Brown (9 senior games) and Vardy (13) are getting a run his week - and Smedts (25), GHS (10) and Caddy (34) still in the team. Not exactly experienced AFL players and yet to establish themselves as AFL players yet. Rivers still to play a senior game after his return and I think he will. And West may yet be back. Maybe Blicavs (15).

This tells me the MC have yet to work out who is best 22 and who is the next best if we have an injury or suspension. Are we a bit desperate looking at Vardy and Brown and Smedts who have really yet to show enough to be best 22 ?

Yes with Bundy and Bartel out there is two places that will go - so two of Smedts, Caddy, GHS, Brown and Vardy will go for sure. Sure to have maybe 1 or 2 positions being looked at is ok but we seem to have a heap being looked at.

Fair enough, JD.

But it couldn't be preferable to be saying that there were very few questions about the make-up of the team because there were only 22-24 blokes at the footy club capable of playing good senior footy.

I could see all the names you mention playing some role in a GFC line-up for finals this year. Not they all will, but simply that they're capable of performing at that level.

Not as 'top 10' players but as part of a 22 sent out to do the job for the hoops.

I still suspect the MC is fairly certain of what they would like the finals 22 to be (give or take a couple, at most) so the questions won't last too long in my view.

Hoping to see us iron out a few more selection issues after Saturday night as well.

TV aside, the pressure surely must be on to perform or face time in the twos.

Looking for a response (from Trav and others) this weekend.

If I was Chris Scott? Yes. Absolutely. It's called responsibility.

They can absolutely help him train and get him right, but with every game he misses the chances of him being involved at all this September (or for the rest of the season) diminish. I don't want a half-fit 31 year old played because of sentimentality. It never, EVER, works.

This. To the max.

Not that I think it will happen this time.

Moons didn't get his moment in 2011 and unless Chappy is right I can't see them making an exception for him either.

Forgot to add Brown in the mix down back with Guthrie, JHunt and Rivers.

So many in the mix - Brown, Rivers, JHunt, Vardy, Blicavs, West, Smedts, Caddy and GHS.

Maybe you could add Chappy, Varcoe and Guthrie to that group as well.

That is 12 players in the mix. Great to have depth but for me too many to consider late in the season.

Injuries have played their part - Vardy, Rivers, Varcoe, Simpson and Chappy have all had long term injuries and this has meant they have not had a good run of senior games this season - so are either suspect or trying to get match fit and find some form. All have real potential to add to our side - as Big Daws has shown recently.

Guthrie looks more than likely to be best 22 - Caddy is showing a bit lately - but the rest I have no idea.

Would be good just to have 1-2 spots up for grabs and settled side - playing consistently with each other and getting the game plan/s down ready for a finals campaign.

What happens if Vardy or Brown plays a good game this week ? Great for them but it throws up more questions over the best 22. Then they play an ordinary game a week later as young inexperienced players can ? Then what do we do ?

Look at Motlop. Inconsistent for 2 seasons then bang - best 22 player. It takes senior games and continuity to become a senior player that is consistent enough to be best 22.

We just have too many that have not had enough senior games and continuity in the senior team to be sure what they will bring to a finals game IMO.

Are we sure of what Brown, Vardy, Blicavs, Smedts, GHS and Caddy will bring to a finals game ? Efven Guthrie may fit into this category somewhat.

Actually I like all of them but am unconvinced about this year - and that is why West and Rivers - if they show form in the VFL should get a senior game or two before the finals begin and - kept in if they perform.

Really I have no idea - and just hope Chappy comes good and the MC get it right come finals.

This. To the max.

Not that I think it will happen this time.

Moons didn't get his moment in 2011 and unless Chappy is right I can't see them making an exception for him either.
Stewie Dew could only ever be described as half fit, yet his 5 mins of football sunk us in 08.

Stevie J conudrum also applies....I.e. crap in 09 when under an injury cloud, yet brilliant in 11 when operating with one functional knee.

Chappy himself was able to combat a partially torn hammy in 09 to take Norm Smith.

Each case on its merits, Chappy, if he gets a few games under his belt, must be at least in contention as he offers us a really valuable forward pocket option at very least.

I can see a midweek press conference in the next couple of weeks with Chappy pulling the pin on his career.
no no no no no no no ...:(

Go Catters

I can see a midweek press conference in the next couple of weeks with Chappy pulling the pin on his career.
No. In fact if we make the big one, every player should shave there head and wear 35. It would scare the other team so much that they will have brown shorts...... (ok every player can't wear 35, but I stand by brown shorts)

We had similar questions heading into the '11 finals in regard to the No.2 ruck (Vardy or West) and the key forward to partner Pods (Mooney or Hawkins).

Re your questions:
1. West
2. Chappy if fully fit. Otherwise probably Caddy due to the contested nature of finals. Maybe even Murdoch for defensive pressure (but he can't start as the sub).
3. V Hawthorn Rivers will probably play, as you would think Guthrie. V other opponents probably both JHunt and Guthrie or if only one Guthrie.
4. Yes he will, just needs games into him over the next six weeks. We need him to do in September what he did in R1.

