CaptainDavey

Chelsea
Just saw the Gardner interview, went into bat for the club and thought he did quite well. The only thing that he conceded was that he took the blame for the fact that we do not have a summer training facility, although he gave a valid reason due to the drought wrecking TBO. He cops a fair amount of flack from the rest of the footy community but I reckon he's good for the club, despite being outspoken on some occasions.

Yet to see Bailey but he'll take part in the Beat The Press segment. Looking forward to him getting fired up along with two other intimidating coaches, Choco and Woosha:thumbsu:

Yeah OK Choco Williams just tore apart all 3 of them, particularly Caro. Classic! But Bails has been a bit more reserved, handled himself very well, very composed under the 'pressure' the journos were serving up. All round, not a bad night for the MFC publicity

Dammit, I was meaning to watch it. Usually monday nights are full up, and I always miss it, but tonight I could've, and didn't! The choco serve looked good on the ads.

Bailey was a little reserved but spoke very well when questions were dierected at him and made sure his points got across. He seems like a nice and very respectable bloke:thumbsu:

Williams was giving it to the journo's from start to finish and even though he strayed off topic at times it was good to see someone putting the journo's in there place.:D

It was the first time I have seen Paul Gardnier speak and actually agreed with what he had to say!! Bailey was not bad, but really the focus was on Williams & Worsfold. Williams was great he gave them heaps. F*ck I hate Caroline Wilson!!

Gardner was a good president last night. Talked around most of the issues, besides the nomadic nature of our club where he put his hand up.

I understand he doesn't want to go into details around how we are going financially but he never really answered those questions on where we are and where we hoping to move to.

Loved Bails. He comes across very well. Thoughtful, intelligent and very much a player leadership focus. He wants the players to lead themselves not the coaching staff to be the disciplinarians.
Like Gardner said one year we get called soft in the leadership area then the next year Bails instils a player lead leadership group who actually dish out some fair punishments and we get called to hard...

BRING ON SUNDAY!

It was the first time I have seen Paul Gardnier speak and actually agreed with what he had to say!! Bailey was not bad, but really the focus was on Williams & Worsfold. Williams was great he gave them heaps. F*ck I hate Caroline Wilson!!

She did tip us to finish 5th :eek:

Bails seemed the most composed and intelligent of the coaches..the other guys went out on the 'attack is the best form of defence' strategy and looked silly at times

She did tip us to finish 5th :eek:

Hence why women should not be allowed to report on football. Normally I'm not a huge fan of Choco, but when he ripped Caro a new ass I had a massive grin on my face.

Bring back Carey to Classified. At least he did it to her week in, week out, unlike Archer who is easily the most boring personality (if you can call him that) on TV. Dunstall would have been the better choice.

Love Bails retort to questions about administration. He is there to coach, and the business side of our club is an opportunity for someone to step up and finally make their stamp on the club, instead of just continuing the same dirty road we have marched the last 43 years.

I would've smacked Hutchy from here to Bonny Doon when he asked Bailey "Is the Melbourne Football Club a rabble?"

Good publicity getting Gardner and Bailey on the same night. Both did well, were professional and honest (as much as you can be), and stood up for the club. We need more of that. Not enough "Melbourne people" are standing up for us these days. Connolly has been very quiet so far, but hopefully it's just a matter of him testing the waters first.

Although Garry Lyon's article was mainly negative, he still said "we" and I sensed that the article was more of a call-to-arms rather than just a plain old journalistic bagging.

I would've smacked Hutchy from here to Bonny Doon when he asked Bailey "Is the Melbourne Football Club a rabble?"

Good publicity getting Gardner and Bailey on the same night. Both did well, were professional and honest (as much as you can be), and stood up for the club. We need more of that. Not enough "Melbourne people" are standing up for us these days. Connolly has been very quiet so far, but hopefully it's just a matter of him testing the waters first.

Although Garry Lyon's article was mainly negative, he still said "we" and I sensed that the article was more of a call-to-arms rather than just a plain old journalistic bagging.

I think we'd just like to see Gary do something for the club other than be on selection committees and head to talk to Gardner when he thinks things are going wrong.

Be more in the McGuire mould, even though ever other club hated it, he used the Footy show to push the pies as much as he could.

And if Gary is in the background working his arse off for us then I think it should be made public to show people the so called true Melbourne people are there working for success.

Overall it was great to see them both on talking it up! Come on Sunday!

Yeah OK Choco Williams just tore apart all 3 of them, particularly Caro. Classic! But Bails has been a bit more reserved, handled himself very well, very composed under the 'pressure' the journos were serving up. All round, not a bad night for the MFC publicity

You serious man?

Choco was his ignorant self, there is no way you can compare the indiscressions that journalists have made in the past to what professional footballers have done, totally different environment.

not only that but he used the old 'you haven't been there so therefore you cant comment' argument. Does that mean political commentators can't comment on the prime minister because they have never become prime minister?

To be honest i would be embarrased if i was a port adeliade supporter, even Glen Archer came up with some more intellegent stuff. quite happy with the way Bailley handled himself on the other hand.