Highly doubt that.

Chapman is absolutely determined to play on, for AT LEAST another year. He had his best year on the training track during the pre-season and had a great start to the year, which shows he's still got heaps left in the tank. He won't give up that easy. Unless he is forced, which I highly doubt seeing as we have a bit of an obvious shortage for hard at it, consistent small forwards who can kick bags.

If Chapman can get fit and in some decent form within the next 3 or 4 weeks, I can see him slipping into the side right on the eve of finals. I am not being rude or critical of Smedts who is an immense talent, but you would much rather take a fit and decent Chapman in September than an out of form, inexperienced kid. Smedts is talented and has a bit of x-factor about him, but his spot is probably the most vulnerable in the whole team. Simply because he just doesn't bring enough of it to the table to guarantee a place in the 22.

I'm secretly hoping Chappy gets fit quick, but if he doesn't I would love to see another romance type story on one of our kids.

Kid plays crap, Geelong persist with kid and choose him over a more respected player in the September team, kid pays back Geelong in bucketloads by smashing opposition teams in finals. Tom Hawkins, anyone?

Even a bit of Tom Lonergan about it.

Stewie Dew could only ever be described as half fit, yet his 5 mins of football sunk us in 08.

Stevie J conudrum also applies....I.e. crap in 09 when under an injury cloud, yet brilliant in 11 when operating with one functional knee.

Chappy himself was able to combat a partially torn hammy in 09 to take Norm Smith.

Each case on its merits, Chappy, if he gets a few games under his belt, must be at least in contention as he offers us a really valuable forward pocket option at very least.

This is the crucial issue for me.

The news that he's right to go for this weekend is fantastic. Hoping to see him string together a few weeks of footy; if he can do that, he will be right back in calculations.

Does take the edge off losing Dawson a bit but he is not over the line just yet.

I will be a lot happier when he plays a half of VFL and does a bit that shows he is ok and pulls up well.

Then I will be happier again when he plays a full VFL game and shows a bit more form.

Then I will be happiest when he then plays seniors again and shows some form.

He will take sometime in the seniors to be the 'Full Chappy' we know - but as long as he shows progression over the next month - this Doomsday person will feel a lot better.

Can Chappy pull off a Brad Ottens '09?

Does a Frog eat insects? ;)

Call it blind optimism if you will, but never really had any doubt that we'd see Chappy back on the park at some point.

Also think a player of his quality won't take long to be back at/near his top, as Pavlich proved after an almost equally long layoff, so expect the little bald guy to be cherry ripe come September, which is bad news for the opposition (as well as at least one of our fringe players)

never in doubt :thumbsu:

doomsday sayers can look for another champ to doubt.

It's hardly doomsday to face reality. He might have had his best year during pre-season (which I very much doubt), but the fact is he's had a 12-week hamstring injury. That can't be disputed. Throw in his age and it would be irresponsible to presume he's going to be as good as ever.

On the flipside though this may be the best thing that could have happened, imagine a refreshed Chappy with five games under his belt heading into September, bloody scary thought for a few other teams I'd reckon.

Won't harm his chances of getting another season out of his body either, provided his hammys are okay of course.

Whether not we win the flag this year will have nothing to do with Chappy, IMO. Happy to see him get an opportunity before the year's out though.

He's such a dangerous player that i have no doubts if he can get through a cpl of vfl games then slip back into the seniors he will have an impact. Chappy with a dozen possessions in the forward line can still net 2 or 3 goals and take an important defender out of the play. Still very much in calculations for the finals for me.

He may not be the player that wins a final of his own boot this season but surely if match fit and playing well does make a real difference to the forward line.

You would have to rate Chappy as a better player and bet come finals than Smedts and Caddy at this stage of their careers. He is quite likely to kick two-three goals in a game - a finals game.

Having Motlop and Chappy in the forward line does look good on paper at least. Really good small forwards capable of kicking goals - along side Hawkins and Pods.

All we need then is for SJ to become more of a goal kicking mid than he has been lately. If he gets 2-3 goals - then the opposition will need kick quite a big score to beat us - and the backline should be able to prevent this.

If only we had Menz and Daws playing well - I would just about back us now for a Premiership.

I think you'll find he's been ready for a number of weeks now but they need a real x factor for finals and Chapman may be that player.
They are being overly cautious, would prefer he sits out for the next week or two again, have him gearing up for round 22

If he is anything less than 100% he doesn't play. Haven't we learned anything from 2008?

I dunno, maybe i'm missing something here.

Paul Chapman walks straight into our team.

He is a star. All Class, Crucial to our chances.

I just think people too easily forget. I know he hasn't been on your television screen for a while but the guy is a cut above these youngsters people are talking about.

Think about the future in the future. Now is the time to win another premiership so lets concentrate on that.